We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice spot to enjoy Siena !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Canto del Sole

Save Saved
You added Il Canto del Sole to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Il Canto del Sole
Via Villa Canina, 1292, 53014 Monteroni d'Arbia, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
“Nice spot to enjoy Siena !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Me and my better half plus a couple of friends went to Siena to celebrate the New Year's Eve and we decided to spend 2 nights in this B&B : was the last best decision of the year 2012 !
Location is great , not too far from the downtown and in the middle of the calm and silent Tuscan countryside . The old building is really nice and the real old Tuscan one, fully renovated , comfortable , clean , spacious with the room that is really big (well I live in HK so...quite easy hahahah) . Breakfast is at its best , my gym instructor is still thankfully to the B&B's owners . The owners are really professional and kind , always ready to help you if needed with suggestions or bookings . So I strongly recommend this place and hope to come back in summer to see how is working thew big swimming pool outside .... promise !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    214
    9
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
60
115
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kailua, HI
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Every rave review you have read is true. Il Canto del Sole provides beautiful, spacious accomodations with marvelous breakfasts (and dinners, if you're lucky enough to be there when Laura cooks), and is an ideal and peaceful location from which to explore most Tuscan hill towns. I will focus on the extraordinary spirit of service of the owners, Laura and Luciano. For us, that included before, during and after our stay in October.

We had reserved 8 days there, to arrive on a Sunday by train from the Cinque Terra. Then we would rent our car and drive to Il Canto del Sole. Later in my planning, I discovered that Hertz was closed on Sunday so I emailed Laura and Luciano to ask whether we should come on Saturday or Monday instead. Luciano immediately emailed that we were not to worry or change our plans, that he woud pick us up from the Siena train station, bring us to the B&B and then take us to get our rental car on Monday. What a relief his reassurance was at that point in our planning of a long trip!

As it turned out, due to a train strike at the last moment, we actually arrived one day earlier, on Saturday evening. Luciano picked us up, dropped us off at a nice restaurant for a much-needed meal, then picked us up and took us to Il Canto del Sole. On Sunday we had no car so Luciano dropped us off in Siena for the day, then picked us up again. On Monday morning he took us back to pick up our car and led us out of Siena.

On our morning of departure, Luciano took us to Hertz to return the rental car, then brought us back out to Il Canto del Sole. We stayed there (in our room which we had already checked out of) until it was time to catch our 5:45 P.M. bus to Assisi. He dropped us off at the Siena train station to catch that bus. We could have dropped off the car later or just have stayed in Siena after the initial car return but Laura had insisted that we come back to Il Canto del Sole to rest before our bus ride.

By the way, Laura arranged that bus for us by making several phone calls. She discovered that the Assisi arrival place (not actually Assisi) required a taxi to meet us so she reserved that also, and everything worked perfectly. All of these services by Laura and Luciano were done with no extra charges to us.

I don't mean to imply it should be taken for granted that Laura and Luciano supply unlimited concierge services but if you do have some complications, they are more that willing to help, and with a smile. I could go on and on but must stop now. Just know they are exceptional people who have created a truly fantastic experience for their guests. You will be so happy if you stay there!

Room Tip: We loved our room in the main house facing away from the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We had 3 great nights at Il Canto Del Sole. What an amazing location. The rooms are fantastic, with a communal breakfast area and lounge area. The property is large and even though there were all rooms full, you never really felt over-crowded. We had the home cooked dinner one night and boy oh boy was it plentiful and delicious. Laura does a great job and you can taste her love for cooking! Laura and Luciano were very helpful and we would definitely come back to their little piece of paradise. It's a short drive out of Siena, and easily accessible to Florence by car. If I had to recommend anything for improvement - maybe some flyscreens on the windows so you can open up the rooms without the bugs and also, something to soften the mattresses - seemed to be a common theme amongst some of the guests during our stay. With that said, I wouldn't want to take anything away from a venue that is just perfect!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

Luciano and Laura are the perfect example of how owners can make a place perfect. They are one of the most warm and caring B&B owners I have ever met. Their care for the guests well being and good time is endless. They will help in anything they can ( including offering a hot home made lasagna after midnight when we arrived exhausted and starved from the airport).
Rooms are very nice, specially as a family when we combined 2 rooms and a connecting kitchen/common room together. This allowed us to put our 2 kids to sleep and enjoy evening alone in the other 2 rooms.
Breakfast is amazing. Not less. The ricotta cake is one of a kind.
You MUST be there when Laura decides to make dinner for the guests. You will enjoy the dinner so much you will want to change plans to stay till the next one.
Location is very good- in the middle of Tuscany. There is a Coop supermarket about 10m driving in nearby town.
You can use the laundry machine and dryer for free .
I strolled every morning with our 4 month baby in the beautiful green fields around the farm.
We recommend it very much for couples and families alike.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

My partner and I decided to end our two week trip in Italy with a 3 day stay at Il Canto Del Sole and one of the reasons we chose it were all the great reviews and comments here on Trip Advisor!
We were not disappointed! All of our expectations were met and exceeded!
Loved our hosts Laura and Luciano and can't wait to go back!
Ellen & Kathy
Chicago

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We just returned from 16 days in Italy and 5 nights at the Il Canto Del Sole B&B (and farm). While the location (about 6 miles south of Siena) is superb for day trips anywhere in Tuscany and Umbria, it is warmth of it's hosts that made a lasting impression on the four of us in our group. Laura and Luciano bent over backwards for us during our stay there. The grounds and the countryside are fabulous. They had a play area for children (well away from the rooms) and we had use of a washer and dryer which was perfect since we were traveling with carry-ons only (best move ever - too many stairs everywhere). This place will only work for those that have rented a car since you are outside the city, but if you want to see the real Tuscany I would suggest a car anyways.

We stayed in the newer building adjacent to the saltwater swimming pool. Each room was HUGE and very well maintained. Since we had booked 2 rooms we had use of the entry/common room that connects the two of them to the outside. This room had a table and chairs it's own access outside to the patio area, and kitchenette. Each room also had a door that led to a canopied patio which had nice landscaping seperating from the pool so it was very private.

The rooms where we stayed had air conditioning - very quite and with remote contol, TV, mini fridge armoire, chest of drawers, and a private bathroom. If you like firm beds you are going to love this place. The bathrooms had a spacious shower (by European standards) and very modern fixtures.

If you book here make sure you ask which night(s) Laura may be cooking - we made sure we were there, and it was the best meal we had in our 16 days in Italy bar none. It also helped that it was my 54th birthday and they went to the trouble of adding a personalized cake to their already fantastic desert selection.

We found the Il Canto Del Sole a wonderful oasis of calm in what can be a hectic vacation schedule. Away from the noisy cars, motor bikes AND CHURCH BELLS, I would highly recommend this place. I feel so strongly about this place and these people that this is the first review I have ever written - the story needed to be told.

With love from MN

Room Tip: If you are booking 2 rooms, ask for the rooms closest to the pool and you gain the additional bonus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

There aren't enough nice words to say about Laura and Luciano. There house is beautiful and they open it up to you as it is your own. The rooms were very spacious and comfortable. There are many places to relax (the terrace, patio, by the pool). The dinner that Laura and Luciano made for all of the guests that were there was probably the best that I had while in Italy. We had a great time with all of the guests that night. I would definately stay here again when visitng. The location is perfect, as it is close to Siena and we were able to make day trips to different cities with no problem. They offer a great variety for breakfast and you can help yourself to it all day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Il Canto del Sole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Canto del Sole

Address: Via Villa Canina, 1292, 53014 Monteroni d'Arbia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Monteroni d'Arbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Monteroni d'Arbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"IL CANTO DEL SOLE" is an old 18 th century Tuscan farmhouse. We have recently restored it, preserving all its original features. The Farmhouse offers 10 rooms, each furnished with the simple furniture originally found in them, which has been carefully restored.The rooms are all very light and airy and offer a complete range of facilities: satellite TV, fridge, bathroom with shower and hair dryer. Both structures are surrounded by around one hectare of shady gardens, immersed in the heart of the crete senesi countryside. They are just 10 km from Siena (Porta Romana) and 1 km from the "Grancia di Cuna" (a 13 th century fortified farmhouse on the Via Francigena). We offer our guests: a salt water swimming pool (7 x 14), children's play areas, a barbecue area and a panoramic terrace above our wine cellar, with views over the Val d'Arbia. During the winter, breakfast and dinner are served in a large dining room with a central fireplace, while during the summer, they are served in the external courtyard.A pool table and a selection of games are available to guests in the lemon room, adjacent to the lounge. In addition to cooking, we (Luciano and Laura) are at your complete disposal for any information or suggestions for walks, mountain biking, horse riding and car excursions. In addition to the gardens, we also have around three hectares of land where you will find our horses' paddocks, a small vineyard and vegetable crops grown exclusively for use by our family and our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Il Canto del Sole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Canto Del Sole Hotel Monteroni d`Arbia
Il Canto Del Sole Italy/Province Of Siena - Monteroni D'Arbia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Canto del Sole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.