We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Casa del Califa Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel La Casa del Califa Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel La Casa del Califa Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaza de Espana, 16, 11150 Vejer de la Frontera, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
auckland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“My treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

I came across the website for this hotel before my trip and although it was more expensive than my normal accommodation I decided to treat myself. Glad I did - it's a beautiful hotel. It's all nooks and crannies, little staircases, patios and terraces. There is a lovely roof top terrace with an amazing view of the white houses of Vejer. The room was lovely, clean, and light with a great big bath. My favorite place was the courtyard garden restaurant. - lovely tables, plants, sculptures and tiles. Breakfast is included in the price and served here. Buffet style, plenty of choices (but not english brekky}.
The hotel is in a beautiful square in old Vejer. I spent three days exploring the narrow twisty streets - wonderful. Vejer is built on a high plateau so you can see for miles.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    90
    16
    7
    5
See reviews for
32
184
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We had the Torre Suite and it was absolutely charming. Overlooking the busy central square.
Great views from the terrace at the back of the hotel. Parking below only 5 mins away.
This hotel is stacked with charm and has a great restaurant as well.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaime-del-Sur, Owner at Hotel La Casa del Califa Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Very glad you enjoyed your stay! We look forward to seeing you again soon.
James Stuart, Owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Vejer de la Frontera is stunning white village not far from Jerez, Seville & Cadiz. La Casa del Califa is a hotel made up of 10 adjoining village houses dating back to the 16th century. It is a step back in history but also like a living fairytale. if you have a romantic soul, this is the place for you. But if your idea of heaven is a room on the umpteenth floor of a skyscraper in Manhattan or Dubai, you are in the wrong place in La Casa del Califa. One can spend days here just exploring all the beautiful nooks & crannies of this hotel not to mention the lovely terraces with amazing views. We were in the Luna and Palmera rooms. Both very comfortable and imaginatively decorated and furnished. The restaurant, in a former granary, was generally excellent with Moroccan dishes as its speciality. The food was very tasty although I found the meat in the beef tagine to be rather dry and stringy. A pity because the other elements of the dish were perfect. We drank a Ribeiro del Duero Arzuaga Crianza 2009, a light, fruity wine which went perfectly with the Moroccan food.
Our overall assessment of this hotel? In the immortal phrase of the Michelin Guide about the best restaurants.... "mérite le détour". It is worth going to Vejer la Frontera just to experience the Casa del Califa.

Room Tip: Rooms facing onto the village square can be a bit noisy but by midnight this had stopped..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

When staying in Vejer, you shouldn't doubt.
Stay in this hotel!

From the moment you arrive until after you've paid the bill, you'll feel like in a fairytale.

The town Vejer is gorgeous, aswel as this hotel.
The staff is very friendly and the rooms are beautiful and clean.
The hotel seems to be a miniature village from the tale of Aladin.

Room Tip: We had room 18 because it was the only room left. The room was perfect and the the view was directly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaime-del-Sur, Owner at Hotel La Casa del Califa Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
Glad you enjoyed your stay. We are very appreciative of your great comments. The Califa is a complex structure with over a 1,000 years of architectural history so the more our guests enjoy themselves the more motivated we are to keep on providing the best experience in Vejer. Gracias!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Having previously used the excellent restaurant and been thoroughly delighted with the standard of food and service, we stayed overnight for the first time last week. The hotel is made up of 3 former townhouses that have been joined together with connecting passages and alleyways, making for some fun finding your way around, via various sitting rooms, hallways and lounges. Spotlessly clean and comfortable, the bedrooms were charmingly decorated with nice touches that included a variety of Moroccan bazaar items and fresh flowers. This is a tranquil, relaxing place to stay in an equally quiet, but lovely, Andalucian village, so it may not be ideal for families with younger offspring, and there is no swimming pool. Nevertheless, we enjoyed our brief visit, loved the authentic Moroccan cuisine in the stunning restaurant and then lost ourselves exploring the narrow streets and lanes of the delightful old town, which is floodlit at night. We also found several superb little tapas bars set in and around in the old town walls - great for a pitstop day or night.

Room Tip: The Spanish tend to keep late hours, so ask for a room away from the main village square where live...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaime-del-Sur, Owner at Hotel La Casa del Califa Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
Many thanks for the review, we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay here. Regarding the swimming pool if you'd like to recommend us to your friends and they need a pool then we do have a pool in Triperia No.1. You'll find the link on the Califa homepage. This is the Califa annexe and shares most of the Califa services and has a pool and terraces for many rooms.

For your interest the hotel is actually 10 houses joined together - getting lost in the Califa labyrinth is half the fun! Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

My husband and I spent two nights here in March and were very pleased. Honestly, the price and quality seems to match a 3 star hotel even though it is only 2 stars. The building is what did it for me, with its idiosyncratic architecture and living history at every turn. I imagine this won't be to everyone's taste and there are no elevators, the doors tend to be small, etc but to me it was incredibly charming. Breakfast is included in the price and was very lovely and generous with some home made cakes and breads to boot. Staff was friendly and well-informed.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Africa suite which was nice and quiet despite facing the street. We also had a love...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

We stayed in La Triperia, the apartments which are part of the hotel, in the Amarillo family Suite. The accommodation is ideal for two adults and two children , although the bathroom could be a bit bigger. The large terrace has great views over the village and has morning sun. The hotel and restaurant are absolutely beautiful with moorish and Moroccan design and great attention to detail.. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and welcomed the children. We look forward our next visit.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Casa del Califa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Casa del Califa Hotel

Address: Plaza de Espana, 16, 11150 Vejer de la Frontera, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Vejer de la Frontera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Vejer de la Frontera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel La Casa del Califa Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel La Casa del Califa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Casa Del Califa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Casa del Califa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.