We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy location and good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostellerie du Fin Chapon

Hostellerie du Fin Chapon
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Excideuil
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostellerie du Fin Chapon
Save
You added Hostellerie du Fin Chapon to your Saves list
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 place du Chateau, 24160 Excideuil, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Excideuil
Kenmare, Ireland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Handy location and good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2011

Stayed here in order to be near to a friend's holiday home. I booked via email then telephone to confirm the credit card details. The rooms overlook the terrace / dining area and street. The restuarant was busy during the evenings. The food was OK but nothing to get too excited about. Rooms were adequate in terms of bed and space. Bathroom was shower only Wifi access was fee paying via Orange and worked out OK value over several days. Staff were helpful and spoke sufficient English to make the stay an easy one. Did not have breakfast so could not comment, we preferred to collect pastries from the bakery across the road then head to our friends. Hard to find decent takeaway coffee anywhere. Big supermarket nearby for water etc Nice spot for exploring area. I would recommend the hotel if you need somewhere for a short stay otherwise booking a self catering holiday home for a week would probably be preferable.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    6
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
4
8
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2011

The hotel is much improved now with new owners. The restaurant is GREAT. would probably go back more times to eat then to stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

Stayed in this hotel with my boyfriend while attending a friend's wedding nearby. When we arrived (on a sunday) the whole place was closed up and we got a little worried! however we rang the number and were told our key could be found on the windowsill and to let ourselves in!! found this a little strange but our room was lovely as was our bathroom, clean and spacious.
Breakfast is pretty basic but it's cheap.
Lovely little town and would recommend the fin chapon for your stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnac-Pompadour, France
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2007

An ideal hotel for a break while exploring northern dordogne. Spotlessly clean and very reasonable rates.

Although it was built in 1751 recent renovations have resulted in the interior transformed into modern decor. with a lovely bright restaurant.

Attentive and helpful staff, The menu has a very large choice of dishes with good choice of regional wines . Meals can also be taken on terrace.............the food was absolutely delicious.

Would definitely recommend this hotel!

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostellerie du Fin Chapon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie du Fin Chapon

Address: 3 place du Chateau, 24160 Excideuil, France
Location: France > Aquitaine > Dordogne > Excideuil
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Excideuil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostellerie du Fin Chapon 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This old postal-relay inn was built in 1751. The establishment was an essential place in the city life. Entirely renovated in 2005, it has received 2 stars. The restaurant provides with traditional and regional cuisine, as well as quiet quality rooms. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostellerie du Fin Chapon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.