We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique and Wonderful Spa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Termas de Papallacta

Save Saved
You added Termas de Papallacta to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Termas de Papallacta
Km 65 via Baeza, Papallacta, Ecuador   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Papallacta
Frenchtown, New Jersey
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Unique and Wonderful Spa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed here for one evening during our trip through Ecuador and it was a wonderful experience. The grounds and views are breathtaking and Termas de Papallacta is a wonderful place to relax and feel pampered. We enjoyed the semi private thermal pools outside of our room. We spent time in the private bath area and we had all of the baths to ourselves so we moved from one to the next to try each of them. The baths are emptied and cleaned everyday and I certainly appreciate this. The Turkish bath is actually quite nice and they did quite a job with our massages. The altitude is high and one traveler became quite ill. We were prescribed altitude medication by our travel doctor prior to our trip and this may have made a difference for us. They serve coca tea but that isn't enough to treat real altitude sickness. I recommend Termas de Papallacta.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    130
    106
    28
    14
    5
See reviews for
61
127
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Québec
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This was our 2nd stay at this hotel.
We still liked being in this environment of mountains sitting in the bathroom. The environment is superb, we still made magnificent hiking reserve Cayambe Coca. We crossed the reserve with our rental car up to the entrance to the Park at 3800 meters and walk to see the lagoons. 2 Years ago we had the Osso Pic with a guide, but the sky was too foggy this year. I add a star this year since the hotel was warm and friendly. The fireplace was lit in the bar and the room was hot. The last time it froze in the hotel, and the fire was not working yet we were about at the same time. The wi - fi worked also very well. 2 Years ago the connection was bad.
The breakfast is expensive but the server served us according to our special request.
The reception gave us also a other room according to our request.
So rest and excellent service!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This is a very basic hotel. The rooms are very simple -bathroom very basic and pretty lacking in amenities.In all this was the worst hotel we stayed in througout our South America Trip. Food was bland and not that great.Pretty much no customer service.

I did however enjoy the thermal pools next to my room.Otherwise it would have been a non starter completely.The complaint I also had with the thermal baths is that the hotel saved the best pools for the spa which was an extra fee to use. They were in a nicer setting and deeper.
However with the rain falling and the surrounding cloud forest -sitting in the thermal bath felt very relaxing and enjoyable.
Shame the hotel could not have been better. One night for us was plenty-we were glad to be leaving the next day.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I spent my 40th birthday here and I have to say it is without a doubt one of the most amazing places I have ever been too. The landscape, the views, the thermal springs and the 5 star service was simply like being in paradise. One night wasn't enough. I also had the most amazing full body massage. The cabin was clean and so cosy with the fireplace. I spent midnight in the private pools outside the cabins under the midnight stars. I simply cant recommend it enough the staff were amazing. Every time you walked up to a door they were there to open it and couldn't be more helpful. Such a good price for such quality. Whenever I go back to visit family I will always be going herae without a doubt. The best way I could of ever imagined for turning 40! Thank you Termas Papallacta!!!

Room Tip: Cabins for families beautiful with fireplaces even if there are not 6 of you as secluded and cosy an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We spent a wonderful and relaxing New Year's Day here - we soaked, massaged, ate, swam, relaxed and just loved the view. Soaking in a hot tub with cows looking down at you . We were only there for a day - but we loved it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guayaquil, Ecuador
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

What a relaxing and calm atmosphere! The rooms surround the thermal water pools. It is so peaceful and makes you forget the busy city life. You can go into the pools at any time of day or night. Try at midnight and what a sensation; more so if you have clear skies and the stars are all up there. Also you can spot the Antisana on a sunny and clear day. Rooms are very comfortable, ample, clean and nice bathroom as well. It is a 60 km drive from Quito; the road is being reconstructed and should be ready within a year or so. I coul not drive there but took a taxi and cost me $ 50 each way; not bad at all. Highly recommended experience!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

The hotel has thermal pools throughout the property and they also have a very nice and big spa with many services. I had a facial that was awesome. Our room had a very large jacuzzi--the jacuzzi water also came from the thermal waters so it was great to seat on your own thermal pool. No a/c in the rooms, but none was needed because the temperature was very pleasant.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem nice. There were 34 people in our escorted tour and we heard no complaints.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Termas de Papallacta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Termas de Papallacta

Address: Km 65 via Baeza, Papallacta, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Napo Province > Papallacta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Papallacta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Termas de Papallacta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Termas De Papallacta Hotel Quito
Termas De Papallacta Quito

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Termas de Papallacta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.