We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the place to stay when in Maremma” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Azienda Agrituristica Le Macchie Alte

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Azienda Agrituristica Le Macchie Alte to your Saves list
Azienda Agrituristica Le Macchie Alte
Loc. Poderi di Montemerano, 58014 Manciano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Italy
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“the place to stay when in Maremma”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

The location is great if you want to visit this part of Toscana (necessarily with the car). The place is very, very nice, with also a pool for the summer time. The quality of the products (most home made) is very good.
In this place they kept the old habit of the "agriturismi" to have one single table with all the guests and the owner.
As a minor drawback, the rooms might need some small improvement; they are nice, with a crountryside style but, for example, in my room they only had two plugs availables or other minor, minor stuff as this one.
I suggest a visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    42
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
53
79
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We spent 4 nights here with our 10-year-old daughter in late July 2013 and had a wonderful time. We had been to Tuscany before but never this far south and really enjoyed this quieter, less touristy part of the region. The grounds are beautifully situated on a smaller hilltop with views to the south of Manciano and to the north of Montemerano, both lovely towns that we explored and where we had lunch on separate days. We had a little trouble finding the inn but that was because we relied on the GPS in our rental car. Looking back on our arrival, if we had just followed the directions on the inn's website, we think we would have found it without much trouble. Our room was spacious, clean, and quiet with an effective ceiling fan that kept us cool at night (temps during the day were in the 90s but cooled off to the high 60s at night). Because of the heat during the day we were thankful for the shade of the large tree by the building that kept our room bearable even without the fan. We heard from other guests who stayed in the building with the kitchen that their rooms never really cooled down at night. The food was outstanding. Dinner consisted of 4 locally sourced, home-cooked courses and included tasty local red wine and a choice of aperitif. Some of the more memorable dishes were ricotta soup, pasta with wild boar sauce, farro salad. Breakfast included yogurt, cereal, ricotta cheese, breads, fruits, jams, coffee/tea and eggs and bacon upon request. The only issue with the dining was the late seating for dinner (8:30pm) that challenged our daughter who is usually in bed by then. The pool was a perfect place to wind down the afternoon and take in the views of Manciano on the distant hilltop. We went for a long walk on the grounds one evening through the surrounding fields and woods - there are two paths to choose from - and then the next day rode horses along the same path. We are not experienced horseback riders and had expected more of a lesson before we headed off the trail but we made it back just fine. The guide spoke only Italian, so even if we had wanted lessons, it would have proven difficult. During the day we explored the neighboring towns, enjoyed the pool and the grounds, and on one day we drove one hour to the coast to explore the beaches. We had planned to go to the Natural Park of Maremma but based on the advice of other guests at the inn, we went a bit south of there to the lovely beach at Feniglia where we also rented bikes and rode through the piney woods bordering the beach. We could easily imagine coming back to explore more of the sights that we didn't get to see. Perhaps one of the strongest endorsements of this inn is that all of the other guests whom we met were back for at least their 2nd visit. It is hard not to meet others staying at the inn because there is communal seating for breakfast and dinner. Our only regret is that we didn't have more time to unwind. Those 4 days were without a doubt the most relaxing 4 days of 2013 for us and we're eager to get back one day.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macchiealte, Responsabile reception at Azienda Agrituristica Le Macchie Alte, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Gentlemen,
thank you for the kind words that you have dedicated.
We hope to see you again in the future to visit all the other places that you have not seen yet.
A dear greeting,
Sara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I really enjoyed the location and enjoyed the beautifull views from the hilltop. The room was clean but basic, breakfast typic Italian (limited choice) but all with products from the farm! The honey, marmelade and grappa of Macchie Alte is amazing and also the italian home cooked diner was delicious! I recommend this agriturismo for every one who is looking for some peace and quite in a lovely surrounding.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ninove, Belgium
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We really enjoyed the quite location and enjoyed the beautifull views from the hilltop!
Nice pool, rooms are clean but basic, breakfast typic Italian (limited choice) but all with products from the farm! The honey and grappa of Maccie Alte is to die for!! :-)
We had the option to dine at the agriturismo for a small price: a nice Italian home cooked diner!

We recommend this agriturismo for every one who is looking for some peace and quite in a lovely surrounding!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We spent a week at Le Macchie Alte and had a wonderful stay in the Tuscan countryside. Our children (7 and 9) loved the rural setting on top of a hill between two old tuscan towns. The rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable and the home cooked food was excellent. We opted for the half board option and were treated to a different menu every night, consisting of succulent home-cooked Tuscan dishes (much of the food was produced on the farm itself). The staff were friendly and especially Sara who was very helpful and gave us alot of useful advice about places to visit etc.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

We where there with my 4 yr. old and my 9 months child. The entire estate is perfect for children to run around without having to worry of where they go. Animals (horses, cows, pigs, dogs and cats) for them to play with.
the rooms are spacious and clean. The dinners where excellent. High quality food and huge portions!
The place is very close to the thermal baths. Only negative point: don't go there if you you get car sick and suffer the curves! The roads are very windy.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vlissingen, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

After a few days travelling Tuscany we had some perfect days at Macchie Alte. It's a beautiful place, with beautiful surroundings, but most of all a fantastic crew! The staff was very friendly, and dinner and breakfast was really delicious! You can visit a few very nice villages (Sorano, Pitigliano), the "Tarot Garden" near Capalbio, and the beaches at Monte Argentario. One word: fantastic!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Azienda Agrituristica Le Macchie Alte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azienda Agrituristica Le Macchie Alte

Address: Loc. Poderi di Montemerano, 58014 Manciano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Manciano
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 76 Specialty Lodging in Manciano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Macchie Alte is an organic estate of 420 ha where we rear Maremman Cattle and Cinta Senese pigs. You'll find a lovely swimming pool and nature itineraries. Here you'll have dinner in the veranda on large wooden tables: our cooks have a lifetime of experience in preparating traditional Maremman recipes.You'll find that getting away from it all is not very far away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Azienda Agrituristica Le Macchie Alte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azienda Agrituristica Le Macchie Alte Italy/Tuscany - Manciano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Azienda Agrituristica Le Macchie Alte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.