We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coconut Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Coconut Lodge to your Saves list
Coconut Lodge
Las Sauces, Las Cumbres, Panama City, Panama   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
$25 off room rate
Ranked #1 of 3 Las Cumbres B&B and Inns
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
“Excellent B&B!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at Coconut Lodge with our 2-year old daughter at the end of our trip to Panama. We could not have been more pleased with our stay! The family was more than welcoming and catered to our every need during our stay. The location was beautiful and my daughter loved the pool while my husband enjoyed the bird watching right from the back porch. The food was fantastic and it was wonderful to have the option to order lunch and dinner at the lodge instead of having to hunt down a good restaurant. Our room was also beautifully designed, extremely clean and comfortable. This was by far the best B&B we stayed at during our 3 week trip and we hope to stay there again someday!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut L, Owner at Coconut Lodge, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Coconut Lodge is a perfect destination if your goal is to relax, enjoy the nature, and what it has to offer, and be pampered and taken care of. Thank you for the great comments with regards to our welcoming spirit, our meals, the decor and cleanliness of our rooms. We too hope that you one day stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    14
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
75
189
18
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at Mike and Nancy's. They have this great ability to make you feel at home wit friends. The property is perfect for a relaxing, no nonsense stay. Clean facilities, a good internet connection, comfortable rooms, very helpful people. I look forward to coming back with my kid for a longer period of time, my stay was a real pleassure.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut L, Owner at Coconut Lodge, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
So glad you enjoyed your stay and found the rooms of Coconut Lodge to be clean and comfortable, providing a means by which to remain in contact using our complimentary WIFI service. Most importantly though, we are delighted that we were able “to make you feel at home”. The pleasure was ours!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

I traveled to Panama with my bf in July and spent 2 nights here and wished we could have stayed longer. The grounds were beautiful, the food and drinks were plentiful and delicious but nothing could compare to the hospitality from Nancy and her whole family! We were made to feel like family, only better!! Do yourself a favor and book your transportation to/from the city through them. We made the mistake to ask a local taxi driver and he "accidentally" got lost. The location is great, close to the city, airport and the canal. We took the Gamboa/rainforest tour with Captain Carl and would highly recommend it. We were treated with extra special care having been referred by Nancy/Coconut Lodge. I could go on and on about how special this place is. Feel free to contact me with any questions. Thank you Coconut Lodge for a perfect ending to a great Panama vacation! We will hopefully see you again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Coconut Lodge, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
We are delighted that you enjoyed the natural grounds, the central location, and the cuisine offered at Coconut Lodge.

By far the best gift a host can aspire to receive is positive feedback such as your comment: “nothing could compare to the hospitality from Nancy and her whole family! We were made to feel like family, only better!!”

Your review marks the 70th review Coconut Lodge has received after less than 8 months of operation. Again, thank you for the gift of your words...a true blessing! Congratulations on being our 70th reviewer.

We are really glad to hear that we could make your stay extra special. We too hope to see you soon again. PS: The monkeys in the picture (and Captain Carl) send their regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skoczów
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

The family who is running the lodge is really kind and helpful:) food we had, both for breakfest and diner was amazing, wery tasty and homemade. Neighberhood of Las Cumbres is really picturesque. Rooms are nicely decorated. In Coconut Lodge you'll find everything you're looking for in B&B and more! :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut L, Owner at Coconut Lodge, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
We are blessed to have met your family. Thank you for the words with regards to our kindliness and helpfulness. We are truly pleased that you found the homemade breakfasts and dinners to be amazing and tasty.  Thank you also for your words of encouragement with regards to our business: "In Coconut Lodge you'll find everything you're looking for in B&B and more!:)"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

Nancy en Mike are very kind people. And Mike is a good chef!
We stayed 4 nights in the bambu room. It was a nice spacious room.
This lodge has a good location if you want to go to the city or to a national park.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut L, Owner at Coconut Lodge, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about Coconut Lodge with the TripAdvisor traveling community.  We appreciate hearing that you found the rooms to be spacious and our location to be good.  It was a pleasure to read your opinion and special mention that Mike is a good chef.  Until next time soon again we hope. 
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

Great base if you want to visit Panama City, The canal and the surrounding national parks.

Nice and clean rooms, fresh pool and super friendly staff.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut L, Owner at Coconut Lodge, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion concerning Coconut Lodge.  We appreciated reading that you found the rooms to be nice and clean and the staff to be friendly.  We are also pleased you appreciated the salt-water pool.  Lastly, thank you for the quote: "Great base if you want to visit Panama City, The canal and the surrounding national parks." 
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

The Coconut Lodge is an outstanding example of personalized comfort and hospitality. The accommodations, meals and services (pool, tennis, travel arrangements and transfers) leave nothing to be desired. Nancy and Mike’s first concern is your comfort, and I was asked many times if there was anything they could attend to. You certainly won’t go hungry with the delicious and plentiful breakfasts! Mine included a yogurt parfait, French toast, different fruits, coffee and juice. You also have the option of dining at the Lodge at night, with morning advance notice, and the 3-4 course meals are great as well, which include your choice of beverage. Mike is a great chef and will cater to your needs with the freshest ingredients. After meals it is nice to take a dip in the pool if it’s warm or lounge in the hammock, too.

When I arrived Mike gave me my ‘welcome drink’ and I sat reading overlooking the pool. Within 10 minutes I looked out and saw Monkeys and Toucans passing by the trees in the back yard!!! You just can’t beat that experience.

My room (Café con Leche) had an air conditioner, alarm clock, TV, a fully-stocked mini-fridge and even a mini-safe. I believe it’s new construction and is very clean and crisp. During my stay I also had the privilege of a personalized tour of the canal and surrounding area by their daughter, which was impeccable and something I will always remember. The family is quite knowledgeable about the entire surrounding area and the most affordable tours and can set up just about anything you like, even advance by e-mail. They can also provide a transfer to the airport from the house, which is really convenient. Finally, the family is multi-lingual with English, French, Spanish and Hungarian (and maybe more!), so all kinds of travelers can feel at home. They are very responsive to e-mails as well.

Thank you so much, I will make sure any of my friends headed your way get your card, I had such a lovely time!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Coconut Lodge, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
We thank you for sharing your opinion with other travellers. We are glad you enjoyed your stay: the personalized service, comfort and hospitality.

We are especially happy you saw our neighbouring family of monkeys and toucans. Thank you again for staying with us and for recommending us to your friends and fellow travellers. Hoping you will be back soon again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coconut Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Lodge

Address: Las Sauces, Las Cumbres, Panama City, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City > Las Cumbres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Las Cumbres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We like to think of Coconut Lodge as a mini-resort without the crowds. With only four rooms, Coconut Lodge is an intimate and private Lodge designed to please and satisfy your every vacation need and want. Forget about work, stress, and an accelerated lifestyle. Enjoy the warm tropical breeze, laze in our pool while sipping a Pina Colada, challenge yourself to a game of tennis and enjoy life the way it is truly meant to be lived. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Coconut Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Lodge Panama/Panama City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coconut Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.