We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will dream of the Ti Kaye cottage front porch on cold winter days” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ti Kaye Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Ti Kaye Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ti Kaye Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   P.O. Box GM 669, Anse Cochon, St. Lucia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
30% summer sale!
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Anse Cochon
Balitmore
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Will dream of the Ti Kaye cottage front porch on cold winter days”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Just back from 8 days for our honeymoon in St Lucia split between Ti Kaye and Jalousie Plantation and far preferred our 4 nights at Ti Kaye. But may not be for everyone. It's relaxed, beautiful, and very secluded. If you want nightlife or glamor and glitz this is probably not the place for you. If you like to swim, snorkel, relax on natural dark beach (the white beaches in St Lucia are reported to be trucked in sand), and chill out on lovely front porch watching birds, fisherman and boats then Ti Kaye may be perfect for you.

Getting there:
The road into Ti Kaye lives up to the stories. It about 1+ mile of very bumpy and not all paved curvy road once you leave the main road. We rented a car from UVF airport and it was a beautiful but hair-raising ride up the west coast. Avis told us the west coast was the scenic route while the east coast was the faster way - we chose the scenic route which was fun and worth it but not for the nervous driver. Driving is left hand side (and cars are British style with right hand driver side). A giant sticker on the dash board reminded us to drive on the left. Car is not really necessary and they are expensive to rent. We rented a 4 wheel drive after reading reviews and 4WD probably wasn't necessary so save the cost if you do rent a car.

The Rooms
We stayed in a cottage without the plunge pool and can't say we would have used a pool much. The front porches are amazing- rocking chairs and a hammock. Birds fly around (we wished had brought binoculars for bird watching). The view is spectacular. Big french doors open from the bedroom to the porch, so you can sit in bed and look out at the view. The windows are slatted with no screens and can be closed to A/C the room (we never used this in November - it was delightful to sleep with the sea breeze blowing through.) Beds have mosquito netting which we did put down at night. Outdoor showers were fabulous, taking a shower in evening with frogs singing around you (they're tiny and almost impossible to see) - but worth knowing that there is only an outdoor shower no indoor shower or tub. We were in Fenyan (there are 33 rooms all with local names) which had lovely private ocean view. Others looked less well situated with porch overlooking one of the foot paths or other cottages. Rooms include coffee/tea set up (nice if you're an early riser since breakfast doesn't start until 8) and a mini fridge (worth stocking on your way from airport).

Activities
Snorkeling in Anse Cochon is great right off the beach - both the north and south side. South side was more interesting but worse visibility during our stay. There's also a wreck in middle of bay in about 40-65 feet of water that you can snorkel over or dive. If you have your own snorkel gear it's worth bringing - we used ours every day, multiple times some days. If not the dive shop rents gear. Kayak's are available on beach (double and single) and complimentary for guests. Nice beach chairs and umbrellas and covered areas if you want shade. It is 166 steps down to the beach, so a long climb back up. Best to remember everything when you go down!

There are a lot of tourist boats that come through the bay each day. Some bring loud music along with them. Good news is they don't stay long. The vendors on the beach are a little annoying, but mostly pleasant. Odd thing is it was different guys each day so if you do want to buy something from someone don't expect to see him again.

I did a discover scuba session with Island Divers - the dive shop located at Ti Kaye and would highly recommend them. Did intro in the pool and a shore dive off beach. Robert the dive instructor was great. We liked them so much we did 2 more dives with them after we had moved to Jalousie.

Spa was lovely and for a spa reasonable priced ($75-80 each for a 50 min massage.) Cool thing in spa was a mirror under the face rest so you could see the view out to sea. Worth booking when you arrive as late afternoon/early evening appts are popular.

They offer a bunch of excursions as well, but we didn't do any so can't comment. Anse Le Raye fish fry on Friday nights (we went from our other hotel) is well worth going -Ti Kaye offers a shuttle service to it. Great island food and fun to see the non-resort side of St Lucia.

Food
Hadn't thought we would eat at the resort so much but there aren't many other options and it's long drives to any other towns. Breakfast meal plan is worth it - was $15 a person a day. Breakfast is a fairly standard buffet with fruit, yogurt, cereal, breads, made-to order eggs, and other hot foods. Great fresh juice and coffee/tea. Meal plan for lunch/dinner is only worth it if you plan to eat a lot - it includes starter, main and dessert for each person for dinner. We tended to split a starter and dessert and each have a main which was plenty of food for dinner. Meal plans did not include alcohol. Wine prices were very reasonable with most glasses being in the US$5-7 range and most bottle being the US$20-30 range. There are birds flying around at breakfast - seems this bothers others, but I would say it's part of the charm, but guess this depends on your viewpoint. As mentioned it's worth stopping on way from airport to stock snacks and drinks. Cocktails on the cottage porch each night was one of the highlights of our stay. Also worth stocking some bottled water. It's US$3.50 a 1.5 liter bottle at Ti Kaye and much cheaper in grocery store.

Service
The people at Ti Kaye are extremely friendly. We never had slow meal issue as others here have complained about. You are on vacation, so what's the rush. Or perhaps it was the rum cocktail each night before dinner that made us not care how long it took? It's a small resort so they quickly recognize you and remember you. We didn't appreciate how nice this was until we moved to the highly impersonal and much bigger (and more expensive) Jalousie later in the week.

Clearly we had a lovely stay. Hope you enjoy it as much as we did.

Room Tip: Fenyan was great cottage (w/out pool). Cottage to right of foot paths seem to have better set up fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,168 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    885
    201
    44
    20
    18
See reviews for
19
860
9
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

11/7/12, the morning of checking-out we sat in the lobby reflecting on our stay at Ti Kaye. From the wooden key holder to our room, with “JouJou” (aka “The Other Woman”) etched in wood nothing but warm smiles drew on our faces along with a bit of melancholy because the inevitable was occurring: we were leaving. We promised we’d come back! We had perfect weather which painted gorgeous views of the tropical nirvana. This seductive and serene resort seemed right up our alley because of our high-demanding careers. With hurricane Sandy and the 2012 elections underway we were happy to be far-far away from the mess.
Upon leaving Ti Kaye we felt relaxed, rejuvenated, and “baptized” by the ocean waters, and powerful sun. What wasn’t there to love? The staff, the cleanliness, the excursions, the food, the wine, the rooms, the beach, and the pool, so all in all EVERYTHING! We were grateful to Francisca and Lita (Front Desk Manager) for handling reservations, airport transfers, etc. to the kitchen staff (which included Florina, Gus, Alathea, Dina, Nadine, Terry, Ronald, Nick, Wally) and the one and only Cleaus. Cleaus, a world renowned sommelier, gave us a new appreciation of wines and a grocery list of items to add to our bar at home.
The guests are mostly honeymooners that we met during happy hour at the bar. Try the Admirals Reserve Rum (straight). I was even lucky enough to catch a few football games! Our room was fantastic with a huge King size bed. The bed has mosquito liners and the room service cleans thoroughly leaving fresh towels. The shower is outside and is private. The pressure isn’t always great and we mostly used the cold water just to cool off. They have a turn-down service too which is powering up the A/C and leaving on a light so it’s cool when you get back from dinner.
The spa offers customary massages from 3 therapists named, Dewai, Theresa, and Diana. 1 or two exotic therapies are offered like Ayurvedic and Bamboo as well. They have daily discounted specials and the rooms are facing the ocean while the windows are wide open blowing in the warm air. We agreed that Dewai was our favorite and wished we could take her back with us! Complimentary massage (5 mins) is offered every night before dinner at around 7:30 pm so make sure to see the girls from Bali for a sample of what’s to come. Also, be sure to attend the fun event on Wednesday night!
The private beach offers free Kayaks so you can paddle out and take in the fresh air. Scuba/Snorkel is an added fee which we skipped but as we understood, Ti Kaye is the best place for this and even had other resorts sail in to our beach. We met the locals, Sunshine, Rainbow, Sylvester among others and they sell trinkets and souvenirs here on a daily basis. They aren’t rude or pushy. If you have bad hips, knees, or just can’t handle the stairs then I recommend staying upstairs. We laughed and told ourselves we didn’t have to workout today because of the steps.
We went to the Land & Sea Tour because in interested us and had been given great reviews. We traveled via boat, parallel to the shoreline which allowed us to view the luscious mountainous landscape of the Piton Mountain and discover a real “bat cave”. The tour goes on to explore the Botanical Gardens, the Volcano, the cocoa plantation, and the downtown city life of Soufree: All lead by an excellent tour guide named Simeon.

FYI-Spoiler Alert-Some changes are coming in 2014 which probably means rates may also change to reflect the improvements, so book away ladies and gentlemen, you will not regret it. Easy though…mon!!!

Room Tip: The King Size bed is first come first serve and you may have to settle for two full size beds. Make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Pros: The TI Kaye is beatifuly located on a cliff overlooking the beach of anse cochon. The staff is friendly. They set up a manager's cocktail party for everyone to mingle, with live music - the manager Chris comes up and talks to everybody. The TI has a 'private' beach (Anse Cochon), with a beach bar and chairs - very comfortable. The prices are very reasonable in comparison to Soufrière / Soufrière Hotels, around half of the price for everything, ranging from food to drinks - you can probably get breakfast, lunch and dinner for around US$ 70, that's less than the cost of dinner alone in Soufrière. All rooms have AC and the showers are located in the backyard at open air. The room was decorated with fresh flowers and the bathrooms are extremely nice. The bed in the room is huge. The best part is the pool though, slightly warmed, lots of chairs and a great view of the sunset. I got it at around US$ 150 per night at hotelclub, excellent value for money for the island's average.

Cons: They don't include breakfast, it's extra. You have to walk down and up from the beach, that's more than 120 stairs right there, before getting here I read about a transfer shuttle - if it ever existed it doesn't anymore - so if you're old or just out of shape as me it becomes a problem coming back up. It's a little crowded for a 'secluded resort', they have built lots of rooms and I would say there are dozens of peoples in the resort at any given time. But the main issue for me is that I got an ocean view room, but got a 'other rooms from the resort' partial ocean view room. Since they built so many rooms other rooms really stand in the way of my view, I was trully disapointed at this, so big tip only reserve rooms if they're standing on the edge of the cliffs, the ones going up lose all the view (mine is Klaklak). Also some stains in the room put me down. The beach could be better taken care of, a little dirty and gets lots of tourists coming in by boats. The TI Kaye is really isolated so come prepared to stay here :).

Room Tip: Get an apartament AT the cliffs overlooking the ocean. Make sure you request this or you end up look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouthshire, UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We wanted a flop and drop holiday after a very busy time and settled on TIKaye. We have been delighted with our stay. A staggeringly beautiful location - quite remote but well worth the journey. The staff - warm, wonderful, friendly and so helpful. Great food - well done Chef! One of the best Sommeliers we have encountered presiding over an impressive wine cellar, great bar staff, the excellent and ever helpful beach dudes, a lovely spa and really comfortable little cottages with such well thought through touches that make all the difference. Everything from the outside shower, the gorgeous hammock on the verandah and the fresh milk in the fridge for whenever you fancy tea or coffee. All squeaky clean and beautifully maintained. Good for some gentle exercise up the steps from the beach and up the hill to the restaurant! If you want to be in the heart of things, this is probably not the place for you, but if you want to relax and reconnect, this is the place to do it. We strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northville, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a 10 day trip to Ti Kaye for our honeymoon. The accommodations were clean and beautiful, the food was delicious, and the various tours and options provided by Ti Kaye were all really fun. We went zip-lining (bring a change of clothes!), snorkeled by the Pitons, and enjoyed daily trips to the beach. Dwight, our wine-tasting host of the night, was extremely knowledgable and fun. We especially loved touring with Simeon, one of Ti Kaye's drivers, who was an open book of knowledge and extremely warm and welcoming. He surprised us with cold bottled water right off our flight when he retrieved us. I would recommend using a motion-sickness medication when traveling to Ti Kaye from the airport. The roads are very windy and bumpy. The only thing that could have made this trip an absolute perfect one was a more attentive waitstaff during meals. Oftentimes our drinks were empty and our servers didn't seem to really know what was going on with us, asking multiple times whether we had ordered or not, forgetting that we'd asked for dessert or a bottle of wine. We definitely utilized the opportunity to shop at a local grocery store on the way in from the airport so that we could hae some snacks and beverages in our room (there is a mini fridge) in lieu of always doing a big meal in the restaurants. Overall, our trip was a wonderful one with lots of beautiful pictures and memories. Would recommend this to anyone who is looking for a romantic getaway or peaceful spot to read for days on end. The hammock on our porch remains my favorite ammenity.

Room Tip: We booked a room with a plunge pool - it was definitely worth it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Got back from Ti Kaye on the 18th of October after a 10 day stay which I booked for my partners 50th birthday.

We stay at Coco bay Resort in Antigua in May every year and we have been looking for something similar in the Caribbean because we enjoy good food and the warmth of the staff in Antigua. The other resort I looked at closely was East Winds but at the last minute I decided I wanted a resort with views set up on a promontory which is just what Ti Kaye offers.

My only reservation in recommending Ti Kaye is it is very quiet (and I like quiet) but with only 33 rooms a bar, lounge area, pool, restaurant, spa, gym, beach bar, beach restaurant, beach and with people out on trips you can find you are the only couple in the bar or on the beach some days. Don't get me wrong most of the other couples were on honeymoon from the States and were great and the staff are friendly but you are not going to find the bar packed with people of an evening so it really is the romantic getaway.

Now what I must mention is the food. The management really need to put the menu on their website because it is the best I have experienced in a Caribbean resort. We went all inclusive with the full breakfast (eggs cooked to order), the option of three courses at lunch in the main restaurant or at the beach restaurant (we never managed three courses) and three courses in the evening in the main restaurant (never managed this either). Our fear of the all inclusive is the buffet but Ti Kaye offers a full restaurant service to a very high standard and the food is beautifully presented and cooked but the kind of thing you might do once a month so every day for 10 days is both a pleasure and a challenge.

Now before choosing all inclusive I did read reports on trip advisor that it might not be good value and I understand this because you sign for the check which does tell you how much the bill would have been if not on the meal plan and it may seem like you could do this cheaper especially if you skip a few meals, however they do not charge a supplement for the fillet steak which other resorts would, they serve bottled not draft beer on the all inclusive package and bottled water is included. If you compare the cost of Ti Kaye on an all inclusive deal with other resorts it is similar but the food is far superior and they include allot more. Indeed (and it may just be because we were restrained) they included items which were not on the all inclusive package and meals we had after the noon official check out time on out day of departure so when you are thinking "should I have gone all inclusive" bare in mind you could be paying a similar amount and be drinking cheep beer out of a plastic cups and eating off a tired buffet dull buffet instead of good wine and filet mignon.

By the way the rooms are fantastic, huge veranda, lots of space, walk in wardrobe and there seems to be few mosquitoes due to the height so you can actually use the veranda in the evening which is a first for us in the Caribbean. As for the steps to the beach because they have a full bar and restaurant (and toilet by the way) on the beach you only have to do them once a day in each direction and restaurant serves great food not just the basics (sorry back to the food again) which means you can get full value out of that all inclusive package.

Love Ti Kaye! Do miss the white beaches of Antigua but if you want a quiet restful romantic break in St.Lucia I can't recommend Ti Kaye highly enough or Tropic Breeze who we arranged the holiday through.

Room Tip: I am sure all rooms are fantastic but some will be up steps some way from the restaurant, bar and po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Let me start by saying it rained for three of the four days we were at this resort. And it rained so hard that silt and sand washed down from the hills into the "best snorkeling spot" in St Lucia. Ti Kaye is definitely secluded. It is an hour and a half from the airport and the drive there is extremely windy. It is not the drive for those who even slightly suffer from car sickness. Therefore, if it rains, like it did for us, there is really NOTHING to do.

There are a lot of good/great things about Ti Kaye though. The cottages are lovely and private. Each has an amazing outdoor shower and a huge veranda with hammock to lounge about on. We had a plunge pool but didn't use it because the water was too cold (which was odd because the hotel's pool was the perfect temperature). The staff and the people of St Lucia, in general, are extremely warm, friendly people. We really enjoyed getting to know the people who worked there and the service was great. My husband and I also thought the food was very good and not the usually island quality.

We also made good use of the spa - given the amount of rain we had. It was suprisingly good and the treatment cottages were just perfect. Each had a wall of open windows looking out over the caribbean where you could hear the ocean and feel the breeze. It was lovely.

We probably had an hour where the snorkeling was good and I can see why it could be amazing in great weather. The Sandals' boats with there tourists are a little annoying because they get so close to the snorkeling area and churn up the sand. You should be aware that this is not a white sand beach and the swimming area is rocky. We were a little disappointed by the beach to be honest - not exactly as it looks in the advertisements.

All in all, it was a nice place. Lots of honeymooners -median age is probably around 27. Don't know if we will ever go back, the drive there and back was really tough on my husband and I don't know if there was enough of a pull to bring us there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ti Kaye Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ti Kaye Resort & Spa

Address: P.O. Box GM 669, Anse Cochon, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Anse la Raye Quarter > Anse Cochon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Anse Cochon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ti Kaye Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Anse Cochon Bay Ti Kaye Resort & Spa is located on the serene West Coast and is simply known as Ti Kaye, (which means small house in the native creole patois language of Saint Lucia). With only 33 rooms, 2 bars & restaurants, the Kai Koko Spa and a 600+ bin 'Wine Kave' there is no better place for romantic relaxation - combined with some of the best snorkeling and diving to be found anywhere on Saint Lucia right off the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Ti Kaye Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ti Kaye Village Hotel Castries
Ti Kaye Village Castries
Ti Kaye Village Resort St Lucia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ti Kaye Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.