We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coconut Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Coconut Lodge to your Saves list
Coconut Lodge
Las Sauces, Las Cumbres, Panama City, Panama   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
$25 off room rate
Ranked #1 of 3 Las Cumbres B&B and Inns
Cambridge, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Perfect Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We stayed with Mike and Nancy before and after a trip to Bocas del Toro. We couldn't have asked for better accommodations and hosts. The room, pool, meals, and dogs, hosts, and other guests were fantastic, and we will definitely be returning next time we're in Panama City.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    14
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
75
189
18
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Suttons Bay
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We stayed here March 2014 In the casita Bambu which was an excellent room. We had the pool and gardens outside our door and ate our meals upon the balcony terrace. We also saw some new birds- ant shrikes, tanagers, hummingbirds, and a gray hawk pair building a nest. We also saw hundreds of hawks a day migrating north while we were sitting by the pool. That was an awesome site. The B&B is quite a ways out of town so it is wise to have your own transportation or they can arrange for transportation. The owner has three dogs that are sometimes penned and sometimes amongst you. Nancy,the owner, is very accomadating.

Room Tip: We did not see the rooms but the casita was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Coconut Lodge and it was fantastic; definitely exceeded our expectations! Our room was quant, clean and modern. Nancy and her staff, including the driver, were so accommodating, it made our stay pleasant and worry free. As a matter of fact, we left something at the lodge and Nancy herself drove it to us. The only drawback to this place is the location, but if you have a driver, it is easy to get around. Check it out, you won't regret it!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

My husband and I stayed three nights at the Coconut Lodge and we wished we had more. The property is beautiful! The rooms were beautiful and clean. The pool was wonderful, and the staff and owner are great. We had dinner the first night and it was a delicious meal. I had some dietary restrictions and they were amazing and working around that for me. Due to early activities were were only able to have one breakfast - french toast - and it was AMAZING!!!! One of the best services was being provided a cell phone for when we went out in case we had any problems or needed to contact anyone at the lodge. It was one of those nice added services that shows you just how much the owner and staff care. I would recommend a stay to anyone here and am already planning to come back.

Room Tip: Every room is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstable, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

This little gem is the perfect entree to a Panamanian adventure. Thirty minutes from the airport, situated in a residential area, the grounds are beautifully planted, perfectly private with a swimming pool and the attention to detail is outstanding. The owner, Nancy, couldn't have been more attentive, even waiting with us at 4:00 AM for the airport taxi, to make sure we were picked up! The meals were delicious, the staff very accommodating and we would stay here again. Give this one a try, you'll not be disappointed! Many thanks, Marcia and Brooks

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

Loved staying at Coconut Lodge with my family. The owner Nancy is an amazing host and went way above and beyond to accomodate our whole family and organized our tours. The staff are all very friendly and the chef made us amazing meals daily. I would definetly stay here again and loved Panama. Till we meet again :) Rachelle

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Coconut Lodge is a very peaceful & private oasis about 30 minutes from the airport. It's most definitely home away from home. Nancy was sure to send a nice, reliable driver to pick us up from the airport, wait for us as we went to the grocery store & deliver us safely to the lodge. She meets you as you arrive & gets you completely settled in. We stayed in the Casa Bambu & it was very comfortable for us & our 2 children. It is very tastefully decorated (by many people's standards I'd say), has a decent a/c and has nice artwork made by her daughter, who is an artist. Plenty of space & hot water. The photos on this site are very accurate..the lodge & its surroundings are beautiful, relaxing & the home is in a nice neighborhood. The property is completely fenced in & has security on site just in case (although it's a very safe, quiet neighborhood). Nancy is an extremely friendly hostess who will literally take care of every detail of your stay if you allow her to (at the lodge & for your daytime excursions). She works diligently to make sure her guests are completely comfortable & happy with their stay, their excursions, their guides & the services they receive. We jokingly called her "Mama Nancy" because she puts her guests above all else. :0) As far as being kid friendly: She welcomed our kids with open arms & even catered their breakfasts to them (portions & sometimes even what was served). We had 6 in our party & each of us were completely happy with our 7 day stay. We traveled all over Panama by car & our children kept telling us, "We want to go home", meaning Coconut Lodge! They loved playing in the beautiful pool, playing & snuggling with the 3 adorable small dogs, feeding the pet birds, searching for lizards (which Nancy happily helped with) & just being able to relax as kids do. There are rules, as in any place, but the atmosphere is overall very relaxed, even with kids. There weren't other children there during our stay but it is a nice family environment. There were some changes being made while we stayed, so we only enjoyed one dinner ($20/plate adults, $10/kids; dinner was super de-lish) but breakfasts by Nancy were phenomenal. She infuses her French background into them & they are really yummy & light. She is such a detail person that she will happily cater to your diet type as well. Everything is freshly bought & made daily. Breakfast is included in the cost of the room & it's well worth it.

FOR YOU TO KNOW:
- A taxi ride (one taxi) is $25 each way into Panama City. We had a group of 6, so we would have had to take 2 taxis or a larger vehicle. It would have cost us about $100 for 1 round trip ride into the city. You need to have a vehicle or take a taxi. Renting a car is worth it but the driving is absolutely insane & you HAVE TO HAVE good insurance coverage.
- There are a few good restaurants surrounding the lodge but again, you will need to have a vehicle or take a taxi to them.
- There is a small, local supermarket with some of the basic items within walking distance to the lodge but the best supermarket is within driving distance

Coconut Lodge is a fantastic place to stay, with or without young kids. The cost seems to be average for what we paid in different parts of Panama (unless at hostals) but you get such great service from Nancy & lots of good advice. If you're considering Coconut Lodge as a place to stay, you most certainly will not be disappointed!

Bianca W
Alaska

Room Tip: Casa Bambu has 2 queen beds & plenty of space for 4 (either 4 adults or 2 adults/2 children) - b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coconut Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Lodge

Address: Las Sauces, Las Cumbres, Panama City, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City > Las Cumbres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Las Cumbres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We like to think of Coconut Lodge as a mini-resort without the crowds. With only four rooms, Coconut Lodge is an intimate and private Lodge designed to please and satisfy your every vacation need and want. Forget about work, stress, and an accelerated lifestyle. Enjoy the warm tropical breeze, laze in our pool while sipping a Pina Colada, challenge yourself to a game of tennis and enjoy life the way it is truly meant to be lived. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Coconut Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Lodge Panama/Panama City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coconut Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.