We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value but a few flaws” 3 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   31 Brickfield Road | Cape Town, Woodstock 7935, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 25% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Woodstock
Johannesburg South Africa
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good value but a few flaws”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

Nice layout and a good option for local business travellers as rooms are functional and comfortable. Oddly, the wall hanging TV was off centre and this had the effect of making the entire room look lopsided.

Nice shower and a choice of different pillows.

If you want to exercise, then welcome to the smallest gym this side of the Atlantic-any more than 2 people and you'll be fully exercised just trying to get in.

Definetly the seedier side of Cape Town so if you're an international tourist I'd suggest looking closer to V&A.
The dinner in my opinion was overpriced, my gnocchi in excess of $12 but dry, bland and looked like a starter portion.

And wonderfully, I was work at midnight by a screeching phone, informing me I couldn't put the evening meal on my room because I hadn't left a credit card imprint at the front desk. Needless to say I was not amused and happily screamed my card number down the line.

Breakfast was as expected, with many options, but not the best layout (breakfast in a library?) and staff seem confused- I had no milk or teaspoon and my neighbor had no sugar, salt or pepper.

Once again the cardinal breakfast sin of one person making eggs, so guests stand in a queue while the rest of their food gets cold. Why not allow waiters to order your eggs and toast and bring separately?

Speaking of toast, I'm still waiting for mine as I write this review.

I booked via a European based online service, and saved about 40% on the local advertised rate. When I queried this at the front desk, they advised this was standard practice and online would always be cheaper than phoning directly. I just don't get it.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    194
    40
    14
    8
See reviews for
68
147
32
195
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Howick, South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Travelling on my own, and declining breakfast made this a great deal. (The breakfast was expensive in my opinion.) It was easy to find my way around from the hotel, even if the area is a bit dodgy at night. Staff were friendly and helpful and the security guy started my car after I had left the lights on! Free internet was great... and adequate for my purposes. I would definitely recommend. I was pleased to see the amount of development going on around Woodstock, which is an area of great potential.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

It's interesting to note that while they plaster the Trip Advisor logo all over their hotel, encouraging people to rate, they do not respond on the service.

For "Cape Town's First Boutique Business Hotel" their wireless internet is slow and NOT free as advertised. Vodacom (Vodaphone) 3G is sketchy as is 8ta.

They have been unable to accommodate me with my request for a smoking room despite ongoing requests.

Whilst I don't mind the area (up and coming redevelopment arty hipster area of Woodstock), I do mind the fact that the Room Service ends at 10:30. The closest late night eatery is a 24 hour KFC which, when I arrive very late at the hotel, had a queue of 50 cars in the drive thru.

The staff are friendly enough but not overly innovative when it comes to requests. The Cape Town service provider sentiment of "I'm doing you a favour by serving you" is certainly present, albeit less than other places I have stayed.

The rooms are good, spacious and have all the amenities that you would expect, nothing more, nothing less.

The overriding feeling I get is that this hotel was dreamed up and built by a visionary who has moved on to another project.

Room Tip: If you need a smoking room, request it well in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed in Upper East side for one night- we had a double volume loft room and the space was fantastic. We had supper at The Test Kitchen (amazing) and the next morning , met friends at The Biscuit mill for breakfast(fabulous and an amazing array of foods and goodlooking people). Very good rates , huge room and welcoming staff- conveniently situated.all of the restaurants are within walking distance... not in stilettos though.

Room Tip: We had a double volume loft room - bottom floor "living room' and upstairs sleeping area.Go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

The hotel was not in the greatest area. There was nothing within walking distance although it was a short drive to the city centre and Waterfront. The hotel itself was great. Staff were friendly and helpful, rooms were clean and well maintained. I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Had only one night in CT after a country trip for the weeknd - had to meet friends that stay in OBS - did not want to travel to far - decided on this hotel - did not expect much in this area. Was pleasantly surprised - greeted very friendly on arrival by the concierge, recepectionist and then security. They were all very pleasant and helpfull. Rooms are clean, comfortable with all the amenities. The reataurant staff was also very friendly and helpfull - met my friends there for dinner. Food was not only well presented but also very tasty and not excessivley overpriced. The barman packed out all the wines because we could not make up our minds - have not find that anywhere else in CT. Will be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Well located, although in the midst of factory shops.
Well designed,modern comfortable rooms. Loft rooms are absolutely beautiful and designed to the highest standard in every detail.
Very good breakfast and friendly staff, especially the manager who went out of his way to show us the rooms.
We chose this hotel on recommendation from a friend and I have already recommended it others.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside

Address: 31 Brickfield Road | Cape Town, Woodstock 7935, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Woodstock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Woodstock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside 4*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern and contemporary. Each of the 183 hotel rooms and suites are decorated in a fresh, modern and contemporary style, offering sophisticated furnishings and amenities, including central air-conditioning with individual thermostat control and free Wi-Fi internet access. All day dining is offered with the emphasis on fresh ingredients. The restaurant, aptly named Liberty’s, is designed as a hub of activity and specifically caters to the discerning traveller. It incorporates a Smoker’s Lounge, Library and an outside Piazza dining area, all in an urban chic style. The feature of the food and beverage area is the estreet bar offering the finest local wines, including organic wines, South African potstill brandies and the finest single malt and aged whiskeys all in a relaxed, yet sophisticated environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.