We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Old House, Lovely Owner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Vicarage

Save Saved
You added The Old Vicarage to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Old Vicarage
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Main St, Kellington DN14 0NE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Kellington B&B and Inns
Oxfordshire
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Lovely Old House, Lovely Owner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

The village is surrounded by power stations south of York, but when in the village you don't see any of that. The house is lovely and feels like a home with lounges with antiques and pictures and photographs. My wife loved the atmosphere. The B&B is run by an elderly lady who was genuinly nice to talk to. She has little help and this means that you get a quirky experience. The room was nicely furnished with a lovely picture window view over the garden. It had a shower rather than a bath. The bathroom had soap but nothing else. This wasn't a problem as i had brought my washbag ( who wouldn't) I tried the TV which didn't work and could have/should have reported it but didn't need the TV so didn't. The bed was soft but not uncomfortable. Although the walls were not soundproofed this didn't concern me and there was no noise at all in the night to disturb. We had a peaceful nights sleep. In the evening we drove 20 minutes to a lovely family run italian restaurant near York - It was like being back in Italy. The breakfast in the morning was good. We had a slight wait but it was hot and nicely presented. It tasted good and we had a mixture of toasts. One other resident told us to not worry too much about whether they got the order right or not. In fact it was perfect.

Overall this B&B had a lovely character and atmosphere. The owner is doing really well to run it with the help she has and if I needed to stay near/in York again I would certainly consider staying again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    11
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
5
28
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Banbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed here with friends for another friends wedding at Drax, room was really nice and super comfortable.

Breakfast was lovely too.

Slightly dizzy but lovely old lady in charge, but speaking honestly she was definitely part of what made the visit very special!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Stayed one night in July to be close to York (20 mins drive to Park&Ride). Nice B&B in a centre of rural village location, but set in its own grounds. We had a large attic room, full of character, with good, modern shower/bathroom. Wifi, TV all worked well. Wanted an earlier, light breakfast which they happily provided. One bonus is the easy, secure parking in this type of location (compared with a town B&B in York itself). We had meal in nearby pub, but a list is provided of other options to eat out in the area. Good stopover for York region. Beware! Mobile speed cameras v active in the area and throughout Yorks (we came across 4 in a week in Yorkshire).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derby
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

this is a lovely old building and we were booked in for 2 nights. now for the but, we only stayed 1 night and then checked out and went elsewhere. when we arrived, at about 6 pm, we went to our room opened the door, the room hadn't been made up from the night before. went down to complain and the second they tried had also not been made up. we agreed to take a bath and the room would be made up while we were out. there was very little hot water so we had a cool bath.

Room Tip: try elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Booked into the Old Vicarage through Late Rooms.com so was a little worried in case it didn't meet with the pictures on the website. I shouldn't have worried. It was excellent and the location was just right as we were attending a family birthday party at another hotel in Telford. The owners were very welcoming and even booked our taxi to take us to the party!
I booked two rooms and both were really lovely. Clean and well maintained with tea/coffe making facilites. The room even had it's own mini fridge and microwave!!!
We would definately visit the Old Vicarage again and use it as a base to explore the outlining areas.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

The decor was very dated! My bathroom was slightly dirty and there was fluff on the bed!
Breakfast was not to my taste & didn't start till 9.15 - quite late!
The price wasn't justified atoll!
Over all - disappointing

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlington, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Stayed here for my birthday weekend. Well situated for York (20 minutes drive - but use park and ride). Do not be put off by the many cooling towers nearby, once you are in village it is a lovely setting and none are visible. The property are grounds are lovely - I felt like I was in Jane Austen novel. However, all the "little extras" were missing.

Only a few sachets of tea and coffee. No hot chocolate, herbal teas, real milk, biscuits. Two very small shower gels, but no other toiletries. Only the bare minimum of quite small towels.

The breakfast was satisfactory, but nothing like some we have had in other B and Bs for similar prices. The menus for information for neighbouring restaurants are well out of date.

Notwithstanding the above, we had a lovely time in York and the owner was very welcoming. I would describe the accommodation as satisfactory, but somewhat lacking for any sort of special occasion.

Room Tip: Ask to overlook the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Old Vicarage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Vicarage

Address: Main St, Kellington DN14 0NE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Kellington
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kellington
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Vicarage 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your The Old Vicarage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Vicarage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.