We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TO TELL THE TRUTH” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coconut Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Coconut Lodge to your Saves list
Coconut Lodge
Las Sauces, Las Cumbres, Panama City, Panama   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
$25 off room rate
Ranked #1 of 3 Las Cumbres B&B and Inns
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“TO TELL THE TRUTH”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I have never been sure I could rely on reviews but my wife chose Coconut Lodge for our
vacation based on the reviews found on TripAdvisor. We found the service and every detail
to exceed our expectations based on the reviews. Mike and Nancy the owners and staff were not only extremely helpful and friendly but also detail orentiated and very organized. The place is beautiful, quiet, well kept, modern with an adequate pool, tennis court, flowers, birds and an ocassional monkey in the trees behind the property. Coconut Lodge is far enough from
the city to have the feeling of the countryside and close enough to go into town if desired.
The breakfast was cooked to order and delicious. (try Mike's home cured bacon - a treat)
Lunch and dinner were offered at a reasonable price and was excellent so we just mostly vegitated at the lodge. We were so well taken care of we didn't worry about a thing.
Highly recommend this place. Norb W.

Room Tip: We were happy with the room and balcony overlooking the pool. There is a nice little bungalow seper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    14
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
75
189
18
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Panama
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Again perfectly attended by the Coconut Lodge Staff! Also the way they looked after our friends was 100% satisfactory! With their "home drivers", they attended every single transportation request, at any hour (incl. middle of the night), be it to/from whatever destination. This has been a huge relieve.
Also whatever personal request asked for, it was met! :-)
Keep it up that way Mike and Nancy!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed 5 nights at the Coconut Lodge. We had already been away from home at that time for almost 2 months and had slept in several hotels around Panama. The nice thing is that if you stay at the Coconut Lodge after staying in Panama City first, it is really as if you are in an different world. Las Cumbres is a very quiet area only about 30 minutes from the center of Panama City. We saw beautiful birds, and even little monkeys in the trees of the garden. An other good thing is the swimming pool that you can use even at night if you want. If you are looking for a place where you can sleep quietly, meet fellow travelers, have great diners together with new made friends, and enjoy the hospitality of Nancy and Mike (and all of their team), just travel a bit outside Panama City rather than stay in the city. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: If you like a King size bed, room Coral Serano
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granby
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We spent a few nights at the Coconut Lodge in february and fell in love with the service, location, and with the dedication and passion of Nancy, Mike , Melissa and Jean. No need to repeat what many guests have extensively described: Coconut Lodge is OUTSTANDING. We have been touched by the human warmth, courtesy, grace and tactful welcoming of all who live at Coconut Lodge. We felt like family. They give so much to their guests that we really hope that they also take some time off for themselves. We will surely be back some time in the future. Thanks again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antwerp
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed in a bungalow at the Coconut lodge for 5 nights.
The bungalow was spacious en clean and the shower was the best of all showers we had during our trip to Panama.
The garden was nice and very comfortable.
Breakfast was very good en was made to order.
The owners were very helpful and friendly.
Diner was also very good en the prices of diner and drinks were very reasonable.
Especially the wine was excellent
It was definitely our best stay in Panama.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

When planning our month long trip through Panama we though it would be good to spend a couple of days at the end of the trip at a place with a pool and reasonably close to the airport. We looked around on various websites in seach of such a place and found Coconut Lodge.

I told Nancy at some point during our stay that we "saved the best for last" - it wasn't a lie. From the moment we met Melissa (Nancy and Mike's daughter) who was our ride from Panama to Coconut Lodge, we felt at home. Our room (Cafe con Leche) was immaculate and spacious. It opened out to porch/deck that overlooked the pool and garden, we think there were four other rooms on site at this great house.

We can't say enough about the grounds and the vision of the Mike and Nancy in turning this space into the oasis that it is. The meals, prepared by Chef Mike each were amazing. One of the great parts about traveling is the other people you meet and the other guests at Coconut Lodge did not disappoint. At dinner on our final night, we sat with two other couples who were all departing the next day for Belgium and Equador and us, to the US. How great is that?

My wife summed in up best, she described staying with Mike and Nancy as "staying at the home of relatives, you know, the ones you like".

Their generorsity and attention to detail with their guests, made it our best stay during our time in Panama (30 days), it was hard to leave.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Recently I travelled to Panama City with my sister in law. We had booked a few days in Panama City and the next 7 days at Coconut Lodge based on Trip Advisor reviews. What a joy to stay at a cozy lodge with a warm friendly environment. We met and shared happy meals with people from other countries and although Nancy, Mike and Melissa were always on the spot to make things run smoothly, they never really trespassed into your holiday. I'm not sure how they did that, but there were never any big problems, and any little problems that came up were taken care of quickly, so that you never really have a worry while staying at the Lodge. I have already told other friends that it is the place to stay if they visit Panama and the only concern is that it is so popular now, it will be a challenge to book!!!! Thanks to Mike for the great meals (and the little extra's with the evening meal) Bottoms up! Nancy, we just loved your kind concern and efficient care. And last but not least, thanks Melissa for sharing all of your knowledge and laughs regarding Panama. Still wishing for coconut ice cream. We'll just have to come back to visit soon!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Coconut Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Lodge

Address: Las Sauces, Las Cumbres, Panama City, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City > Las Cumbres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Las Cumbres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We like to think of Coconut Lodge as a mini-resort without the crowds. With only four rooms, Coconut Lodge is an intimate and private Lodge designed to please and satisfy your every vacation need and want. Forget about work, stress, and an accelerated lifestyle. Enjoy the warm tropical breeze, laze in our pool while sipping a Pina Colada, challenge yourself to a game of tennis and enjoy life the way it is truly meant to be lived. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Coconut Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Lodge Panama/Panama City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coconut Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.