We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slow food with fast delivery” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Los Quatro Gatos

Los Quatro Gatos
Calle Corredera, 49A | Parking Privado a 150 Mtros y Publico a 300 Mtrs, 11150 Vejer de la Frontera, Spain
+34 607 56 12 81
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish, Contemporary, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Description: Mediterranean cuisine with seasonal produce. A traditional cuisine but with a touch of creation and a focus on health and responsible consumption cuisine. Suitable for vegetarians and beganos. Our dishes are homemade, including the desserts with fresh market produce. The restaurant is located in the historic center of Vejer de la Frontera, a white town of Cadiz between the coast and the mountains, with a panoramic terrace overlooking the valley and the mountains of Cadiz, and a romantic cave inside.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Slow food with fast delivery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

One of the best restaurant in Spain. interesant food for interesant people. Very good prices and very good food. Only for connoseiurs, this is THE Restaurant in Cadiz!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    43
    11
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best food in Andalusia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Most people are pointed towards Califa and Trafalgar but we were told that the best restaurant in Verja is Gatos so booked in. Had a nice table outside where we watched the world go by with a nice bottle of vino blanco.

The food is pretty close to michelin star quality. Try the shots, which are sharing amuse bouche pots with a variety of great combos. We shared all 7 and thought they were a lovely start to the meal. The salad I had to start was insanely flavousome and the main was the best risotto I've ever tasted. Didn't have room for dessert which we regret now but left feeling really happy with our choice of restaurant in a village that has an embarrassment of riches in this department. Put this place right at the top of your list.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Gem of a restaurant, georgeous innovative food, beautiful setting.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

The view from the outside tables is spectacular and the service very friendly and efficient, however, the food is the star of the show. Innovative and delicious. This is Michelin star level cuisine but without the price tag. Excellent. Can't wait to return!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushey, Herts
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“A true Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We went to Quatro Gatos on the recommendation of an article about the wonderful food in Vejer in a recent edition of the Sunday Times, and were not disappointed.
The service is extremely friendly and helpful. There is an informal Spanish atmosphere and most importantly the food was excitingly different and delicious.
The lady in the kitchen is experimenting with a new and modern take on traditional Spanish food,
The quality of the food is top notch at a reasonable price.
The restaurant has tables outside with great views of the countryside with an interior that backs onto the old wall of Vejer - they've made a feature of the cave at the back to provide a respite from the heat of the summer.

This is truely a gem of a restaraunt and worth a detour if you are in the area. Look out for this chef as a future Michelin star

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Stylish tapas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Amazing, yummy shots of tapas. May not be traditionally served, but tastes fantastic. We loved the food here so much we ate here twice in a four day trip. Also loved the main dishes, which you can order in half portions (all the better for tasting more dishes), and the puddings were delicious too.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Quatro Gatos also viewed

Vejer de la Frontera, Costa de la Luz
Vejer de la Frontera, Costa de la Luz
 
Vejer de la Frontera, Costa de la Luz
Vejer de la Frontera, Costa de la Luz
 

Been to Los Quatro Gatos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Quatro Gatos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.