We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Canto del Sole

Save Saved
You added Il Canto del Sole to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Il Canto del Sole
Via Villa Canina, 1292, 53014 Monteroni d'Arbia, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Surrey, BC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Laura and Luciano were so warm and helpful that our six days there exceeded our expectations. We expected shelter, food and directions to the sights of Tuscany; Laura and Luciano shared with us their love and passion for their homeland and their delight in helping in others.

The breakfasts are very good, the accommodation spotless and charming, and it's located close to the areas we like best in Tuscany. However, it's the people that make it. Thank you!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    215
    9
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
60
115
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We had a lovely stay at Il Canto del Sole this past July. Laura and Luciano are so friendly and welcoming; we stayed for four nights but could have easily stayed longer. There is a beautiful pool, and my kids loved the dogs, the chicken, and the ping pong table they found in the garden. It is close enough to Siena to go in and spend the day, then come back and swim and relax in a quiet, beautiful setting.

Breakfast choices were large and varied, and we very much enjoyed the dinner we had at the B&B, too. All the guests were happy and relaxed, and we enjoyed getting to know travelers from around the world. We would return in a second!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

After two days in Rome and two days in Sorrento, we headed up to Il Canto del Sole for what was supposed to be a one night stay. We got there late--but Luciano was there waiting (patiently and with a warm welcome!). Within minutes of being shown our room and the property, we knew we wanted an extra night--and, had we known how great this b&b was, we would have booked a week! Luciano graciously booked us the extra night--and the next morning we were introduced to Laura and their son, Marco. We can't say enough good things about the location, the property, or the owners--lovely, welcoming, friendly. Luciano had made his own wine, and Laura generously gave us a bottle on our second night. It was delicious. My husband and son loved relaxing in the pool. As if the charming owners and extraordinary property were not enough, we were also charmed by their pets...especially their kitties, Clara and Mina, and were introduced to two of Mina's new kittens--if we could have taken them home in our suitcases, we would have! (The kittens, not Laura and Luciano, although they are welcome in our home anytime!). Great for families looking for a respite from busy city tours (or maybe a family reunion), couples looking for beautiful accomodations, or anyone looking to connect with a real Italian/Tuscan experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croton, NY
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We spent three nights at Il Canto del Sole. Laura, Luciano and Marco are perfect hosts. There were six of us in total and we had three lovely rooms. The salt water swimming pool was amazing. My husband was not feeling well while we were there and Laura and Luciano were extremely helpful and supportive. Fortunately he recovered quickly and all was well. Two people in our party ate dinner there one night and enjoyed their meal. The property is close to Sienna, Montepulciano, Pienza, and Montalcino. This is a great place to stay if you want to explore some of Tuscany or just to unwind and relax. The breakfast was wonderful. This is an excellent place for families and couples. We enjoyed our stay immensely!

Room Tip: All the rooms here are lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed in Il Canto del Sole for 3 nights during our vacation in Tuscany, and it was a real pleasure to live there and meet Laura and Luciano (the owners).

The room was super clean, and the service was personal and great. You get the feeling that they really WANT to help you, not just that they should/have to. The pool was great, the property was great, the service, food, rooms and nature was great.

It's a 15 minutes drive by car to Siena centre, but it's so worth it. It's agreat place to stay to see Siena and the area in southern Tuscany (wine tasting, mountain villages).

If you go there (and you should), stay for the dinner one evening (at least). Laura and Luciano are great cooks, and it's just that unique italian expereince that you will not get from a restaurant in the cities. Ask Laura to cook a simple pasta one night! Great food!

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Lovliest agratourismo with warm, welcoming hosts. The grounds and the rooms are wonderful and the saltwater pool was a bonus. We ate dinner there one night (they cook for the guests about once/week) and it was one of our best dining experiences in Italy. Each morning we enjoyed a breakfast of homemade Italian cakes, fresh fruit, continental fare, and made to order eggs upon request. An amazing experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Beautiful, friendly, spacious, hospitable, great food, relaxing, gorgeous sunrises, magnificent night skies. I can not imagine a better experience. The hosts made us feel like part of their family.

There was a pool, small playground for young children, a pool table, and lots of areas for relaxing. The room including the bathroom was spacious with a great view. You will need a car but with a car the hotel is located so that Siena and the hill towns are easy day trips.

Ten minutes from the hotel is a fabulous pizzeria/restaurant. Sorry I forgot the name but Luciano will be happy to help. When you reach the main road turn right.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Il Canto del Sole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Canto del Sole

Address: Via Villa Canina, 1292, 53014 Monteroni d'Arbia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Monteroni d'Arbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Monteroni d'Arbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"IL CANTO DEL SOLE" is an old 18 th century Tuscan farmhouse. We have recently restored it, preserving all its original features. The Farmhouse offers 10 rooms, each furnished with the simple furniture originally found in them, which has been carefully restored.The rooms are all very light and airy and offer a complete range of facilities: satellite TV, fridge, bathroom with shower and hair dryer. Both structures are surrounded by around one hectare of shady gardens, immersed in the heart of the crete senesi countryside. They are just 10 km from Siena (Porta Romana) and 1 km from the "Grancia di Cuna" (a 13 th century fortified farmhouse on the Via Francigena). We offer our guests: a salt water swimming pool (7 x 14), children's play areas, a barbecue area and a panoramic terrace above our wine cellar, with views over the Val d'Arbia. During the winter, breakfast and dinner are served in a large dining room with a central fireplace, while during the summer, they are served in the external courtyard.A pool table and a selection of games are available to guests in the lemon room, adjacent to the lounge. In addition to cooking, we (Luciano and Laura) are at your complete disposal for any information or suggestions for walks, mountain biking, horse riding and car excursions. In addition to the gardens, we also have around three hectares of land where you will find our horses' paddocks, a small vineyard and vegetable crops grown exclusively for use by our family and our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Il Canto del Sole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Canto Del Sole Hotel Monteroni d`Arbia
Il Canto Del Sole Italy/Province Of Siena - Monteroni D'Arbia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Canto del Sole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.