We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning hotel, great breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lapland Hotel Sirkantahti

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lapland Hotel Sirkantahti to your Saves list
Lapland Hotel Sirkantahti
Levintie 1640 | Sirkka, Suomi, Levi 99130, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Levi
Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Stunning hotel, great breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Really nice place to stay. Excellent rooms, big and spacious, Sauna in room, very close to Levi centre. Really warm even though it was around minus 20C outside! Clean and peaceful, no noise and great views on the snowy hills.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    13
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
11
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oulu, Finland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Sirkantähti is a classic hotel in Levi. At least the rooms in the main building have been refurbished, as well as the restaurant and lobby, too. A good buffet breakfast was served in the restaurant in the main building. My room was also in the main building, but you'll still have to walk few steps outdoors to get to the restaurant. The room had been refurbished, however the bathroom clearly not. Room had a sauna, two beds in the room itself + three beds on a loft. Sirkantähi is close to everything in the centre of Levi, walking distance to places. The Supermarket is also very near.
The only downside in the stay was that as there was a theatre festival in Levi going on and some of the performances took place in the hotel, also hotel guests had to pay for the admission ticket (25€) if you wanted e.g. to have a dinner in the restaurant. Therefore I chose to eat elsewhere even though they gave a 10€ discount voucher to the restaurant (and there was a -20% off the list prices campaign - restaurant had recently been opened again after the renovation). Wifi costs 2€/day.

Room Tip: Rooms with a loft are in the main building, apartments are in different buildings some 100 - 200 m f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
finland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

I visited this hotel early this year agaain, been there twice before. The main building including restaurant in quite old, worn out and murky, however, saw a news on a local newspaper, that it will be completetly reovated before next winterseason.
Me and my family stayed 300m apart from the main building in the newer Lesi Staar apartments, a superior room with loft for 4 persons. The apartment was quite new and clean, everything was ok sauna and small kitchenette included, facing a supermarket just across the street.
The missing closet space for all yuor skiing and other clothes and other things was the only complaint, with just three persons from our family sharing this room, couldn't imagine two couples or other more unfamiliar adults sharing this apartment. Also, the distance about 500m from the lifts and slopes might be a problem sor some, not for us.
A ll in all, a decent place to stay and good value for money when enjoying the unique Lappish winter and atmosphere.

Room Tip: Superior rooms new, the normal rooms might be quite oldfashioned and worn out
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

I would say this is a nice hotel good food, nice warm rooms with sauna, clothes drier and fridge but a little out dated a refurb would do it wonders. This doe snot ruin the room or holiday experience though. Maybe I am spoilt by our last stay in Yllas two years ago when we stayed in fabulous log cabins. The food was nice drinks as ever in Lapland are pricey. If you want luxury though this is not the place for you but if you just want a warm clean pleasant room then this is great.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2010

We have just got back from this Hotel and quite honestly it has put me off Finland. Although I have to say our Tour Operator Inghams didn't help. We were the only English couple staying at the hotel and the only ones on half board. So we ate on our own, we had to have a set menu, when the brochure said buffet dinner. We had to make suggestions as to what we wanted. Not what you want on holiday. Our room had holes on the lino, we had to put our cases on the holes. It is not a place I can recommend, try a different hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2010

We travelled with Monarch Cosmos on the ready steady snow trip. We stayed at the Levi-star apartments and were full board at the sirkanthati.It was our second trip to Levi the previous year we had travelled with inghams and stayed at the levitunturi . The food was excellent at the sirkantahti and there was always a choice of childrens meals.The levi-star apartments arent exactly spacious but they do have everything you need and to be honest you dont spend that much time in them.The monarch staff were professional,friendly,full of fun nothing was too much trouble . The trips were well organised we did book two extra trips one through monarch which was very expensive and one independantly which was great .Levi itself is beautiful but it is very expensive .We had a fantastic time and would recommend it to anyone .

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2010

Travelled for new year on 5 night break with cosmos. What a fab holiday / experience.
Firstly hotel.... On the whole is a good hotel. Food for adults is good but if you have fussy eaters like we do then there is very little choice for children, usually chips and one choice of nuggets / sausage. We had a family room with 2 beds downstairs and a loft with steep ladder up with further 3 beds. Decor a little outdated but you don't go to a place like this to sit and stare at decor. Sauna doubled as useful storage area and drying cupboard invaluable.
Resort of levi..... big enough to have plenty of bars / restaurants / souvenir shops but small enough not to be too crowded or lose its character. hotel 5 min walk from point zero. More expensive than england but did not eat out much as full board basis. skiing really good, uncrowded slopes with no cues even at new year. Equipment easily hired from point zero, days skiing and pass around £54.
Cosmos...... really helpfull reps (boots split and replacement pair there within hour).
The whole experience was wonderful, it looks just like a picture post card. One piece of advice some of trips are cheaper booked independently through tourist info in levi. We went to husky farm with sleigh ride included for just over 100£ for 3 adults + 2 kids. same trip with cosmos over £400 so do your research and have a wonderful time.
We will definitely be going back......

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lapland Hotel Sirkantahti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lapland Hotel Sirkantahti

Address: Levintie 1640 | Sirkka, Suomi, Levi 99130, Finland
Location: Finland > Lapland > Levi
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Levi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lapland Hotel Sirkantahti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lapland Hotel Sirkantahti Levi, Finland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lapland Hotel Sirkantahti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.