We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   31 Brickfield Road | Cape Town, Woodstock 7935, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 25% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Woodstock
Olen, Antwerpen, Belgium
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great value for money !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

This hotel surely was a surprise - Very modern, great view of table mountain (from my room). My room was big with a central bath and a view into the bathroom. The bed was so good, I slept for nearly 12 hours the first night without waking up.
The area is considered not as safe as the V&A Waterfront, but with a taxi or a rented car you can avoid having to walk around in the evening. Our taxi drive has some issues in finding the hotel - probably because the area is less touristic - but we got back all right.
Had dinner in the restaurant and it was OK.

Defenitely one of the best value for money hotels I ever been to.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    194
    40
    14
    8
See reviews for
67
145
32
195
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gaborone, Botswana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We booked the hotel based on the reviews here. And they were spot on! The rooms are big, clean and with enough lights to spare. My view was not the best but didn't book the hotel for views so didn't mind the view. Breakfast was more than fine. It was a lot better than I expected. It has about everything you wanted....including hot chocolate!! My only complaint about the room was the air-conditioning in the room - it was not effective. It did not warm the room until 3am in the morning! The restaurant's menu was kind of limited and a little bit pricey. The food was so-so. The area is nothing to write home about. Plan on going some where else to walk along the street. Parking was plentiful. Service excellent.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Briiliant service and great value for money. Dinner was excellent - Mushrooms bombs and duck spring rolls for starters and Thai prawn & chicken curry and Hunters Beef fillet for mains. Room stylishly decorated with everything you need. Shuttle service on offer. We had an amazing time and will definitely return. Thank you for a wonderful stay. We didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

This hotel defines the term "value for money".
Read til the end and you'll understand why.

Before booking our reservation, I was having second thoughts because some of the reviews insisted the location is not good for tourists and especially tourists without a rented car.

Indeed, Woodstock, where the "Upper Eastside" is located, is not one of the places you'd want to visit as a tourist in Cape Town.

Even the hotel booklet in our room clearly stated that its not safe walking alone outside the hotel after dark.

But, guess what?

You don't need to walk outside the hotel, neither alone, nor in groups, regardless if its day or night.

Thanks to an excellent free shuttle service, you step outside the hotel, step into the shuttle and 15 minutes later, you're at the Waterfront.
Once you're done visiting the city, the same shuttle takes you back from the Waterfront directly to the hotel.

This service runs four times a day:

09.00 - 12.00 - 15.00 - 19.00 = From the hotel to the Waterfront
12.30 - 15.30 - 19.30 - 22.30 = From the Waterfront to the hotel

Thanks to this service, during our 7 nights stay, not once we had to use a cab.

But, the freebies don't end here.
"Upper Eastside" provides:

- Free water (two bottles per day in your room. You can get more in the gym at the 2nd floor)
- Free use of the gym 24 hours a day (just use your keycard to get in)
- Free use of the internet and the business center

Add to this:

- Immaculate, clean, modern rooms.
- Perfect housekeeping service.
- Great, helpful staff.

I would have given this hotel 10/10, if there was a mini-bar and slippers in our room.
However, we knew before booking that our "Superior" (in reality, normal) room would not have a mini-bar.
For that, you'd have to book an "Executive room".

The "Executive" rooms are bigger than the "Superior" rooms, more luxurious and have a full bathroom with separate bath and shower.
The "Superior" rooms do not have bathtubs, only showers.

So, considering all the above, I'd give the "Upper Eastside" 9/10.

And, I said this hotel defines the term "value for money" because we paid an amazing 240 euros for a 7 nights stay in a "Superior" double room with a great view of the Table Mountain!
In my opinion, that rate (booked through Octopustravel.com) is very hard to beat.

One last note:

The hotel provides transfers from the airport for 280 rand per booking, regardless of the number of passengers.

Room Tip: Request a room with the view of Table Mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Very good service and food. It was a nice time staying there. Loved the trip to South Africa.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

This hotel was such a pleasure to stay at. The breakfast had a great array of foods, all excellently prepared and the staff presence was superb - there was no need to look for help, the staff were "on the ball". My daughter loved that everyone greeted her and she felt very special - a happy child makes a happy parent! We made use of the complimentary shuttle to the V&A Waterfront, which was convenient. The rooms were spacious, the bathroom was extremely clean - you can tell alot about a hotel by the cleanliness of the bathroom. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to visit Cape Town and wanting to be central.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

With the huge tourist boom Cape Town has experienced the last 10-15 years, service and quality have not always followed suit. The Upper East Side hotel seems to have bucked that trend. The room we stayed in (least luxurious on offer) for the one night was totally perfect. Great bed (much larger than the often tiny doubles found almost everywhere in South Africa), quiet room, perfect bathroom. Other hotels in Cape Town we have frequently stayed in of similar quality typically charged 2-3 times more; similar star ratings elsewhere often were at least half the quality.
Will surely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside

Address: 31 Brickfield Road | Cape Town, Woodstock 7935, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Woodstock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Woodstock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside 4*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern and contemporary. Each of the 183 hotel rooms and suites are decorated in a fresh, modern and contemporary style, offering sophisticated furnishings and amenities, including central air-conditioning with individual thermostat control and free Wi-Fi internet access. All day dining is offered with the emphasis on fresh ingredients. The restaurant, aptly named Liberty’s, is designed as a hub of activity and specifically caters to the discerning traveller. It incorporates a Smoker’s Lounge, Library and an outside Piazza dining area, all in an urban chic style. The feature of the food and beverage area is the estreet bar offering the finest local wines, including organic wines, South African potstill brandies and the finest single malt and aged whiskeys all in a relaxed, yet sophisticated environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hilton EMEA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.