We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic time looks are deceptive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Star Inn

The Star Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pershore
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Star Inn
23, Bridge Street, Pershore WR10 1AJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 8 Pershore B&B and Inns
Guildford, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic time looks are deceptive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in late November and initially we were a little shocked, it was tired and in need of a face lift. However, Ken the new landlord told us of his plans for this hotel and work was already underway. We were staying with 2 other couples for 2 nights and had requested 3 double rooms. Ken had rung us a few days before and advised that he only had 2 doubles and a twin, naturally this was unacceptable so Ken said he would sort it out. Imagine our surprise when we turned up and a brand new double bed was being installed in one of the rooms. This was the precurser to what was one the best stays we have ever had in the U.K. The staff are amazing and couldn't be more helpful, the food in the restaurant was fantastic and plentiful. Ken would be up for the 'best pub landlord of the year' if such a thing exists. Breakfast was top notch, and having just returned from Paris so generous. You do have to look past the current general tiredness, but we have no reason to doubt this will be addresssed. Our rooms were clean and a good size, parking ample, all in all a fantastic time.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    8
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
6
14
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

Stayed at the star as a result of a brilliant ebay deal for two nights towards the end of November.The Star is a definite inn rather than a hotel. The room was clean and tidy if a little on the compact side. The bathroom had been nicely done although the shower lacked power. However the highlight of the weekend was the warmth of welcome of Ken and his staff who could not do enough for you. The food from cooked breakfast to the fantastic choice of a la carte dinner was absolutely delicious. There was a lovely buzz about the restaurant and we would definitely stay again. If you are not looking for a weekend away but somewhere to enjoy a fabulous meal whilst in the area this is a sure bet for a great evening. It is also really well placed for visiting the beautiful cotswold villages.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

Stayed here over a weekend and had a lovely time. The staff were very friendly and attentive. The food was exeptional with a great menu.
The room was very clean and comfortable with all you could need.
We would definately stay here again and look forward to it.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

We stayed for one night with friends for a trip to Cheltenham Races. Our room was a "work in progress" but we had everything we needed, it was very clean, the bed was comfortable and we slept well. The is ample free car parking, and access to the river. Its only a few minutes walk to the lovely shops and Pershore Abbey. We have stayed at this inn previously but this was the first time we had sampled the new menu for our 3-course evening meal. The food was very imaginative and well-prepared, and the fruit meringue for dessert was delightful! Prices are very reasonable for the quality. We ate in the restaurant but others were eating at tables in the characterful bar area. The cooked breakfast was very tasty and served on lovely warm plates. A warm and friendly welcome from hosts Julie, Richard and Ken made our stay complete. The inn is old and has creaky stairs and some uneven floors, but this is the charm of an historic coaching inn, if you don't like character book a Travelodge.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

Me and my wife Stayed here in October and what a pleasant suprise, were shown a lovely room with en-suite which were all newly re-furbed, our hosts were fantastic and were very attentive and they worked so hard to make sure we had a lovely stay. The food Wow it was delicious and the menu was huge, the town of pershore was very nice but the highlight is that you are right on the door step of the cotswolds and the sights and places we visited were fantastic, please stay here if you get the chance you will not be dissapointed.
Thanks for everything we will be back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

Very friendly and relaxing, lovely atmosphere. Fabulous staff. Wonderful food, but would have liked breakfast to be hot. Room catered for all our needs, bed very comfortable, very spacious bathroom. Loved Sage the dog too :) Loved the area, will be doing back again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcs
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

We are a local couple who chose the Star Inn for our Wedding Anniversary meal out. We were told that the food was excellent and that the menu consisted of really good fish. The blackboard menu was indeed very good and varied. However 2 of the meals had already sold out and it was only 7.45pm. I had booked a table for 2 but on arrival they hadnt got one so a 4 place was hastily arranged to accomodate us. There were lots of apologies made and we were given a wine menu on arrival. However our order wasnt taken for another 15 minutes and the shortage of staff was very evident when the Waitress/ owner was literally running from the till to the table and then to the chef. We were given lots of excuses such as they had been very busy in the afternoon and were playing catch up. The young girl who was running between the bar and taking orders was so tired she didnt even realise we needed to pay ! Yes the food was very good but given the frenetic atmosphere and the rushed experience we would give this one a miss.

Room Tip: Only had a meal cannot rate rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Star Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Star Inn

Address: 23, Bridge Street, Pershore WR10 1AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Pershore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Pershore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Star Inn Hotel is an attractive 15th century inn. Having an abundance of character and original features it provides all the comforts required for your comfortable and relaxed stay with us. The hotel is nestled just off the main square on one of the finest examples of a Georgian street in England.The Star has the advantage of our own peaceful gardens which lead to the River Avon with views over the lock, weir and the fields beyond. With its original Oak beams and roaring Log fires you can enjoy an intimate evening with family or friends. Relax with a glass of your favourite tipple and a menu to be inspired by, whatever the weather. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Star Hotel Pershore
The Star Inn Pershore, Worcestershire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Star Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Star Inn to your Saves list