We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“peaceful getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Maguana

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Baracoa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Maguana
Carretera a Moa, Baracoa, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“peaceful getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I stayed here with my boyfriend in March 2013. It was exactly what we needed - a quiet beach (we were often the only ones there), comfortable rooms, friendly staff...The only issue is that like many places in cuba, the rooms in the cabins only have single beds (two of them).

The area is fun to explore as well - nearby you can go on a hike in Humbolt park or explore the River Toa. We had the best meal of our vacation at one of the local casas near the public beach. It's definitely worth the 5 hour bus ride from Santiago!

Room Tip: The cabins are wonderful if you are ok with two single beds. I would ask for a top floor room. You...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    18
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
13
36
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Cuba is known for its lovely beaches and often people go to the very tourist resorts such as Varadero, Cayo Coco and other resorts in the west and South of Cuba. If you have time and you looking for a retreat and escaping from mass tourism , then this is for you. I discovered it purely by accidents as I did not like any of the hotels in Baracoa and then kept driving. Suddenly got to this magical place with beautiful empty beaches and hardly anybody in sight. You must have your own car and if you do then the best way to get there is from Santiago rather than Boa. The road to Boa is terrible and under construction.

Room Tip: The hotel is right on the beech and it has no pool. Try to book before you get there. The rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

My wife and stayed here for four nights in October 2012 despite some negative reviews on TA and it was great.

What it is:

A small beach side hotel in a rural part of Cuba charging 73 CUC per room per night

What it is not:

A multinational chain hotel catering for conferences and business people charging a fortune in USD.

Therefore do not expect all night reception and flunkies attending to your every whim. Do expect to have to search out the staff occasionally ( we were the only guests). But they are not far away and when you find them are friendly and helpfully every time.

The food similarly is going to be a bit basic and not everything will be available all the time but it is tasty and well cooked. The beers never ran out and we had a thoroughly enjoyable time.

The rooms are large clean and exactly what you need for a few days relaxing on the beach after the long trip to get here.

You can also eat at local houses we met a guy called Alexandro who cooked us a couple of excellent dinners for about 20 CUC each.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Beautiful but dirty place

I been in Villa Maguana July 2012 I did the reservation from different places, London and direct to de Cuba website, surprise when I get there after the nightmare trip because the street was full of holes , the only person was there was a black guy, and he didn’t have clue of nothing plus he start call the bosses to see if I have any reservation because he said no body told him nothing about us, my parents and I we spent more than 2 hours after to finally let us check one by one cabin most of then no AC or the strong smell of die rat, finally we got the 3 cabins separate, hair every where so nasty place, I did reserved for 2 nights and I cant stay more than 10 hours in the morning we disappear I don’t recommend this place to nobody by the way almost 50 euro and you have to pay for everything except for the breakfast with the same amount you can make reservation in Rio de Luna en Holguin with everything include. Plus the people around you try to sell everything don’t let relax at all.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Tranquil setting on one of the most beautiful beaches in all of Cuba, Playa Maguana. Very spacious rooms with lovely views of the coastline. We were so lucky to be the only ones staying there (16 rooms total) for our one evening. Truly wondeful and so peaceful as we had the private beach to ourselves. However, we ate in the hotel restaurant a couple of times (as the options out there are very limited) and the food really was quite average. Perhaps bringing along your own food from Baracoa and having picnics on the beach would be the ideal solution!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

Had a fantastic few days staying at Villa Maguana, organised by the Cuban Travel Company. A private hotel / Eco resort on the cost just outside Baracoa. Rooms are clean and all face the sea, with a small private beach. Helpful staff, good food and really relaxed atmosphere. The road out from Baracoa quite rough, so be prepared for a bumpy ride. Also a lot of 'toursit catchers' on the local beach nearby - but all good innocent fun. You'll be Inundated with offers to eat in peoples houses, buy trinkets and drink 'coco loco'. Locals very nice - and fairly desperate.
Few really nice restaurants in Baracoa itself, and a good place to hang out for a few days. Recommend Santiago too, though much more hectic.

Room Tip: Top floor of the wooden villas, overlooking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

After reading all the other reviews of villa Maguana on TA myself & my husband decided to spend 5 nights here during our honeymoon in Cuba. It sounded like the prefect getaway. In so many ways it was. A solitary hotel on a picturesque beach in an almost isolated location. The room itself was perfect, spotless with a beautiful view over the ocean. Alas that's where the ideal getaway ends. I have to say the service was atrocious. Now I know it's Cuba, so standards are not what you'd expect in Europe. But everytime we wanted anything we had to hunt for staff, when you eventually found somone it could take another 15-30 min for them to actually serve you. As for the food, mediocre at best. Once again I'm aware you don't go to Cuba for the food, but an egg mixed salad comprised of tinned green beans, tinned red peppers & a fried egg was a bit much!!! We'd stayed in both hotels & casas before arriving at villa maguana, needless to say we stayed in casas for the rest of our trip where the service & food was second to none. We did have a lovely relaxing time, but suffice we won't be going back...

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Maguana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Maguana

Address: Carretera a Moa, Baracoa, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Guantanamo Province > Baracoa
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty lodging in Baracoa
Also Known As:
Villa Maguana Hotel Baracoa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Maguana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Villa Maguana to your Saves list