We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Panama City” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coconut Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Las Cumbres
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coconut Lodge
Save Saved
You added Coconut Lodge to your Saves list
Las Sauces, Las Cumbres, Panama City, Panama   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
$75/night - 25% rebate
Ranked #1 of 3 Las Cumbres B&B and Inns
Payson, Utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best place to stay in Panama City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We just returned from staying at Coconut Lodge and loved it, the rooms are very clean and spacious. they will cater to your every need, We had to leave very early two morning before breakfast but they made sure we had food to eat and to take with us, we ate dinner there one night and they set it up and made it a very romantic dinner, the food was wonderful and a lot of it. The grounds were beautiful, very tropical. You can arrange tours with them also, they arranged a couple of tours for us even though we had very limited time and they worked out very good, we were able to see the different sights(with an English speaking driver that walked us around and explained a lot of the old city to us) and the locks at the canal, they arranged everything so we did not have to worry about renting a cab or a car, we don't speak a lot of Spanish but that is not a problem staying her. This is by far the best place to stay in Panama City and we will for sure stay here when we return to Panama.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut L, Owner at Coconut Lodge, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
We thank you for sharing your opinion on TripAdvisor, one of the world’s largest travel websites. We are pleased that you loved the Coconut Lodge and that you recommend it as the place to stay while in Panama City. We appreciate that you found Coconut Lodge to be clean and spacious, the grounds beautiful, the dinner experience romantic and most importantly, that we were able to accommodate your specific needs. It was an honor to read your review and a privilege to have had the opportunity to serve you and to cater to your needs. Thank you so much for your concluding statement: “This is by far the best place to stay in Panama City and we will for sure stay here when we return to Panama.” We hope to greet you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    312
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
70
180
18
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

...at our very first day, in Panama City, we got robbed…became naked in front of..who know´s what but…if we´we had our old camera, and our backpack, we would have framed a picture in black & white...because Nancy, Mike, Melissa and the rest of the included staff…they all stole our hearts!
My wife and me stayed at Coconut on two different occasions, the first for three nights and a one-nighter before leaving to another destination in Panama. What can we say? They all go, not one extra mile for You, but two, three and four... If they don´t have an answer for the asked question they will do their outmost to have an adequate answer, and they will do it fast and with a "no trouble at all" attitude... and the best part... they mean that! Nancy is so considering, Melissa and Jean so kind guides and Mike is head of excellent cooking. Our room, the Sol de la Tarde, was immaculate, the staff at Coconut very service minded and helpful and they did such a good job keeping our room clean and nice. The grounds, well, it will get You the feeling of getting "zapped"... all the flowers and birds will get You an almost electrical feeling... It´s beautiful, relaxing and it provided us with a soul soothing experience.
Nancy, Mike and Melissa are so truly there for You and they will get out of there ways making sure You will have the best stay ever. All in all...give this family a picture and they will create a colorful painting for You…it just say¨s PoP…and there it is…and You will go M_Pop…Lol!'

Thank You for having us & hopefully..see You again_:)


K & E, Sweden

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osaka, Japan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

The way we were received by Nancy and her crew was outstanding. In our way to Chili we stopped at Panama for a couple of days. Coconut Lodge was the perfect base to explore. They organized a personalized tour to the highlights of the city by a very knowledgeable driver. All very nice. It is a place where you'd be happy you can return to, either in business or for pleasure.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut L, Owner at Coconut Lodge, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for the great compliment with regards to the way we greet our guests. We are privileged and honored by your use of the word: “outstanding”. We are also really happy for your declaration with regards to our location: “Coconut Lodge was the perfect base to explore” Panama City. Thank you for the recommending Coconut Lodge as your choice of accommodations for business or for leisure. We sure do hope you come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed at the Coconut Lodge on our last night in Panama to finish up a wonderful two week vacation. It was my wife, 8 month old and I. Luckily, we traveled during the "rainy season" which keeps the masses away and made it possible for us to score a room here with relatively little notice.

We used TripAdvisor recommendations throughout our trip and this was another that was spot on. We wanted something close enough to the airport that we wouldn't have to rush for our morning flight but far enough from the hustle and bustle that we still felt like we were on vacation. What a great way to finish our trip! Upon checkin, we were instantly enjoying the deep blue pool and the oasis-like back yard while sipping on coconut rum drinks. The owners went above and beyond to make sure we had a great time, had plenty to drink and we had the exact directions to the airport. We made the wise choice to eat dinner on the premises which meant a four or five course candlelit dinner on the back patio. The dinner was excellent (we had soup, salad, entree, dessert, wine) and so reasonably priced I don't know why you would even bother leaving the premises. This was a super romantic and fun way to spend our last evening in Panama and a great value.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut L, Owner at Coconut Lodge, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thank you so very much for taking the time to share your opinion on TripAdvisor. We loved your feedback. We are glad your stay at Coconut Lodge proved to offer you the value you most deserve to receive. It was a blessing to watch your baby enjoy the relaxing effect of the salt water pool. It was definitely a pleasure to hear that we were able to help you to have a romantic dinner with such a small baby. What a treat. We hope to greet you soon again during your next stay in Panama City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

My wife and I traveled to Panama for a group event (running in the mountains) and wanted a bit of time to see and experience Panama. A co-worker suggested the Coconut Lodge and she didn't undersell it one bit. The location is not the best, but Nancy and Mike are more than willing to make sure you can get to where-ever you want. The guided tour of the city and the canal was great, and actually seemed a bit cheaper than the on-line tours I had seen.

So what really makes the Coconut Lodge ideal? Nancy and Mike (and the rest of the staff, including the three very friendly dogs) to start with, the quiet, relaxing setting, the very comfortable room(s) (we were in the Café con Leche room), the salt water pool to relax in, and Mike's cooking. True to their word, breakfast - with Mike's home-smoked bacon - was robust enough to stay with you most of the day, and the multi-course dinners were exquisite!

Should we ever return to Panama, the Coconut Lodge will be on the top of our list as a place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut L, Owner at Coconut Lodge, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thank you so very much for having taken the time to share your opinion on TripAdvisor. Your comments are invaluable to us as well as to future travelers. We are so glad you enjoyed the quiet and relaxing setting of Coconut Lodge, the rooms, salt-water pool and not to forget the meals that we have to offer. Thank you for having blessed us with your presence and we are sure thrilled that you will put Coconut Lodge on the top of your list for your next stay in Panama City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levin, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Anyone that comes to Panama City must stay here. Nancy and Mike are fabulous hosts, Anna the young housekeeper is lovely and Jean the young man who took us to botannical spots and to see the canal was so informative and made the visits so interesting. The lodge is lovely, our room was fabulous, the breakfast awesome, the pool magnificent, actually I could go on and on but visitors need to experience it for themselves. We travel annually, and the lodge is one of the best we have stayed at. I made our bookings from NZ and there was no problems, Nancy was great from the start. Unbeknown to us Nancy saw my birth date on the passport and noticed it was my birthday, we were given a bottle of wine to celebrate. This is an indication of how important guests are made to feel when staying here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut L, Owner at Coconut Lodge, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing such a beautiful review on TripAdvisor. As hosts of a B&B we strive to offer value for the travel dollar and to offer an exceptional experience. Your words were comforting and a blessing. Your statement proves the importance of continuing to do what we do best, serve our guests they way we would like to be served. Your statement with regards to how we view our guests is 100% accurate. “This is an indication of how important guests are made to feel when staying here.” As guests of Coconut Lodge, your home away from home while in Panama City, you are important!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

My dad and I stayed at the Coconut Lodge for about a week. I'm moving to Panama for a while, so we needed to learn to navigate around the city and find me an apartment ASAP. Nancy and Mike recommended a great driver, who helped us find the perfect apartment within two days. They made sure we knew the best places to go shopping and made my overall moving experience considerably less stressful. Mike is a great chef and we left each meal stuffed and unable to move. And even after I moved out of the lodge, Nancy called to make sure I was doing OK. They are kind, genuine people and were a great introduction to Panama.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut L, Owner at Coconut Lodge, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thank you for the great feedback on TripAdvisor. We always work to discern specific needs and try to meet these to the best of our ability. Discerning needs goes to the heart of who we are and participating in fulfilling them is a opportunity to make a difference in our guest's lives. It is as much of a blessing to us as it is to the guest. We are glad we were able to participate in your effort to secure an apartment as quickly as possible. We hope you continue to enjoy Panama for all it has to offer and we wish you the best with your project. Know that you can always count on us. We understand what it means to have a daughter thousands of miles away. Thank you for your beautiful words: “They are kind, genuine people and were a great introduction to Panama.” What a great gift to offer to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Coconut Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Lodge

Address: Las Sauces, Las Cumbres, Panama City, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City > Las Cumbres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Las Cumbres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We like to think of Coconut Lodge as a mini-resort without the crowds. With only four rooms, Coconut Lodge is an intimate and private Lodge designed to please and satisfy your every vacation need and want. Forget about work, stress, and an accelerated lifestyle. Enjoy the warm tropical breeze, laze in our pool while sipping a Pina Colada, challenge yourself to a game of tennis and enjoy life the way it is truly meant to be lived. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coconut Lodge Panama/Panama City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coconut Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.