We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"such a gift!"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coconut Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Coconut Lodge to your Saves list
Coconut Lodge
Las Sauces, Las Cumbres, Panama City, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Las Cumbres B&B and Inns
Grande Prairie, Canada
1 review
“"such a gift!"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

We we're so fortunate to find Coconut Lodge along with Mike and Nancy. In a lovely residential area about 25 minutes from Tocumen International, you will find the true gift of beauty, serenity and hospitality. There is no need to take a taxi, Mike and Nancy will take you to any surrounding sights, banks, airports, shopping, etc. Your stay with them will be like no other. Lush gardens, swimming pool, tennis court within a private rainforest area. The delicious meals are not to be missed!! The evenings are elegant with two areas to dine in accompanied by romantic lights, gourmet meals, wine and great company. The rooms are immaculately clean and tastefully decorated for an unbelievable low price. Along with ourselves, everyone we met booked their last night to come back to Coconut Lodge. I can not say enough about Mike and Nancy. Traveling will never be the same without you!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in all three rooms, each was as quiet and comfortable as the next. Book according to your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    16
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
78
196
18
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quito
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

This is the best place ever if you like to take a look in paradise! Nancy, Mike and their daughter Melissa made our stay truly unforgettable. They take care of their gasts in such a personal and humorous way, and before we could ask for something it was already there... While swimming in the pool at night, Nancy brought us two glasses of wine for example!
Mike is the best cook that one could ask for, his meals are amazing! Really nothing is too much for them, they make you feel at home and it is the best place to relax. They also provide trips and can help woth lots of usefull information when you want to travel. We are already planning to come back! So, don't hesitate if you want to go to Panama, just go to the Coconut Lodge!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

The plan was to stay for two nights but we kept on returning to this lovely place as we travelled around Panama. The atmosphere, the food and the lovely rooms were just amazing. If you decide to explore Panama City with sorroundings this is a great place starting point, you will be very well taken care of, well fed and feel relaxed. Since the place is small and the atmosphere very heartfull you might get to know some of the other guests and share travel experiences over dinner. We just loved it and hope to return one day. It is beautful, very safe and super clean!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

During a one week stay in Panama, we wanted to be on the one hand close to the city and on the other hand get good access to the Panama Canal and the rainforest reserves in and around Gamboa. Coconut Lodge was exactly what we were looking for. Also it is very quiet and peaceful there and actually the rainforest starts right behind the tennis court. We even saw a humming bird in the backyard and a pair of toucans on a tree behind Casa Bambu in which we were staying.
The room is huge and set up very nice. The decoration is lovely and you really feel at home. You have also a huge bathroom and can enjoy a refreshing shower in very nice environment after a day of sunbathing at the beautifully set pool or in the rainforest. If you are lucky you can compete with Mike in a tennis match before dinner.
Regarding food, you feel like in heaven. A lovely and hearty breakfast, that you get prepared at any (!) time you need it or want it starts a perfect day. You can even get lunch if you are around all day. And the dinner will be the highlight of the day. Nancy and Mike cater for all diet requirements and still have a culinary fireworks in 3 or 4 courses.
Nancy and Mike are the perfect hosts and will do everything they can to make your stay there the most perfect holidays. Going there is worth every cent you pay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

This is a great place. Just a short drive from the city, and you'll find a different world. We stayed here 2 nights after 20 hour flight from Europe. The swimming pool surrounded by the beautiful, lush garden and the excellent food were the perfect treatment for our jet lag. Our room was clean, cozy and beautifully furnished. Sleep quality was excellent. So, if you need some rest, we really recommend to stay here, not in the city amid the noise and traffic.

The lodge provides also Spanish classes, which we found very useful. We took two lessons to brush up our skills. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

My partner and I decided to stay at Coconut Lodge for 2 nights for some R&R at the end of a very hectic 3 week tour of Panama and Colombia. Mike, Nancy and family could not have been more accommodating and welcoming. Their focus is truly on ensuring the guests have the most relaxing and enjoyable stay possible. From the complimentary plate of fresh fruit on arrival to the cool Cuba Libres served by the pool to the 5* quality food, everything is perfect. The rooms are very spacious, immaculate and have the best (HOT!) showers in all of Panama! Nancy even went so far as to get up at 4.30am to drive us to the airport when we left and offered to pack us a breakfast for the journey! The Lodge is a little out of the city centre however Nancy and Mike are more than willing to transport you to any of the sights for very competitive rates. Our stay at Coconut Lodge really was the icing on the cake of a fantastic trip.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

We cannot begin to say enough about the beauitful, welcoming Coconut Lodge. In 9 months of travelling, we have not had such a wonderful experience. Mike and Nancy have created a true gem for travellers seeking a home away from home in Panama City. The accomodation is immaculate, comfortable, warm and welcoming, the service above and beyond. We feel truly blessed to have stumbled upon Coconut Lodge. We highly recommend the location, whilst away from the city you are only a 20min drive from everything and in a world of your own, from the stunning pool, to the surrounding rain forrest and even the tennis court if your are feeling active. The home made food was incredible! From the 2 course delicious breakfast with fresh juice and unlimmitted freshly brewed Panamanian coffee, to the fresh fruit and scrumptious dinners. Nancy and Mike truly pour their heart and soul into every service they offer and will go out of their way to ensure your stay is more than enjoyable and all your needs met. We highly recommend a day out with Nancy to experience all the city sights, from the canal to Casco to fresh ceviche eith locals at the fisherman's market! We cannot wait for the day we are able to return!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Coconut Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Lodge

Address: Las Sauces, Las Cumbres, Panama City, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City > Las Cumbres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Las Cumbres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We like to think of Coconut Lodge as a mini-resort without the crowds. With only four rooms, Coconut Lodge is an intimate and private Lodge designed to please and satisfy your every vacation need and want. Forget about work, stress, and an accelerated lifestyle. Enjoy the warm tropical breeze, laze in our pool while sipping a Pina Colada, challenge yourself to a game of tennis and enjoy life the way it is truly meant to be lived. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Coconut Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Lodge Panama/Panama City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coconut Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.