We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“truly a wonderful place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coconut Lodge

Save Saved
You added Coconut Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coconut Lodge
Las Sauces, Las Cumbres, Panama City, Panama   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
$75/night - 25% rebate
Ranked #1 of 3 Las Cumbres B&B and Inns
Caledon, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“truly a wonderful place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights at the end of March during our week long vacation in Panama. We chose Coconut Lodge based on the wonderful 5 star reviews on Tripadvisor. We were not disappointed in any way. Nancy and Mike are wonderful hosts. They work there butts off 24/7 to ensure their guests have a wonderful stay. It truly does seem like you are staying with friends and not a bed and breakfast. The meals were all perfect and were a wonderful value. The pool is nice and we enjoyed mingling with all the other guests from around the world at the dinner table. We booked 3 tours through them and they were all great. Melissa is an excellent guide and again after the first few minutes it seemed like it was a friend showing us around her city. The price of the tours was very good for the service provided. We both have many wonderful lifetime memories from our stay at Coconut Lodge. I highly recommend this place to anyone staying in the area while on vacation. Thank you Mike, Nancy and family for making our stay such a fantastic experience !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    302
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
64
177
18
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

A great place to stay a little outside the city. Mike and Nancy are amazing hosts and took care of every aspect of our stay. We enjoyed day trips with Melissa. Melissa went out of her way to help with renting a car and showing us how to get out of the city. The dinners were great and it was nice to meet people from all over the world!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed with Nancy and Mike towards the end of April, and had a wonderful time. The grounds our gorgeous, the service is impeccable, and the food delicious. Nancy was incredibly helpful in helping us plan our stay in advance, even calling a church to ask for Mass times so that we could plan our trip to Contadora around when we could get back for church. You have to ask Mike to give you a fresh coconut with rum :)

Nancy and Mike are so generous that you don't ever feel nickel and dimed, like you do at many hotels. They were extremely helpful in planning our transportation, even when we were doing tours outside of those that they offer. They even held our stuff for us while we went to Contadora, and let us borrow a phone! Truly - the service was fantastic - as was the company of other guests.

Nancy and Mike do have 3 small dogs - but the dogs do not go in your room. Also, if you don't like dogs I think they would be pretty good about keeping them away.

Room Tip: We had Cafe Con Leche and enjoyed it very much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian, Florida
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

What I like most about the Coconut Lodge is that it kept my daughter and I safe in a foreign country. I've always wanted to see Panama and felt the country would be safe for us to travel there but I can see where our holiday would have been unpleasant--or worse--without the Coconut Lodge and the people there. The Lodge is situated in an upscale neighborhood just outside of Panama City. We met one of the neighbors. He was a doctor. His wife was a dentist. The Lodge is surrounded by a high, impenetrable fence. And at night, an electric fence for security. We always felt safe and slept well. The neighborhood is quiet and peaceful. For some reason, stinging bugs and mosquitoes were either not present--or were not a problem.

I think in many ways, the Lodge offers 5 to 6-star services, particularly in concierge services. Co-owner Nancy not only schedules tours and simple trips to town with efficiency and her expert business skills (she holds and MBA), she deftly anticipates your needs and saves you time, money and hassle.

If I go there again I will wait until we arrive and then schedule all trips and tours with Nancy. Her ability to find the best, knowledgeable vendors for site-seeing, or hire someone she knows to escort you on a private tour are World-Class. Coconut Lodge concierge services exceeded those I recently received at the Waldorf Astoria in Orlando. She takes the services seriously and finds the highest quality guided tours for her clients. She knows in so doing--the Lodge puts its own reputation under scrutiny.

Our tours to the Embera Indian Village and the Rainforest Discovery Center were beyond FANTASTIC!! Once-in--lifetime experiences. For a third tour we scheduled on our own, Nancy typed out expert directions and called the corporate office to ensure the driver would find the location for our 5:00 a.m. pick-up time. That is high, high quality--Ritz-Carlton level.

Food safety is a major concern for those who love to travel to foreign countries. Without mentioning all of the issues associated with food safety, I can tell you we enjoyed nearly all our meals at Coconut Lodge and I am now finding myself craving Mike's gourmet cooking. We were unconcerned about unsafe water or foods--such a relief in a foreign country. We enjoyed fresh guava juice daily, escargot, fresh, high quality fruit each morning, home-smoked bacon, fresh eggs, crepes, and yogurt parfaits; homemade high quality hungarian stew for lunch (once gratis [because they are simply nice and generous and have good manners]). Dinners were three course meals. I could continue for many paragraphs about the meals. Point is--the food was 5-star-level food.

What I want to emphasize is the cheerful accomodation for dietary restrictions and food allergies. My daughter's multiple food allergies were always considered when her meals were served. Always--and with graciousness and with pleasure to help us. Coconut Lodge reaches 6-star-level service with these highly specialized services, i.e., Ritz-Carlton, Four Seasons service. And breakfast was included in the price of the lovely rooms. Dinners were available for only $18 per person and lunches--for $10. I call that high quality VALUE.

Honesty is priceless. In haste, I left a large amount of cash on the desk one morning and hadn't realized it until we returned to the room later that day. The room had been cleaned. the bed made, and waste removed. All of my personal items were respectfully untouched. $75 cash left in full view on the edge of the desk remained in the position where it had been left that morning--untouched.

We stayed in Cafe con leche. The room was clean, attractive and we always had enough fluffy towels. All appliances were in full operation. The aircon was efficient. The mini-bar, well stocked. Fine wines were available. One bottle was gratis with the room.

Lovely, well maintained landscaping frames the location. Those beautiful bushes with gorgeous white flowers will stay on my mind. Fountains, four gorgeous white doves and orchids were a delight. The saltwater pool was refreshing, clean and soothing following long days touring this beautiful, globally important country.

Should I return to Panama, Coconut Lodge is the only accomodation I will consider.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

In May 2013, our family stayed at Coconut Lodge for one week. It was the perfect place for our children. They certainly enjoyed the pool, the 3 little dogs and the 2 parrots a lot. The natural surroundings were very nice and we enjoyed several peaceful evenings outside and amazingly (for being in the tropics), we had no issues with mosquitos whatsoever. Actually, we did not use any bug spray. This was a very nice experience compared to our native Atlanta.

The food was absolutely wonderful and Nancy and Mike provided excellent service. Cannot think of any complaints whatsoever. Certainly the best vacation experience we had in a long while. I would give it 6 stars if I could.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

This lodge is lush with tropical plants and flowers, and our room was immaculately clean as well as beautifully designed. The food is delicious, with the cook (Mike) taking orders for breakfast (and serving delicious lunches and dinners too). Best of all, the owners (Nancy & Mike) were totally available to us for any questions we had. They met and exceeded our expectations. They have really thought of all of the details, from security at the home to providing a cell phone when off their property. They are a wealth of Panama knowledge and are happy to share it. Cannot recommend Coconut Lodge highly enough. It truly made our visit to Panama that much nicer.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Casa Bambu, which is right off the pool (no steps) and could not have been more con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Spring Island, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We loved this wonderful place -- lovely yard, room and hospitality. I cannot say enough good things about it and highly recommend staying here while in Panama! We especially liked meeting the owner Nancy and the other guests and enjoying a drink overlooking the lovely yard.

Thank you Nancy--we will be back soon!!

Room Tip: We loved staying at the Coconut Lodge! Beautiful place and wonderful hospitality. We loved the lovel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Coconut Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Lodge

Address: Las Sauces, Las Cumbres, Panama City, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City > Las Cumbres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Las Cumbres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We like to think of Coconut Lodge as a mini-resort without the crowds. With only four rooms, Coconut Lodge is an intimate and private Lodge designed to please and satisfy your every vacation need and want. Forget about work, stress, and an accelerated lifestyle. Enjoy the warm tropical breeze, laze in our pool while sipping a Pina Colada, challenge yourself to a game of tennis and enjoy life the way it is truly meant to be lived. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Coconut Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Lodge Panama/Panama City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coconut Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.