We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful meal in a stunning, romantic setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Jardin del Califa

El Jardin del Califa
Plaza de Espana 12, Vejer de la Frontera, Spain
0034 956 45 17 06
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $155
Cuisines: Greek, Lebanese, Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: "El Jardín del Califa" está considerado como uno de los primeros destinos gastronómicos de la provincia de Cádiz. Aquí podrá degustar fabulosos platos norteafricanos y medio-orientales en un marco inigualable en el corazón del casco antiguo de Vejer.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal in a stunning, romantic setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We were staying in Tarifa and visited lovely little town of Vejer for the day where we spotted El Jardin del Califa and thought it looked like it would be a nice place for dinner. Once we got inside I was delighted with our choice, the interior is beautiful, ambient and romantic. The food was delicious (it beat anything we had in Morocco by a mile) and the service was first class. I'd love to go back one day!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    218
    107
    43
    7
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Enjoyable meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Nice restaurant. We went as a couple for dinner it was romantic lovely atmosphere. Portions are massive we had the sharing plate to start but it was quite big so then I was overwhelmed at the main so no room for dessert. Food nice we had been to morrocco earlier in the year so interesting to compare possible tapas so good in spain its hard to try a different cuisine but if you are looking for something different its nice. The pastilla we had was a bit dry and tasteless I had the tajine which was lovely although it was heavy. I know I have over used the word nice describing the food however atmosphere wine etc were great.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley Moor
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Time for a treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Go unfashionably early and catch the blue hour as the day fades and the night lights up. The food is good; but the ambience is fabulous.

Book early; it's always busy. If you stay at the Casa del Califa, it's your breakfast spot too. As many freshly squeezed oranges as you like and great service.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“stunning restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

gorgeous food and plenty to chose from. Very romantic setting, the place is beautiful. Friendly service too

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estepona, Spain
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Setting, service and food was excellent and good value for money. One of the nicest meals we have had since moving to Spain six years ago. Fantastic - can't wait to go again.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Jardin del Califa also viewed

Vejer de la Frontera, Costa de la Luz
Vejer de la Frontera, Costa de la Luz
 
Vejer de la Frontera, Costa de la Luz
Vejer de la Frontera, Costa de la Luz
 

Been to El Jardin del Califa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Jardin del Califa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.