We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All the reviews are right” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Susteran

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ruteng
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Susteran
Mission catholique, Ruteng, Flores, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Ruteng
Temse, Belgium
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“All the reviews are right”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I had a fabulous night of sleep. Good bed, very quiet (which is actually hard to find in Indonesia). Very very clean rooms, hot water, ... You have to be in the hotel by 9pm but since there is very little to do in Ruteng that's not an issue, we were there by 8pm :-)

Breakfast was basic but good: some rice, eggs, bread and a banana.

We paid 180000 rp for a room with 2 beds.

Checkout is at 9am and at 8am they come knock on your door for breakfast. We asked if we could leave our luggage there till 2pm and that was no problem.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    21
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
16
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Guipuzcoa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Definitely the best place to stay in Ruteng. 10-15 minutes from the city center. Extremely clean, simple but comfortable room. A little bit far from restaurants. Pay attention...they close the Wisma at 21:00 hours.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed there for 1 night in July 2012 in room n. 155 with hot water. The room was spotlessly clean and comfortable enough, though a little basic (but you are in a convent!!). Breakfast was basic, too: eggs, bread, jam, bananas, rice, the/coffee.
In Ruteng we had dinner at Merlin restaurant (Chinese): good chicken mee goreng!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

This place run by very friendly nuns is clean and tidy. Spacious rooms and bathrooms. It's all very Spartan but it's perfect for the price. Breakfast is quite poor in a small room. Also you need to be back at the convent by 9 pm otherwise you can't get in. Overall good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Concept of cleaning reaches new dimensions here. Hotel is spotless. We could choose from several smaller rooms. I picked up a room with one (double) bed for 200 000. Later I found out that the rooms with two single beds cost only 180 000. We had a loooong and refreshing sleep.

Room Tip: Ask for price first, simmilar rooms - different prices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Yes, it's a convent! We checked-in to the sound of people singing hymms. I felt the first stirrings of .... not exactly sure, but it was as close to magical as this rather cynical traveller gets. Got me and the kids out of our room after a long drive to check it out. Ended up in a singa-long with the sisters and local young people. Quite surreal and very lovely also.
Our room was fantastic value. 260000 for a two bedroom two bathroom apartment that also had a lounge room. Hot water worked. Breakfast was included. It wasn't that great, but was adequate for the price. Not sure what you would do for dinner if you didn't have a driver to help out as ours did by taking us somewhere.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

As the name says it, this is actually a convent (and I think also a school), run by catholic nuns. It is very clean, the rooms are literally spotless, but a bit on the dark and small side and quite basic: Twin bed, chair, small coffee table, a few hooks, that's it.
Our room had decent hot water, our kids shower was either cold or hot but nothing inbetween which was a bit of a challenge. Although it was in general a quiet place, we were woken up at 4.30 by the call of the nearby mosque (and that in a catholic convent...). Breakfast was the usual coffee or tea, bananas, egg, toast bread (w/o toaster) and nasi goreng.
The whole compound is very nice and the view early morning over the city and the nearby fields and trees covered with mist was beautiful

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Susteran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Susteran

Address: Mission catholique, Ruteng, Flores, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > East Nusa Tenggara > Flores > Ruteng
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Ruteng
Also Known As:
Hotel Susteran Ruteng, Flores

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Susteran, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Susteran to your Saves list