We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place in Ruteng...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kongregasi Santa Maria Berdukacita

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ruteng
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kongregasi Santa Maria Berdukacita
Save
You added Kongregasi Santa Maria Berdukacita to your Saves list
Jl. A Yani 45, Ruteng, Flores, Indonesia   |  
Ranked #1 of 5 Ruteng B&B and Inns
Vero Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“The best place in Ruteng...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stay here--and book ahead in high season. I paid 130,000 rupiah per night for a standard room in low season (they accept cash only), which I considered a bargain. Spotless, modern rooms. Hot water: as much as you want. Included breakfast of rice, bread and jam, an egg, bananas, coffee and tea, served from 6 AM to 7:30 AM. 9 PM curfew. Free bottled water refills. Cheap laundry service. This is the place to stay in Ruteng, no question. (Agape Cafe is the place to eat.) Only downsides are the location is a bit far from restaurants, stores, internet, and checkout is at 9 AM. But, again: stay here if you want comfort...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    29
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
34
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

This is a good option for the ones that stay in Ruteng.
Rooms are very clean, hot water, nice bed.
This was one of the best hotel we had on our trip to the east of Flores. (Ruteng, Bajawa, Moni, Maumere)
Don't stay out late as doors close at 9pm

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I stayed here for one night during a trip across Flores. My room was clean, there was hot water and a very basic breakfast was included. As other reviewers have mentioned, you are staying in a convent run by Catholic nuns, so don't stay out too late because they do lock the gate. The sisters are all very nice. This is probably the one the best and cheapest options available in Ruteng.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This hotel, managed by a convent, is probably one of the best hotel is Flores !
Of course it is not a luxury hotel but it is very clean (you can not find cleaner !), very quiet and it comes with hot water for 180.000 Rp/night including breakfast (which is basic though) !
The room we had was small but very comfortable and, compared with the other hotels of Flores, this is the best we had in terms of comfort and price.

Book in advance and confirm by SMS as this hotel, the best of Ruteng, is often full in high season because many groups come here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antwerp
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Stayed overnight while on a tour in Flores. Simple but absolutely no complaints. Basic room, but very clean and with a hot shower. Shower has a tank which you must use sparingly if two people want to have hot water. Breakfast equally simple but ok. The gate closes at 22:00 so don’t be late if you have diner in town.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

We arrived late at the Sisters' hotel, but still enjoyed it. Compared to the one other alternative in Ruteng, this was heaven on earth. Very neat en clean with hot showers and a warm welcome for a good price.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

We stayed in Santa Maria one night (200000 including breakfast). We were first offered a great room (excellent mattress). We had to move after 2 hours because the hot water tank was noisingly leaking over our ceiling. We were then given a smaller room, with a foam mattress, not so confortable. The shower was excellent and the sisters were very nice. This place is spotless clean, which is a very nice change from other type of accommodation in Flores. The location is about 20mn walk away from the restaurant advertised in the usual touristic guides.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kongregasi Santa Maria Berdukacita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kongregasi Santa Maria Berdukacita

Address: Jl. A Yani 45, Ruteng, Flores, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > East Nusa Tenggara > Flores > Ruteng
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Ruteng
Also Known As:
Kongregasi Santa Maria Berdukacita Ruteng, Flores

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kongregasi Santa Maria Berdukacita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.