We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coconut Lodge

Save Saved
You added Coconut Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coconut Lodge
Las Sauces, Las Cumbres, Panama City, Panama   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
$75/night - 25% rebate
Ranked #1 of 3 Las Cumbres B&B and Inns
Bellevue, Washington
1 review
“Ideal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

My wife and I traveled to Panama for a group event (running in the mountains) and wanted a bit of time to see and experience Panama. A co-worker suggested the Coconut Lodge and she didn't undersell it one bit. The location is not the best, but Nancy and Mike are more than willing to make sure you can get to where-ever you want. The guided tour of the city and the canal was great, and actually seemed a bit cheaper than the on-line tours I had seen.

So what really makes the Coconut Lodge ideal? Nancy and Mike (and the rest of the staff, including the three very friendly dogs) to start with, the quiet, relaxing setting, the very comfortable room(s) (we were in the Café con Leche room), the salt water pool to relax in, and Mike's cooking. True to their word, breakfast - with Mike's home-smoked bacon - was robust enough to stay with you most of the day, and the multi-course dinners were exquisite!

Should we ever return to Panama, the Coconut Lodge will be on the top of our list as a place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut L, Owner at Coconut Lodge, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thank you so very much for having taken the time to share your opinion on TripAdvisor. Your comments are invaluable to us as well as to future travelers. We are so glad you enjoyed the quiet and relaxing setting of Coconut Lodge, the rooms, salt-water pool and not to forget the meals that we have to offer. Thank you for having blessed us with your presence and we are sure thrilled that you will put Coconut Lodge on the top of your list for your next stay in Panama City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    313
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
70
181
18
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Levin, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Anyone that comes to Panama City must stay here. Nancy and Mike are fabulous hosts, Anna the young housekeeper is lovely and Jean the young man who took us to botannical spots and to see the canal was so informative and made the visits so interesting. The lodge is lovely, our room was fabulous, the breakfast awesome, the pool magnificent, actually I could go on and on but visitors need to experience it for themselves. We travel annually, and the lodge is one of the best we have stayed at. I made our bookings from NZ and there was no problems, Nancy was great from the start. Unbeknown to us Nancy saw my birth date on the passport and noticed it was my birthday, we were given a bottle of wine to celebrate. This is an indication of how important guests are made to feel when staying here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut L, Owner at Coconut Lodge, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing such a beautiful review on TripAdvisor. As hosts of a B&B we strive to offer value for the travel dollar and to offer an exceptional experience. Your words were comforting and a blessing. Your statement proves the importance of continuing to do what we do best, serve our guests they way we would like to be served. Your statement with regards to how we view our guests is 100% accurate. “This is an indication of how important guests are made to feel when staying here.” As guests of Coconut Lodge, your home away from home while in Panama City, you are important!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

My dad and I stayed at the Coconut Lodge for about a week. I'm moving to Panama for a while, so we needed to learn to navigate around the city and find me an apartment ASAP. Nancy and Mike recommended a great driver, who helped us find the perfect apartment within two days. They made sure we knew the best places to go shopping and made my overall moving experience considerably less stressful. Mike is a great chef and we left each meal stuffed and unable to move. And even after I moved out of the lodge, Nancy called to make sure I was doing OK. They are kind, genuine people and were a great introduction to Panama.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut L, Owner at Coconut Lodge, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thank you for the great feedback on TripAdvisor. We always work to discern specific needs and try to meet these to the best of our ability. Discerning needs goes to the heart of who we are and participating in fulfilling them is a opportunity to make a difference in our guest's lives. It is as much of a blessing to us as it is to the guest. We are glad we were able to participate in your effort to secure an apartment as quickly as possible. We hope you continue to enjoy Panama for all it has to offer and we wish you the best with your project. Know that you can always count on us. We understand what it means to have a daughter thousands of miles away. Thank you for your beautiful words: “They are kind, genuine people and were a great introduction to Panama.” What a great gift to offer to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Looking for a location for our yearly gathering for my friends and I, Panama was chosen as none of us had ever visited. Trying to get in as much of the local culture as possible, we chose Coconut Lodge as our B & B based on the overwhelmingly positive reviews. Contact was made and rooms were easily booked. Communication with the owners was a breeze. Because none of us wanted to do the research for places to go and things to do, we asked the owners to create an itinerary for each day of our stay. Very quickly we received an email with detailed information of suggestions. We made our selections and left everything else up to the them. It could not have been easier. And they made sure EVERY detail was covered.

Upon arrival, Melissa greeted us at the airport and whisked us away to our new home away from home. Melissa is the daughter of Mike and Nancy, owners of Coconut Lodge. Although our flight arrived late, Melissa's enthusiasm and love of Panama was as bright as ever. When we arrived, all of the features of the B & B were explained and we were made to feel at home. Mike and Nancy seem to be born to be in the hospitality business. Kindness, generosity and thoughtfulness come so naturally to them.

The following morning we met at the gathering spot for meals. It's a beautiful, relaxing space overlooking the pool and grounds. The gourmet breakfast was absolutely amazing, but the friendships revisited and new ones created really made the meal even more special. Mike is an amazing chef!

If you are going to Panama and want to take tours, let Mike and Nancy do all of the planning. They know the area and will make sure your trip is memorable! We could not have asked for anything better.

Now...back to the meals. Don't let dinner at Coconut Lodge pass you by. It's an experience you don't want to miss. Chef Mike creates delicious multi-course dinners and the price is unbelievably fair.

Although this trip was geared towards catching up with friends, I'll definitely plan to go back just to enjoy the B & B and all it has to offer. It's in a perfect location that makes you feel you're in a rainforest, but you're actually in a place that's easy to navigate other sites in Panama.

A suggestion: while visiting, take time to visit with the owners and their family. They are wonderful people!

Thanks to everyone at Coconut Lodge. Our time in Panama could not have been any better. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Room Tip: If the casita is available, request it. It's a few dollars more, but well worth it. It's o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

...at our very first day, in Panama City, we got robbed…became naked in front of..who know´s what but…if we´we had our old camera, and our backpack, we would have framed a picture in black & white...because Nancy, Mike, Melissa and the rest of the included staff…they all stole our hearts!
My wife and me stayed at Coconut on two different occasions, the first for three nights and a one-nighter before leaving to another destination in Panama. What can we say? They all go, not one extra mile for You, but two, three and four... If they don´t have an answer for the asked question they will do their outmost to have an adequate answer, and they will do it fast and with a "no trouble at all" attitude... and the best part... they mean that! Nancy is so considering, Melissa and Jean so kind guides and Mike is head of excellent cooking. Our room, the Sol de la Tarde, was immaculate, the staff at Coconut very service minded and helpful and they did such a good job keeping our room clean and nice. The grounds, well, it will get You the feeling of getting "zapped"... all the flowers and birds will get You an almost electrical feeling... It´s beautiful, relaxing and it provided us with a soul soothing experience.
Nancy, Mike and Melissa are so truly there for You and they will get out of there ways making sure You will have the best stay ever. All in all...give this family a picture and they will create a colorful painting for You…it just say¨s PoP…and there it is…and You will go M_Pop…Lol!'

Thank You for having us & hopefully..see You again_:)


K & E, Sweden

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut L, Owner at Coconut Lodge, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
When we first started reading your message, we were shocked....Robbed.....and then the rest came....” they all stole our hearts!” What a beautiful thought to share. We are glad that we were able to go out of our way to make your stay as pleasurable as possible. We especially appreciate reading that you found your room to be immaculate and that it was kept clean during your stay. Cleanliness and service is are elements that we strive for so your feedback is a confirmation that we are on the right track. Thank you also for describing what Coconut Lodge is, a home away from home, an oasis, a location to relax in a beautiful surrounding, and like you say “a soul soothing experience.” Lastly, thank you for sharing that this was the best stay ever. We too hope to see you soon again. Your room awaits you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We've just spent two nights in Casa Bambu and couldn't have enjoyed it more. The lodge is in a residential area about 20 minutes from downtown PC. The entire staff was friendly, helpful, and accommodating. Mike is an excellent chef: be sure to have dinner. It's as delicious as breakfast! John took us to Casa Viejo, Miraflores Locks, Portobello, and Isla Grand (snorkeling and Carribean fish lunch). He's very friendly and eager to share his knowledge of
Panama. The trio, "Stewie, Rocky, and Johnny Walker," just enhance the homelike feeling of Coconut Lodge. Airport transfers were arranged by Nancy and flawless. Melissa took us to the airport for our flight home. She's as charming as the rest. We weren't ever able to connect wifi to our iPhones. Hopefully, that "kink" can be addressed. But honestly, the peaceful charm of Coconut Lodge will quiet your need to answer those pesty emails!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

If you're headed to Panama City to explore the culture, relax and recharge, or be pampered almost beyond belief, your search is over. Book a room at Coconut Lodge, and book it now. (And hurry! I've been gone just twelve hours, I'm already planing my return trip, and I won't feel guilty at all about snagging a room before you do -- ha!)

With pressures mounting at work and an aggressive travel schedule coming up, we needed a four-day weekend with zero pressure. I plan projects for a living, but this weekend, I didn't want to make choices or arrange my groups activities. Instead, I wanted to enjoy a new destination, have some incredible meals, and, yeah, be pampered -- as in, "I've not been this relaxed or delighted in months!"

As it turned out, Coconut Lodge was the perfect choice. From the minute Melissa (the daughter of lodge owners Mike and Nancy) picked us up at the airport, we were chatting like old friends about how the family came to Panama almost by accident and how every single member has been involved in the creation of Coconut Lodge.

After a welcome drink, we swam in the salt water pool before getting a great night's sleep in two of Coconut Lodge's spacious, well-designed rooms. (If it's available, spend the extra money and book the "Casita," the small house by the pool. It features a large closet and huge bath and feels like your own private home.)

The next morning, we had an amazing breakfast. I've stayed in B&B's all over the planet, but no one but Mike has ever served me delicious home-cured bacon! Paired with a honey-drizzled yogurt parfait, fresh fruit, scrambled eggs, and hot coffee, that breakfast gave us enough energy to keep up with Mike during our day-long tour of nearby Portabelo and Isla Grande.

In addition to insulating us from the stresses of driving in Panama, Mike was an expert guide for everything from the ruined fortifications to the floating mangrove islands, with the knack of blending history, personal stories, tips, and insider info into a friendly, enthusiastic conversation that was easy to follow.

Mike also made the foodie in me very happy, bringing along homemade Hungarian sandwiches (with chicken, goat cheese, and mushrooms) for us to snack on before taking us to Isla Grande for a stunning seaside lunch of freshly-caught lobster. But that night, he really dazzled us with his six-course dinner: a spicy noodle soup, creamy bow-tie pasta, salad with goat cheese, a palette-cleansing pineapple sorbet, tender roast pork, and a Hungarian apple cake drizzled with caramel.

After a late night enjoying wine and conversation with Mike and Nancy, we didn't think our perfect day could be topped -- and yet Nancy delivered again, taking us on a day-long tour of all the best sights Panama City had to offer. Every member of our group felt like we were being shown Panama City by an old friend.

Nancy hit all the top sites, avoiding the rain and ferrying us effortlessly to the serene Bahai Temple, Ancon hill, the Old City, San Jose Church, and, of course, the Panama Canal. She leveraged her local knowledge to avoid the rain and keep us one step ahead of the crowds. With Nancy as our guide, we felt like all of Panama had been reserved exclusively for us. Did we feel like VIPs? Yes, definitely.

Our third day was just as magical, spent mostly with Captain Carl on nearby Gatun Lake. We visited Monkey Island, met a pet boa constrictor, kayaked to a hidden waterfall, swam in the icy jungle stream, and chowed down on down-to-earth Panamanian cuisine. Every minute of this day was arranged for us by Mike and Nancy; all we had to do was enjoy it.

Beyond this, there were so many "over the top" touches. One day, we spoke aloud about how much we loved pina coladas; that afternoon, they appeared like magic. Because of our tight schedule, one of us didn't get to try any local ceviche at the Fish Market; that afternoon, smiling staff members brought little bowls of ceviche to our poolside table for everyone to enjoy.

When a member of our group left a bag of expensive chocolates behind, Mike and Nancy not only offered to go look for them (a generous offer that we declined), they relieved our friend of any regrets with a plate of chocolates, great wine, and shots of delicious local liquor!

In short: Mike, Nancy, and Melissa are passionate about delivering a "best of class" vacation to their guests. Essentially, they're offering a resort experience, but on a smaller, more personalized scale. The result? Sheer magic.

I'm a world traveller, with strong opinions and high standards around everything from customer service to cleanliness. Coconut Lodge is one of only two B&Bs I know of that truly deserve a five-star rating. Book it now.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Coconut Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Lodge

Address: Las Sauces, Las Cumbres, Panama City, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City > Las Cumbres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Las Cumbres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We like to think of Coconut Lodge as a mini-resort without the crowds. With only four rooms, Coconut Lodge is an intimate and private Lodge designed to please and satisfy your every vacation need and want. Forget about work, stress, and an accelerated lifestyle. Enjoy the warm tropical breeze, laze in our pool while sipping a Pina Colada, challenge yourself to a game of tennis and enjoy life the way it is truly meant to be lived. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Coconut Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Lodge Panama/Panama City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coconut Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.