We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect Tuscan escape!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Giovanni in Poggio

Save Saved
You added San Giovanni in Poggio to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
San Giovanni in Poggio
Via di San Martino 2775b, 53014 Monteroni d'Arbia, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
moneglia
1 review
“The perfect Tuscan escape!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

My husband and I spent four lovely days at San Giovanni in Poggio in February and we are looking forward to returning next year. The location is sensational with it's beauty and tranquillity and the surrounding, inimitable rolling Tuscan landscape for as far as the eye can see. For star watchers it is a revelation and one can even see Siena in the distance. The house is lovingly restored, has no near neighbors and is convenient for exploring the small hill towns of Tuscany. Francesco is the perfect host and immediately makes one feel completely at home. Just writing this review makes me wish that I were back there once again.
Patricia Azaro

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    85
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
28
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Netherlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We had an amazing time at San Giovanni in Poggio. The view and location are just amazing!
Francesco and Arber are really nice hosts, we got a lot of good tips for dinner and where to get amazing Brunello. We took quite a nice quantity home! And that's when we were so happy we decided to drive, instead of flying... ;)
The accomodation is excellent, and the view from the pool area is amazing, especially when around sunset the flock of sheep that wanders around the property comes over the hill, with bells and all, and the sun slowly sinks down the hill. We surely will return, probably sooner than we will drink the Brunello ;)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

San Giovanni in Poggio was even more beautiful and serene that I could have imagined. We spent 10 days there, with Francesco (the owner) as our trusted advisor for winetasting, restaurants, local shops/groceries, and day trips in Tuscany. Everything about the visit exceeded our expectations, and the apartment we inhabited (Crepuscolo / "Dusk") was beautiful, tranquil, and well-appointed. The radiant floor heating, wi-fi, tv, fireplace, outdoor grill, dishwasher, clothes washing machine, stove/oven and round-the-clock hot water were all flawless. We had our own Italian villa with the most gorgeous views and friendly townspeople in nearby Monteroni D'Arbia. Franceso provided a lot of help during our trip, and his list of must-visit restaurants was right on target.

This place is a 15-minute drive from Siena, with about 3 km of well-maintained country road leading to a 2-lane divided highway for another 9 km or so. I recommend parking in "Il Campo" for visits to Siena. We took side trips to Certaldo (Annie Adair's tour, highly recomended!), San Gimignano, Volterra (cooking class by Guiseppina Pizzolato), Montalcino (where you can bring your own bottle of wine to many restaurants), San Giovanni d'Asso (truffle museum, olive oil harvesting nearby), and Monteroni d'Arbia's own Il Borgo for artisanal salumi and fresh meats.

If you plan to reserve SGiP for the twice-annual Palio horserace (2 July/16 August), you'll want to book in January to make sure there's space.

Room Tip: Crepuscolo had gorgeous sunset views. You can hear the soft bells of sheep being called to dinner, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Heaven on Earth may sound a bit hyperbolic, but nothing else could describe our stay at San Giovanni in Poggio. My wife and I spent our honeymoon there the first two weeks of September 2012. The booking process, payment and email communication with Tomasso was professional and thorough. Communication with Francesco the week prior was the same. Upon arrival we were greeted by Francesco and a big plate of figs he picked from his own trees. We knew right then and there we were in special hands! Arber's guidance and engaging personality were a particular joy! All of the reviews on Trip Advisor are spot on; this place is truly special.

The location is perfect for taking day trips all over Tuscany; nothing is out of reach, not even the sea. Although you can travel far, there's no need. Everything within 30km is fantastic! Siena, Montalcino, Montalpuciano, Pienza, San Giovanni D'Asso, San Giamaggiano, Chianti, it's all an easy and picturesque drive away. Between these places you will find dozens of wonderful sites not even mentioned in the travel guides.

Although we intended to use San Giovanni as a home base, it's charm and beauty stole the show every day. Each trip down the 2km driveway the local residents bid hello; from the grazing flock of local sheep and their attending sheep dogs to the European Jays, falcon, deer, pheasant and hare. This is Tuscany in it's most natural and handsome state.

As a professional chef, I cannot say enough about the region. We were lucky enough to catch a local porcini festival in Pievescola (thanks to Francesco!) the Tuscan honey festival in Montalcino, and the Truffle Museum in San Giovanni D'Asso. Forget what you think you know about Pecorino cheese, Brunello, Chianti, olive oil, salumi and Pici pasta. you can't walk 100 feet without tripping over all of it, and all of it better than anything you've ever tasted. Whatever you do, make sure to try the Riccarelli cookies, a Siena specialty. We're on our 3rd attempt at replicating them in the states.

Every restaurant Francesco and Arber recommended was fantastic. We only encountered welcoming and eager to please service. Our Italian is terrible, but we really tried, and they returned the favor with speaking much better English. Everyone was very helpful.

Words really can't do this place justice. You'll see when you get there. We can't wait to go back!

Buon viaggio!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoutleeuw, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We were here for one week and it was the perfect place to relax.
Super location in a very beautifull landscape (excellent for mountainbiking) and a great service from the owners. Whatever you ask Francesco he arrange it or gives excellent adresses (The winetasting in the Cantina Museo di Montalcino in Torrenieri is an example).
The rooms and swimming pool are perfect.

If you want to discover Tuscan this is a perfect place. We certainly will come back

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drogheda
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We spent 9 nights in San Giovanni in Poggio during August 2012 with our three children (aged 8,10 and 12) and it is one of the most relaxing holidays we've ever had. The location is simply stunning with beautiful views of the Crete, rolling hills as far as the eye can see and in the evenings the most beautiful sunsets. At night while sitting on our sun terrace or looking out our bedroom window we could clearly see the lights of Siena twinkling in the distance and it was just magical listening to the crickets chirping in the fields around the farmhouse. The apartment is furnished to an extremely high standard with beautiful fixtures and tiling throughout. The decor is very well chosen with lots of lovely touches like the beautiful painting by Francesco's wife on the main wall and the gorgeous antique style beds and bedroom furnishings. The apartment even had a dishwasher and washing machine for us to use. The swimming pool and surroundings are beautifully clean and well kept and the short drive to town to the local supermarket meant we could stock up on food easily. Even though it is only 10 minutes drive from town, once you head out of town through the hills you're in paradise with only stunning scenery for miles and miles. Arber and Francesco opened the reception everyday and were always extremely helpful and friendly and provided us with lots of maps and brochures to ensure we made the most of our trip. Definitely a location to return to, again and again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We spent a part of honey moon in San Giovanni in Poggio. And i t was the perfect choice for Tuscan area.Everything is better than what they showed in the pictures.Owner Francesco is very nice and helpful and his hospitality was great.Rooms, pool and location with the amazing view , everything is perfect. For sure we will visit again...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to San Giovanni in Poggio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Giovanni in Poggio

Address: Via di San Martino 2775b, 53014 Monteroni d'Arbia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Monteroni d'Arbia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Specialty lodging in Monteroni d'Arbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your San Giovanni in Poggio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Giovanni In Poggio Italy/Province Of Siena - Monteroni D'Arbia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Giovanni in Poggio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.