We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight break in Yorkshire” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Vicarage

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Old Vicarage to your Saves list
The Old Vicarage
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Main St, Kellington DN14 0NE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Kellington B&B and Inns
Hoylake, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Overnight break in Yorkshire”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We chose this location as we were visiting friends in Beverley.Very clean, very quiet and an excellent host for which nothing too much trouble. The hotel doubles up as the owners house and has many personal touches which adds to its charm

Room Tip: make sure you view the downstairs living rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    11
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
5
28
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

We liked the room and bathroom we had been given. It was large, comfortable and clean with everything we needed. We had to turn the heating on when we arrived though as this had not been turned on. We got a warm welcome from the lady of the house and she was very friendly throughout our stay. Unfortunately though the breakfast was not very good. I could not drink the orange juice as it tasted strange, and I noticed the other couple in the dining room had left theirs as well. It was also a pity not to have some fresh fruit available instead of tinned grapefruit segments all the time. Some of the food of the cooked breakfast arrived cold on the plates. We were not asked if we would like white or brown toast, and the first day got white bread that had not been properly toasted. It's really a shame about the breakfast as, with a little more care taken, this could be a really good bed and breakfast place.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conwy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We had the most fantastic time. The old vicarage has a beautiful and relaxing atmosphere. The wonderful lady who owns it made it even more special. We were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary and she went above and beyond to make our stay memorable. Thank you.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

If you are staying away, whether for business or pleasure, a good night's sleep is the least to hope for. Mine was sabotaged by the proprietor stupidly leaving the downstairs TV on, loud. At 2.40am, ready to punch what I thought was a mindless guest, I found it in the kitchen and turned it off. That, and the accompaniment of the man snoring next door (thin walls), lost me half the night.
Viewed more objectively, this is a 2.8 at best, rounded up. The room was small, heating turned off overnight, no desk or table to work at; the suggestion of biscuits and towels in each room seems to have been misheard as "biscuity towels". No fresh fruit at breakfast, frozen butter, cereal out but no milk, marmalade that tasted of cough medicine. I did not have the cooked breakfast, I grew tired of repeating everything to the aged lady who was very polite and apologetic, but perhaps not fully able to cope.
So, if you are deaf as a post and impervious to cold, don't mind staying somewhere that smells of old people and enjoy the local landscape of power stations and poverty, you may like this place. Otherwise, drive a bit further or save money and sleep in your car.

Room Tip: Somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I like it here. me and wife visit here to get some alone time, having kids can take away your freedom, but a good escape with the mrs is here. The rooms are very clean and this is a fantastic place to visit. booking the room was simple and fast unlike others we have visiting.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hue
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

The house is fantastic and Kellington itself is a nice village with a good surrounding area. Christine is a very hospitable owner and really makes you feel welcome. Room was small but ideal for me with a lovely décor. Would recommend for a weekend getaway.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
widne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We had a lovely time, (3 nights) at the Old Vicarage in Kellington, very convenient for visiting the National Trust properties, loved speaking to Christine the owner, a very good hostess. Breakfast was excellent as was the bedroom; all in all we had a great break, and would certainly go back again. We enjoyed the local Italian restaurant at Christine's recommendation.

Room Tip: We were in room 9 which had a good view of the garden. A lovely room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Vicarage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Vicarage

Address: Main St, Kellington DN14 0NE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Kellington
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kellington
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Vicarage 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Old Vicarage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Vicarage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.