We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hullu Poro (Crazy Reindeer)

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Hullu Poro (Crazy Reindeer) to your Saves list
Hotel Hullu Poro (Crazy Reindeer)
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rakkavaarantie 5, Levi 99130, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Levi
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

This is our third trip to Levi but our first stay at this hotel. On arrival, our holiday rep gave us our keys. The room was smaller than in the previous hotel we had stayed but perfectly adequate. We had asked for a balcony which came with a full size bath. The decoration was fine, although there was a very large cupboard for 2 cups and saucers, 2 plates and a plate containing some tea, coffee and sugar. Under this there was a fridge with a key to lock it! Very strange but fine.

We were a bit concerned as we did not have a drying closet but we needn't have worried as all our skiing gear dried out overnight.

The walk to the pistes was a lot quicker than we expected which was a bonus when walking in ski boots. There is also a room on the ground floor to put your ski gear in every day. You get the key from the reception and we kept ours all week although we found out later that other people handed theirs in every day. I don't think it matters which option you choose.

The restaurant is very, very pretty, with twinkling lights on the ceiling and lovely lighting throughout. Although I was a bit disappointed with the food (I am a VERY fussy eater), my husband raved about the porridge, beef brisket and reindeer meat. I had previously read that the tables were all joined together as several very long tables. However, we found most tables were set for 4 people and were separate from other tables. I'm guessing that the hotel has listened to previous comments which shows they will change things where possible.

Overall, I think this was a great place to stay and would recommend it to anyone.

Finally, I have read a lot of the comments when people where situated away from the main building. However, this was the case at the previous hotel we stayed at and we actually enjoyed the walk. You can determine how cold it is and how well to wrap up for the day ahead.

The hotel itself has a lovely friendly atmosphere

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    100
    59
    11
    9
See reviews for
99
77
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

My husband and I had a wonderful holiday to Levi with Inghams.
The Crazy Reindeer hotel was a great place with very friendly staff and good food. We didn't expect too much considering some of the bad reviews so we were happily surprised with how much we liked it.
The room in the Flying Reindeer (main building) was clean and comfortable, and warm as well. This had a bath with an overhead shower and also a detachable shower head. I would recommend a room in the main building so you are able to go to dinner without all your thermals on.
Dinner was a very nice buffet every evening. We had a delayed flight coming out to Levi and the hotel kept dinner open for us all which was good.
Levi town was good with a variety of bars, restaurants and coffee shops, as well as a couple of nightclubs.
Skiing was absolutely fantastic. Ski School was extremely helpful having never skied before, our instructor Max was brilliant.
We are planning to come here again next year and will be staying at the Crazy Reindeer.
Such a brilliant time.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

We have been coming up to Lapland for many years and always self cater in a cabin or apartment but after spending a rather warm and crowded New Year in Levi this year we found a half board deal at the Crazy Reindeer in January so we thought we would give it a go. After coming up here in January there is no way we would ever go in December again. No crowds, quiet slopes and no "Santa Breaks" from the UK. A few kids around but not the screaming masses you see up here in December. Anyway, to the review.

Arrival - the Inghams rep brought the keys onto the coach so we didnt even have to check in.

Room - just for clarity I will explain the 3 room areas. People on these forums often get confused.
1. Flying Reindeer. These are in the main building. Be careful booking these in December. You could end up over the bar/entertainment area.
2. White Reindeer. These are in the annex block and connected to the main building by a covered walkway. These are over the Amilla Restaurant. These rooms have a sauna.
2. Crazy Reindeer - These rooms are in a separate block and is an outside walk to the restaurant and bar.

We paid extra for a White Reindeer as we thought this was one of the better rooms although we don't bother with them. We walked into the room and was shocked. No bedside tables, no dressing table, small bathroom which looked dated and had broken tiles in the shower area. It felt dark and the springs on the bed could be felt when you lay down. Not the superior room that we were led to believe it was. It seems the higher price was just for the sauna. We complained and moved to a room in the Flying Reindeer block. The second room was an improvement. We had bedside tables and a dressing table. The wardrobe wad falling apart with a shelf snapped in half and left in the bottom. There is a mini bar type fridge and a TV. The rooms are warm and the beds, although single, are quite comfy. The bathroom has a shower over the bath, a hair dryer and nice big bath towels.
There is not as much clothes storage in the rooms as we would have liked and suggest that it would be a bit too much to put any more than 2 people in either of the 2 rooms we had.
The rooms are "cleaned" every day. I use the word clean loosely because in all the time we were here all they ever did was refill the toilet roll, empty the bin and make the beds. The surfaces and floor were never cleaned. In general I think that the rooms are not being maintained correctly. What think is needed is someone independent to audit the hotel. Its easy for the owners to take their eye off the ball.

Food - We were half board. Breakfast was possibly the worst i have ever had in any hotel, ever. The boiled eggs were freezing cold. Even when you get for breakfast as soon as they open. I suspect they were cooked the night before and refrigerated. Thats how cold they were. The scrambled egg was worse. Some kind of tasteless mess swimming in liquid. I have seen this before and it is powdered egg not fresh as one would expect. One evening onion soup was on the menu and turned up at breakfast the following morning. The rest of the breakfast was ok but i have had better. The waiting staff were hard to find in the morning. They could usually be found in the room next door eating and talking.

The evening meals were ok. The main restaurant is also open to non residents at €26 a head. Not worth it in my opinion. The tables are just long rows and feels like a canteen. Not a welcoming setting. We ate out 3 nights and enjoyed our meals much more.

Bar Area -The bar area is very nice. I think this is where the owners have spent a lot of money. It warm and welcoming with lots of seating. We called in here for a drink at christmas and it was full of kids running around and tour reps hosting quiz night. When we came up in January this area was calm, peaceful and felt much calmer.mThere is a small cafe area that sells snacks, sandwiches and chocolate. A word of warning: a 300gm box of Fazer chocolate was over 8 euro in the hotel. The same chocolate in the S Market 200 metres away was less than 4 euro.

The hotel has a spa area but we cannot comment as we did not look for it. The hotel also does not have laundry facilities which, for such a large hotel, i was surprised.

Would I recommend this hotel? Not really. My advice to someone saving hard for a once in a lifetime Lapland Experience: Self Catering gives you much more flexibility. You have as much space as you want to be a family without being on top of each other in a small room. The food is great for eating out. Steaks, amazing burgers, pizza. Absolutely everything you would find at home. Whatever you choose, Lapland is an amazing place. Get your accommodation right and you will have the dream holiday of a lifetime.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rye
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We travelled with Thompson (Brilliant Holiday) to Levi and stayed in the White Reindeer after complaining about the Crazy Reindeer room we were allocated, The room we had in Crazy Reindeer I thought was poor and no more than a hostel room, we paid Thompson extra to be upgraded when we booked up so was disappointed upon arrival, however this was dealt with by our rep efficiently and moved to larger room in White Reindeer, the facilities inside the hotel are limited but its not a spa hotel its a place to spend the night.
The bar area and small shop is fairly expensive and some people went to the supermarket locally to buy snacks and drinks, we wasn't that bothered by this as the atmosphere was vibrant and the crooner was good to listen to as he tried singing and playing the piano.
The food, both breakfast and dinner were served in the restaurant upstairs and there was good variety of foods and breakfasts changed daily, it was buffet food and they cater well for everyone its not silver service don't be under any illusions there.
The Thomson's reps and entertainment staff were great and they all worked incredibly hard to provide a great experience and fantastic holiday.
The holiday was finished with a Gala dinner and firework display.
Well done Thompson.
The ski slopes and town is all within an easy 5 min walk, well located to all the local restaurants.
We dined in the Rock Café for one meal and that was good value and huge portions if you fancied a change from the buffet.
in all a great time, good hotel, great staff, room choice is important.

Room Tip: Choose decent upgraded rooms and duplex if possible, White Reindeer quiter as located just away fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Lynn
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Very nice Hotel with Friendly Staff. Booked through the Tourist Office in Levi, all online and email. Was plesently suprised that i had booked breakfast as well. We bought the dine around package from the Hotel and eat in 3 of their resturants around Levi, saving money in the process, but fixed menus with good choices and excellent food.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Booked & saved for this trip to Lapland to see Santa for myself & grandson in Jan 2013, very disappointed with the Crazy Reindeer, it is not an Hotel it's a corridor with rooms off, no reception everything is based at The White Reindeer, had to pay a under occupancy fee as only I adult & I child but was put in a room that only had 2 beds !!! Very dissociated with Thomsons who haven't even bothered to reply to my Post Travel complaint, would not recommend to anyone with small children as having to get togged up every time you went to the White Reindeer for meals was no fun. Roaring log fires to relax in front of at night !!!! I saw one fire that was lit once in 5 days & had only 2 logs on it as a big notice at the side said this was the limit. Picture in the Thomson brochure don't even show The Crazy Reindeer.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheddar, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We travelled as a family with ages ranging from 14 months to 70 and stayed in an open plan apartment within the Hotel which was spotless and well-maintained, it was well-equipped to cook simple meals although we were half-board and the twinkling restaurant was a delight to visit at each mealtime with the most amazing fresh tasty meals to satisfy most people. The hotel is ideally situated at the top of the village of Levi for the supermarkets and the ski slopes. We experienced temperatures of between -9 and -29 degrees during our weeks stay, with the most amazing crystal snowstorms. The only problem we found was that after being out in such low temperatures the heat of the apartment was rather draining even though we turned most accessible radiators to low. I would recommend this hotel for a memorable holiday.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Hullu Poro (Crazy Reindeer)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hullu Poro (Crazy Reindeer)

Address: Rakkavaarantie 5, Levi 99130, Finland
Location: Finland > Lapland > Levi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Levi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Hullu Poro (Crazy Reindeer) 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Hullu Poro (Crazy Reindeer) is situated in Finnish Lapland in the centre of Levi ski resort. Crazy Reindeer, a holiday legend for more than twenty years already! Yet, we still provide you with something new and unforgettable each time you pay us a visit. We offer high standard accommodation, restaurants with delicious food and happy staff at your service. Recipe to guarantee you a true Crazy Reindeer holiday. Whether you travel alone, with your friends or colleagues, on a holiday or in business, Crazy Reindeer is an experience not to be missed. New Crazy Reindeer wellness world pampers both your body and soul. Whether you want more activities and exercise, luxurious face and body treatments or just nice time at sauna and bath department, we have all that waiting for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Hullu Poro (Crazy Reindeer) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hullu Poro (Crazy Reindeer) Levi, Finland - Lapland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Hullu Poro (Crazy Reindeer), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.