We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in Ruteng” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Susteran

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ruteng
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Susteran
Save Saved
You added Hotel Susteran to your Saves list
Mission catholique, Ruteng, Flores, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ruteng
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A gem in Ruteng”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Clean, sober but efficient. Friendly sisters of the mission. I enjoyed staying here, feel after weeks the warm water over my body again. Breakfast was included in this bargain that turned out to be a true gem!

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    23
    10
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
18
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Temse, Belgium
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I had a fabulous night of sleep. Good bed, very quiet (which is actually hard to find in Indonesia). Very very clean rooms, hot water, ... You have to be in the hotel by 9pm but since there is very little to do in Ruteng that's not an issue, we were there by 8pm :-)

Breakfast was basic but good: some rice, eggs, bread and a banana.

We paid 180000 rp for a room with 2 beds.

Checkout is at 9am and at 8am they come knock on your door for breakfast. We asked if we could leave our luggage there till 2pm and that was no problem.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guipuzcoa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Definitely the best place to stay in Ruteng. 10-15 minutes from the city center. Extremely clean, simple but comfortable room. A little bit far from restaurants. Pay attention...they close the Wisma at 21:00 hours.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed there for 1 night in July 2012 in room n. 155 with hot water. The room was spotlessly clean and comfortable enough, though a little basic (but you are in a convent!!). Breakfast was basic, too: eggs, bread, jam, bananas, rice, the/coffee.
In Ruteng we had dinner at Merlin restaurant (Chinese): good chicken mee goreng!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

This place run by very friendly nuns is clean and tidy. Spacious rooms and bathrooms. It's all very Spartan but it's perfect for the price. Breakfast is quite poor in a small room. Also you need to be back at the convent by 9 pm otherwise you can't get in. Overall good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Concept of cleaning reaches new dimensions here. Hotel is spotless. We could choose from several smaller rooms. I picked up a room with one (double) bed for 200 000. Later I found out that the rooms with two single beds cost only 180 000. We had a loooong and refreshing sleep.

Room Tip: Ask for price first, simmilar rooms - different prices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Yes, it's a convent! We checked-in to the sound of people singing hymms. I felt the first stirrings of .... not exactly sure, but it was as close to magical as this rather cynical traveller gets. Got me and the kids out of our room after a long drive to check it out. Ended up in a singa-long with the sisters and local young people. Quite surreal and very lovely also.
Our room was fantastic value. 260000 for a two bedroom two bathroom apartment that also had a lounge room. Hot water worked. Breakfast was included. It wasn't that great, but was adequate for the price. Not sure what you would do for dinner if you didn't have a driver to help out as ours did by taking us somewhere.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Susteran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Susteran

Address: Mission catholique, Ruteng, Flores, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > East Nusa Tenggara > Flores > Ruteng
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ruteng
Also Known As:
Hotel Susteran Ruteng, Flores

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Susteran, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.