We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved our stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coconut Lodge

Save Saved
You added Coconut Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coconut Lodge
Las Sauces, Las Cumbres, Panama City, Panama   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
$75/night - 25% rebate
Ranked #1 of 3 Las Cumbres B&B and Inns
Corpus Christi, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Loved our stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We've just spent two nights in Casa Bambu and couldn't have enjoyed it more. The lodge is in a residential area about 20 minutes from downtown PC. The entire staff was friendly, helpful, and accommodating. Mike is an excellent chef: be sure to have dinner. It's as delicious as breakfast! John took us to Casa Viejo, Miraflores Locks, Portobello, and Isla Grand (snorkeling and Carribean fish lunch). He's very friendly and eager to share his knowledge of
Panama. The trio, "Stewie, Rocky, and Johnny Walker," just enhance the homelike feeling of Coconut Lodge. Airport transfers were arranged by Nancy and flawless. Melissa took us to the airport for our flight home. She's as charming as the rest. We weren't ever able to connect wifi to our iPhones. Hopefully, that "kink" can be addressed. But honestly, the peaceful charm of Coconut Lodge will quiet your need to answer those pesty emails!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    315
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
70
183
18
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

If you're headed to Panama City to explore the culture, relax and recharge, or be pampered almost beyond belief, your search is over. Book a room at Coconut Lodge, and book it now. (And hurry! I've been gone just twelve hours, I'm already planing my return trip, and I won't feel guilty at all about snagging a room before you do -- ha!)

With pressures mounting at work and an aggressive travel schedule coming up, we needed a four-day weekend with zero pressure. I plan projects for a living, but this weekend, I didn't want to make choices or arrange my groups activities. Instead, I wanted to enjoy a new destination, have some incredible meals, and, yeah, be pampered -- as in, "I've not been this relaxed or delighted in months!"

As it turned out, Coconut Lodge was the perfect choice. From the minute Melissa (the daughter of lodge owners Mike and Nancy) picked us up at the airport, we were chatting like old friends about how the family came to Panama almost by accident and how every single member has been involved in the creation of Coconut Lodge.

After a welcome drink, we swam in the salt water pool before getting a great night's sleep in two of Coconut Lodge's spacious, well-designed rooms. (If it's available, spend the extra money and book the "Casita," the small house by the pool. It features a large closet and huge bath and feels like your own private home.)

The next morning, we had an amazing breakfast. I've stayed in B&B's all over the planet, but no one but Mike has ever served me delicious home-cured bacon! Paired with a honey-drizzled yogurt parfait, fresh fruit, scrambled eggs, and hot coffee, that breakfast gave us enough energy to keep up with Mike during our day-long tour of nearby Portabelo and Isla Grande.

In addition to insulating us from the stresses of driving in Panama, Mike was an expert guide for everything from the ruined fortifications to the floating mangrove islands, with the knack of blending history, personal stories, tips, and insider info into a friendly, enthusiastic conversation that was easy to follow.

Mike also made the foodie in me very happy, bringing along homemade Hungarian sandwiches (with chicken, goat cheese, and mushrooms) for us to snack on before taking us to Isla Grande for a stunning seaside lunch of freshly-caught lobster. But that night, he really dazzled us with his six-course dinner: a spicy noodle soup, creamy bow-tie pasta, salad with goat cheese, a palette-cleansing pineapple sorbet, tender roast pork, and a Hungarian apple cake drizzled with caramel.

After a late night enjoying wine and conversation with Mike and Nancy, we didn't think our perfect day could be topped -- and yet Nancy delivered again, taking us on a day-long tour of all the best sights Panama City had to offer. Every member of our group felt like we were being shown Panama City by an old friend.

Nancy hit all the top sites, avoiding the rain and ferrying us effortlessly to the serene Bahai Temple, Ancon hill, the Old City, San Jose Church, and, of course, the Panama Canal. She leveraged her local knowledge to avoid the rain and keep us one step ahead of the crowds. With Nancy as our guide, we felt like all of Panama had been reserved exclusively for us. Did we feel like VIPs? Yes, definitely.

Our third day was just as magical, spent mostly with Captain Carl on nearby Gatun Lake. We visited Monkey Island, met a pet boa constrictor, kayaked to a hidden waterfall, swam in the icy jungle stream, and chowed down on down-to-earth Panamanian cuisine. Every minute of this day was arranged for us by Mike and Nancy; all we had to do was enjoy it.

Beyond this, there were so many "over the top" touches. One day, we spoke aloud about how much we loved pina coladas; that afternoon, they appeared like magic. Because of our tight schedule, one of us didn't get to try any local ceviche at the Fish Market; that afternoon, smiling staff members brought little bowls of ceviche to our poolside table for everyone to enjoy.

When a member of our group left a bag of expensive chocolates behind, Mike and Nancy not only offered to go look for them (a generous offer that we declined), they relieved our friend of any regrets with a plate of chocolates, great wine, and shots of delicious local liquor!

In short: Mike, Nancy, and Melissa are passionate about delivering a "best of class" vacation to their guests. Essentially, they're offering a resort experience, but on a smaller, more personalized scale. The result? Sheer magic.

I'm a world traveller, with strong opinions and high standards around everything from customer service to cleanliness. Coconut Lodge is one of only two B&Bs I know of that truly deserve a five-star rating. Book it now.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Island, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The Coconut Lodge was the highlight of our trip to Panama. From the time that they picked us up at the airport until we checked out 5 days later, the owners Mike and Nancy, supported by Melissa and Jean, acted above and beyond the call of duty to help us make the trip a success. They clearly put their heart and soul into the lodge and it shows. They were always willing to share their experiences of Panama and recommend great places to visit. The room was spotless and very comfortable, and the setting is beautiful. The lodge is about 30 minutes away from the city, but transport is provided for a modest fee. We decided to rent a car and Nancy organized it for us at lower rates than we had been able to find ourselves. She also provided a cell phone with all their mobile phone numbers programmed in case we experienced any difficulties. Staying at Coconut Lodge allowed us to experience both the hustle and bustle of the city when we wanted to, and then relax and re-charge in the beauty and tranquility of the hills after a busy day. We originally planned to eat dinner out most nights, but after experiencing Mike’s gourmet cooking the first night, we changed our minds and decided to eat in each night and we were never disappointed. Company, food and ambiance were all great. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and highly recommend Coconut Lodge.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut L, Owner at Coconut Lodge, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your opinion on TripAdvisor. As most of our guests find us through this important medium, we love when these same guests decide to share back with the travelling community on the world’s most important travel website. Your words were more than we could have hoped for. Thank you for the following statement: “The Coconut Lodge was the highlight of our trip to Panama”. We are so pleased to have been able to go the distance to make your stay a success. Your statement with regards to putting our heart and soul in the Lodge is appreciated. We do enjoy investing in our guest’s experience. We are blessed that you chose Coconut Lodge as your refuge while in Panama City. Thank you both for your final statement. “We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and highly recommend Coconut Lodge.” We hope to be able to greet you soon again. Thank you so much for recommending Coconut Lodge as the place to stay when in Panama City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallkill, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Coconut Lodge is run by a husband and wife team, Mike and Nancy. First, the place is gorgeous. The grounds are the united work of the family with their daughter responsible for the design and Mike doing the work! The result is absolutely beautiful! The rooms are spacious and extremely clean, something I demand. Mike and Nancy go out of their way to help you around, be it with a highway toll card, cell phone, umbrella, bed trays, directions etc. The chef is Mike and you couldn't find better meals in restaurants. Their three friendly dogs welcome you as well, my favorite being "Johnny Walker". His tail never stops wagging. This is a great place, with great, friendly people and a definite "must stay" just outside of Panama City!

Room Tip: They are all great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

I don't always submit reviews but I was desperate to review the coconut lodge to help it stay at number 1 - where it belongs!! What can I say that hasn't aleady been said! I mirror all the other comments regarding food, rooms and ambiance but I'd like to pinpoint the Coconut Lodge's features which really made a difference to us!

1) Being hugged by Nancy and Melissa at the end of the tour really says it all - they clearly love what they do and do it brilliantly. They are genuinely sad to see you go as we were sad to leave! Nancy even made herself late for an appointment, so she could say goodbye to us! The whole family just love to 'treat' their guests which is really individual and special!

2) Quality of care generally on the tour - being given a mobile phobe with preinputted numbers was brilliant but we were given a tour of Panama by Nancy and it was brilliant - even in the rain!!

3) 18 dollars for the 4 course meal is an absolute bargain! Mike is a brilliant chef but the level of service you get, for $18 is an absolute snip! I would recommend not eating out when you stay at C.L. because you will quality and service as good anywhere else!

Thank you to all at coconut lodge for making our stay at coconut lodge and panama city so special.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut L, Owner at Coconut Lodge, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
We thank you so much for taking the time to share your opinion on TripAdvisor, one the world’s most important travel websites. We are happy that you enjoyed your experience, especially the “quality of care” and value for your travel dollar. You are correct; we do love to “treat” our guests to the best of our ability. A special word of appreciation for your comments with regards to Coconut Lodge: “number 1 – where it belongs”. The credit goes equally to all our guests, past, present, and future who take the time to provide feedback on TripAdvisor to help fellow travelers from all over the world.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Coconut Lodge for 1 night when we arrived in Panama en route to Volcan, and again a week later when we were leaving the country. We used GPS coordinates to get us from Tocumen to Nancy & Mike's little slice of paradise in Las Cumbres. We arrived to be greeted by Nancy and her 3 canine companions and escorted to our lovely, clean room with ensuite bath overlooking the pool. Nancy's staff helped with our suitcases and we were made to feel right at home. The property is immaculate and well maintained, quiet and a great place to relax and get away from the sometimes stifling heat of coastal Panama.
We enjoyed a delicious and well priced dinner prepared by Mike and a fresh and tasty breakfast the next day (including bacon smoked by Mike himself).The only reason I'm giving C.Lodge 4 stars is that both there seemed to be an inordinate amount of paperwork, signing multiple invoices multiple times to the point of annoyance (to be fair, Nancy explained that she had to maintain scrupulous records due to Panamanian tax laws, but we've travelled to Panama 6 or 7 times, stayed in multiple B&B's and hotels and never experienced such a complicated paper trail). Also our leave-taking was a bit dicey: we asked for breakfast at a specific time so we could make our flight without stress, and we were served 15 minutes late. Also, Nancy was away and the staff seemed a bit disorganized at our departure. All this aside, Nancy & Mike couldn't have been more hospitable, helpful, and welcoming and Coconut Lodge is a beautiful place to relax and unwind!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut L, Owner at Coconut Lodge, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for sharing your opinion of Coconut Lodge on TripAdvisor, an invaluable medium for all travelers around the world. We are overjoyed that you were “made to feel at home”, and that you enjoyed Coconut Lodge for its beauty, cleanliness, tranquility, quality and affordability of meals. Additionally, we are thrilled that Coconut Lodge proved to be a haven. This is important to us as we strive to provide our guests with a "Home Away from Home". Lastly, we thank you for blessing us with the gift of your words: “Nancy & Mike couldn't have been more hospitable, helpful, and welcoming and Coconut Lodge is a beautiful place to relax and unwind!”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalsmeer, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed for four nights with our family of four in Casu Bambu of the Coconut Lodge. Nancy and Mike welcomed us with a drink and showed us around. The Casu Bambu is very spacious, clean and beautifully furnished. The refridgerator was stocked with water, sodas, beer and wine at nominal prices. In the garden is a nice pool with poolbeds. Our stay was including a gorgeous breakfast. First yoghurt, jus and coffee, and then a large plate with fresh fruits, eggs with home made bacon (yummi), pancakes and toast. While having breakfast, they provide suggestions for spending the day. They are very well informed. We also had diner in the Lodge, twice. This is realy a treat. Mike will ask what you prefer, seafood, beef, or chicken and at what time you like to eat. We had diner at 18.30, which was in both cases a super four course meal and included a very nice glass of wine for 18 US$ pp. Mike is a very good chef. As our son is a difficult eater, Mike was able to adapt the menu such that our son also enjoyed it very much.
Taken together going to Panama City and having a car available, the Coconut Lodge should be your place to stay (even without a car it is possible as Nancy or Mike will organize transport).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut L, Owner at Coconut Lodge, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
We are honored by your contribution especially considering you are an experienced and discerning traveler with over 99 reviews in 40 cities to your name. So as you can imagine, receiving a 5 star rating from a Top Contributor is a beautiful reward for our efforts. As you mention, we do our best to provide a warm and caring environment where guests feel special and where they can experience value for their dollar. A special note of appreciation for your words for future guests considering a stay in Panama City: “the Coconut Lodge should be your place to stay”. Our words to you: It was a pleasure to host your family and to take care of you as best we could. We especially appreciated the long conversations as they brought perspective and joy to our lives. Thank you for that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coconut Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Lodge

Address: Las Sauces, Las Cumbres, Panama City, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City > Las Cumbres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Las Cumbres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We like to think of Coconut Lodge as a mini-resort without the crowds. With only four rooms, Coconut Lodge is an intimate and private Lodge designed to please and satisfy your every vacation need and want. Forget about work, stress, and an accelerated lifestyle. Enjoy the warm tropical breeze, laze in our pool while sipping a Pina Colada, challenge yourself to a game of tennis and enjoy life the way it is truly meant to be lived. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Coconut Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Lodge Panama/Panama City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coconut Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.