We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Little B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chambres d'hotes L'Amartinierre- Somme

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Courcelles-au-Bois
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chambres d'hotes L'Amartinierre- Somme
Save
You added Chambres d'hotes L'Amartinierre- Somme to your Saves list
1 Rue de Mailly-Maillet | Albert, 80560 Courcelles-au-Bois, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Norwich
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Little B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Would just like to say a big thank you to Christine our host, Myself and my son completed yet another Battlefield tour of the Somme which we do on a regular basis. We have stayed in many different establishments over the years but now we have found the best and we intend to return again next year.We recieved a warm welcome and were then shown our accomodation which was perfect for our trip, (The most comforable beds ever in our twin room), We had use of the kitchen which was perfect for our needs.Continental style breakfast was provided at whichever time suited us.The courtyard is ideal for off street parking and security. Fantastic value for money, a real bargain.The area is ideal for seeing the Somme battlefields. Choose this one, as we think its great and we will return. Thanks again Christine see you again next year !!!!!!!.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    10
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
12
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newlyn, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I have stayed here twice this year and will be going back there again in February.The rooms are beautiful and clean with lovely comfortable beds.The place is so peaceful and quiet you can really relax and enjoy a wonderful nights sleep.Christine is delightful and speaks perfect English - nothing is too much trouble for her and she always comes across to have a chat and make sure everything is ok.Having the dining room and self catering option is great and if you want breakfast Christine will provide this.As a base for exploring the Somme it is excellent and am looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We have stayed here twice before (forgot to review after our March 2012 stay) and have two further stays booked for October. We cannot get over the peace and quiet here which lets us have an evening reflecting on our daytime travels, an undisturbed sleep and a lay in before breakfast. The use of the kitchen and fridge means that we can self cater in the evening at our own pace with our own food and coffee. The breakfast suits us too, usually including a chat with Christine and the other guests who, like us never seem in a hurry to rush breakfast to get on with their day's projects. Again, like us, many guests are regular visitors here. The secure courtyard is a benefit. There is an adequate supermarket and petrol ten minutes and two villages away, (that is the rural charm), If Albert is your thing then, again 10 minutes drive. We think this B&B is value for money, Christine is charming with perfect English and we are looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lamartinierre, Owner at Chambres d'hotes L'Amartinierre- Somme, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear guests and friends
Thank you so much for your review ,... it is such a relief to read something honest which restores the truth ... I am so happy to welcome you back tomorrow ! Have a nice and safe journey x x x x x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

Arrived late evening after long drive. Expected cosy b & b, but was met with cobwebs and spiders like a scene from the Addams Family! There was dust and hairs on the bedside table, the bathroom needed a refit and not very clean. Just not what we expected. So spent the next hour phoning around for somewhere to stay. Made a hasty retreat !!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lamartinierre, Owner at Chambres d'hotes L'Amartinierre- Somme, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
I was well aware that, among all the guests we welcome, it would necessarily happen one day that we have to face dishonest, insulting or hysterical persons, even if we try the best we can to please everyone ... but to get all these simultaneously in the same person!
It was truly a nightmare ...
Thank God that other reviews restore the truth !

I wish to thank again all the other guests for their kind reviews and to tell them that we will be so happy to welcome them again, whenever they fancy. All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Just returned home after two nights staying here to immerse ourselves in WW1 on way home from Southern France. Our two families of four fitted in perfectly and the kitchen diner, big beds, lovely dog and football playing son were all real bonuses. Christine was great and looked after us so well. Although in a little village we were amazed by the silence at night.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woking surrey
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We spent one night here on our way south, Christine greeted us very warmly with amazing English. Our room was upstairs large pretty and quiet, the b&b is situated in a rural location with fields and wildlife all around. The restaurant recommendation Christine gave us was great ( see my review for La Basilique in Albert ) The b&b is excellent value for money but I thought the breakfast really let it down hence the average rating - I would not expect cheese, ham and an array of speciality breads in a simple chambre d'hote but the croissants were cold chewy and flattened and the homemade bread so hard and solid slicing was difficult. With a bread maker it would have been so easy to provide warm fresh bread and raise the level 100%. There were another 3 guests staying so the fresh loaf would not have been wasted.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lamartinierre, Propriétaire at Chambres d'hotes L'Amartinierre- Somme, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Dear guests,

I wish to apologize for the home made bread.This temporary problem has been solved since then.
In fact we ran out of flour and the shop where we usually buy our best quality flour was closed for summer holidays so we had to buy some from the supermarket... We've done the same measuring-out but the result was not the same :(

If you had reported this directly to me, i would have gone to the bakery and buy another bread.

As for the pastries, i try to change and propose different things each day: it can be waffles, croissants, pound cake, pains au chocolat etc...according to the oppotunities but never home made; with 3 young children and the B&B (departures and arrivals most of the time every day) time is too short
and to get fresh croissants every day, i would have to ask more than 47 euros / night for 2 persons.
Hope you understand and we will be happy to welcome you another time, always with warmth and kindness ;) kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

we stayed in this b & b last week and found Christine very welcoming and accomodating. The room was adequate and clean. it was good to have the use of all the kitchen facilities. nothing was too much trouble and we were able to come and go as we pleased. I would highly recommend this place to anyone who wanted a clean relaxed stay. very quiet at night and slept really well.

Room Tip: The Neptune room is larger then Orca room and has a double bed -- Orca room has twin beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chambres d'hotes L'Amartinierre- Somme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chambres d'hotes L'Amartinierre- Somme

Address: 1 Rue de Mailly-Maillet | Albert, 80560 Courcelles-au-Bois, France
Location: France > Picardy > Somme > Courcelles-au-Bois
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Courcelles-au-Bois
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly welcome in our lovely typical farm-house in WW1 battlefields area; 10km from THIEPVAL, 14 km from ALBERT & POZIERES, 25km from Villers Bretonneux.Independant guest house with 3 romantic en-suite bedrooms overlooking a deer park + KITCHEN/living room. FREE WIFI. Fluent English ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chambres D'hotes L'Amartinierre- Somme Courcelles-Au-Bois, France

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chambres d'hotes L'Amartinierre- Somme, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.