We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well facilitated hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hullu Poro (Crazy Reindeer)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Hullu Poro (Crazy Reindeer) to your Saves list
Hotel Hullu Poro (Crazy Reindeer)
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rakkavaarantie 5, Levi 99130, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Levi
Lage Zwaluwe, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Well facilitated hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Very nice hotel, even though we were located outside the main building. The hotel room was well equiped with own coffee maker, refridgerator, drying cabin etc. The hotel has a lot of facilities and a geat lounge to sit and enjoy. Free Wifi and a great choice of restaurants. The breakfast area is on he higest floor providing a great view on the ski slopes. Only downside is the lack of response to a repair request, reported an issue several times during the stay but it never got fixed.

Room Tip: Main building is preferable obviously
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    107
    62
    12
    10
See reviews for
104
77
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
140 hotel reviews
Reviews in 131 cities Reviews in 131 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Location of Hullu Poro is good and central. All restaurants, hiking and skiing are very close.

It seemed that most rooms are twin (two single beds). Rooms seemed to be recently renovated. Rooms and bathroom were very clean. Rooms are rather small. I didn't find the colors and decoration of the room very attractive.

The real problem with the hotel is that the wing were I stayed was very much overheated. The heating system is such that the batroom floor has a heating. This would be fine if the floor weren't so warm that it is unpleasant to stand there. After the shower one was again hot and sweating if the bathroom was used for putting on make-up etc. Quite many people complained of the same. I talked to the reception and they said that they had had a pensioner group before us who had complained of coldness and they turned up the heating. And promised to reduce the heat but that never happened. The small room also got quite warm because of the very overheated bathroom (definitely over 40 degrees). The bathroom was otherwise modern and obviously very recently renovated with marble floor.

Breakfast is good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here in Jan 2011 for our honeymoon. I can honestly say lapland is the most magical place. The rooms were basic but still comfortable we were in the main hotel and our balcony looked over the car park and was very quiet. The staff are quiet but really friendly.
Food is buffet style with great choice every day. Especially if you like reindeer, I thought I couldn't eat it but when your there it's just normal and it's so tasty. The alcohol is expensive at the hotel and in the bars. There is a supermarket just behind (and down the road) from the hotel which sells a great selection of alcohol at a reasonable price.
The one criticism I have is that the hotel is at the top of a small hill so carrying the skis up there was tiring.
The spa is also a great addition and free to use too.
We booked with inghams and had a great experience with them too their excursions are all reasonably priced even compared to the tourist info centre which were very helpful to. We did however book an evening northern light snowmobile trip with the TIC and it was excellent value for money. An hour across frozen lakes and through the fell to a warm teepee where we had hot chocolate to warm us up unfortunately we'd just missed the northern lights we then had an hours trip back so the excursion lasted over 3 hours. When we arrived back as we were leaving we were treated to an hours display of the magical northern lights. We were just by the main frozen lake in Levi which is apparently the best place to view as it's away from the artificial light. One tip is if you can see the stars the there is a possibility the northern lights appearing. We only had that one clear night so when u see the stars head to the lake area.
We also did the huskeys and reindeers and both were magical. Inghams also started a trip the the official ice hotel in Sweden which I couldn't believe as I'd always wanted to go there. That was the most amazing experience to think that it's re built every year...it's breathtaking.
All in all I would recommend this holiday and this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Stayed for one week with Inghams in Levi. Rooms basic but clean, with a nice bathroom. Lovely feel to hotel, would stay again. Good selection of food, changed every day, well cooked and presented. Lovely atmosphere in the restaurant, which is in the 'roof space', with nice lighting and decoration. Clean if you arrived early, but quiet a bit of food left around if you got there later (although my children were terrible for contributing to this, so shouldn't really comment!)

Staff quiet but friendly,which I've heard is the lappish way.

Lovely reception area with a children's space - although this space could do with a bit of attention as I felt like a second-rate guest sitting in there as not as nicely decorated as other rooms. Tatty bouncy castle takes over the room but the kids absolutely loved this.

Struggled with carrying skis on the first day so would advice paying for lockers near the ski slopes (especially if you are like me travelling alone with two children). However, the hotel also offered to keep them downstairs locked up in a room - although I seemed to be the only group doing this!

Travelled with Inghams (for second time) - they are by far the best priced so will only travel with them in the future and both times found the service to be fine - thanks to Neil in particular who was very helpful and made us feel welcome - the kids really took to him and he made a special point at the airport to come and say goodbye to them which was nice.

Levi dog sleigh ride (mini) was a lot shorter than on a previous trip (a mini one again) in Yllas in 2009 so was disappointed (it was basically a three minute loop, whereas I'm sure we got at least 10 - 15 minutes a previous year). Similarly the reindeer ride was not as magical -it was a quick loop on a lake and the trip felt very rushed whereas in Yllas it was much more relaxed and through the woods which felt much more magical. I also didn't like that the reindeer and dog farms were next to it each other as it felt a little too commercialised - as if set up just for the tourists.

Also, in 2009 the trip included a free trip to santa village (not santa parc which is a lost more commercialised) which was brill and magical where the kids made cookies, had a horse ride, and skidoo ride, and met santa. Again, no trip this time although I'm sure the village is near to levi as it was quite a ride on the coach.

However, Lapland is a magical place and definitely intend to take a third trip (what was originally planned to be a one off trip in a lifetime).

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

brilliant holiday just me and bf, hotel clean and rooms basic, reps are all good, any trips you book though through thomas cook are really dear, we booked therough INGHAMS and saved loads of money, husky rides are brilliant if you do the full one, night ride on the ski motorbike things are a defo must for adults amazing through the woods for at least 1 and half hours, stop half way through if you like to swop drivers!! and get a lovely hot drink, didnt manage to see northern lights, but didnt spoil the trip one little bit, food is very basic and lots complaining with childrens choice, but your only there for 3/4 days so only a little complaint, after all your there to see santa and not give reviews on food!! ski suits provided and were really comfortable if you can go for 4 days instead of 3 to that cos youll struggle to get to do everything you want, last day with santa good day and evening meal and fireworks last night was brill too. ski slopes were lovely and always seemed quiet even though people were using them. loads of sledges around hotel too for you too use as peeps just leave them lying around too share. i would defo go back to this reort but poss look for another hotel........ we booked 1 week before we left too and got a really good price.......foget a day trip and go for 4 days min!!!! oooh n go to the ice hotel!!!!

Room Tip: tip to get a room im the main complex think it was the white reindeer that was seperate. if your in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dagenham, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We did a 5 day trip to here about 2 years ago. It was my 2 sister in laws,my grandaughter,my nephew and myself. We booked the trip for the children to meet Santa but to be honest we were like big kids ourselves. We stayed on a half board basis in the Crazy Reindeer part of the hotel so to go to breakfast and dinner had to don all the gear,but to us that was part of the fun. We went with First Choice and when we arrived at the airport had to go into a big shed to get kitted out with suitable clothes all part of the experience in my book. Our room was a large split level room with balcony and sauna,kettle and microwave also provided.
The food there was quite good and varied we always managed to find something to eat but dont bother to take clothes to dress up in as everyone walked around with ski suits on.
We had trips included in our holiday huskey and reindeer ride but they were really just tasters. We booked them seperately and had a much longer ride through the forests and took the reins magical. We visited the elves village and the children rode ponies, made biscuits and rolled around in the snow with the elves. On the last night the children got to meet Father Christmas and get a present and when he left we all went outside to see Rudolph and wave him off.
Sledges were dotted all around so the children travelled that way all the time they loved it.
All in all a wonderful holiday,expensive but worth it to watch the children.Saving hard to take my 3 younger grandsons now,oh and my daughter and son in law are determined to come as well!!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

This hotel is fantastic, food wonderful, staff very friendly and helpful, can't rate it high enough

Room Tip: get a room with a balcony in the flying reindeer which is the main part of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Hullu Poro (Crazy Reindeer)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hullu Poro (Crazy Reindeer)

Address: Rakkavaarantie 5, Levi 99130, Finland
Location: Finland > Lapland > Levi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Levi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Hullu Poro (Crazy Reindeer) 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Hullu Poro (Crazy Reindeer) is situated in Finnish Lapland in the centre of Levi ski resort. Crazy Reindeer, a holiday legend for more than twenty years already! Yet, we still provide you with something new and unforgettable each time you pay us a visit. We offer high standard accommodation, restaurants with delicious food and happy staff at your service. Recipe to guarantee you a true Crazy Reindeer holiday. Whether you travel alone, with your friends or colleagues, on a holiday or in business, Crazy Reindeer is an experience not to be missed. New Crazy Reindeer wellness world pampers both your body and soul. Whether you want more activities and exercise, luxurious face and body treatments or just nice time at sauna and bath department, we have all that waiting for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Hullu Poro (Crazy Reindeer) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hullu Poro (Crazy Reindeer) Levi, Finland - Lapland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Hullu Poro (Crazy Reindeer), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.