We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort and Authenticity in Southern Tuscany” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Locanda "Il Poderino"

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Locanda "Il Poderino" to your Saves list
Locanda "Il Poderino"
SS 74 Maremmana, 58014 Manciano Manciano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 54 Manciano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Comfort and Authenticity in Southern Tuscany”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

This is a beautiful place, elegantly restored to modern standards with a pool, a great restaurant and set in glorious countryside just outside Manciano. Unfortunately we were only staying for one night as part of a ViadelSole walking tour so didn't get the chance to explore the surroundings but our overnight stop was a real delight. The owner was very helpful and considerate and our room though a standard was really large with a beautiful teracotta tiled ceiling, a spacious bathroom and a good sized balcony looking out over the fields and hills. The restaurant had a really good menu with lots of choices, including plenty for vegetarians, and many local dishes. The food was excellent and we ate on the veranda adjacent to the olive orchard which produced a lovely oil which we had with our meal. Breakfast also saw lots of local, home-made items and kept us going for most of the day. Our only regret is that we couldn't stay longer but for us it was a great experience.

Room Tip: No advice - our room was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    18
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
32
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lyme Center, NH
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Last summer my husband, my son and my daughter in law spent 10 days at 3 Querce and ate almost every day at Il Poderino. Everything was wonderful: the setting, the rooms, and of course the food! Our hosts could not have been nicer, from owner/manager Rossana to the chef/cook Irina and all the rest of the staff. The location of this agriturismo is perfect for day trips through Tuscany and beyond. We highly recommend this place to all our friends and we'll be definitely back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
81 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

We stopped there because it was on the road side. The menu had all of the local dishes, but the taste was superior, so was the sevice and the overall atmosphere. Wonderl sense of being in the campana. Very attentive and friendly service. Excellent "cinghiale" (wild boar). A must if you are in the vicinity.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Arriving in this place by chance didn't make the whole experience any less overwhelming.
Went with my friend and decided to get some Tuscan food since we were in the vicinity.
View was absolutely breathtaking; overlooking a thousand-or-so hectar of vinyard and mountains.

Serving us this day was a girl in her 19-20's who always managed to arrive at the proper moment, chatting away for a bit and, diligently, handling our meals.

Starting off with an antipasto full of salami, prosciutto, melone and crustini just made my mouth water. Everything just felt spot on.

For primi, I ordered gnocchi and my friend tagliatelle. We were not disappointed. My gnocchi was split in two; one made with a ragu (which one, I sadly dont remember) and the other one with prosciutto or speck, cream and parmesan cheese.
Everything melted in my mouth.

Moving on the secondi we had a 800(!) gram fiorentina which was absolutely perfect. Considering that my friend also had straccetti we thought we were going to finish half.
There was not a piece of meat left on the plates.

Finishing off with limoncello, tiramisu di fragule and espresso wrapped this feast into something more tasty than a slice of heaven.

Food of this kind can only be cooked with a one-of-a-kind ingredient: Love.

However, we didnt get to swim in the pool. Maybe a good idea since we probably would sink to the bottom :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Staying at Locanda Il Poderino “Tre Querce” was like visiting the family cottage of a good friend.

The rooms were large and comfortable, and ours had direct access to a patio which proved to be an apt relaxation spot after a day exploring Maremma or Argentario. Overlooking the Tuscan hills - with horses, sheep and patchwork of fields – it’s the perfect spot for enjoying a coffee or glass of wine with traveling companions.

The proprietor, Rossana, was warm, friendly and accommodating and our food experience at the inn was enhanced by the passion that the chef and wait-staff have for their cuisine. Each meal was delicious and we enjoyed the casual atmosphere to relax and socialize.

Tre Querce is a gem in southern Tuscany!

Room Tip: Some rooms have direct patio access
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

This past May, my wife, daughter and I embarked on a unique adventure in southern Tuscany. We hired biologist/guide Marco Valtriani (www.walkinginetruria.com) to lead us through some of the diverse habitats of the Maremma region. Over 4 days we were exposed to a wide range of bird and animal species, medieval towns, and tasty trattorias. We used the Locanda il Poderno in Manciano as our home base and we all felt the accommodations and cuisine were excellent. The Locanda has a great location outside of Manciano, with a superb view of the valley and adjacent olive grove operated by the owners. Sitting on the terrace, we were visited by a variety of unique birds – golden Oriole, woodchat shrike, hoopoe and assorted finches. The house restaurant provided us with an amazing breakfast spread and served local wines and regional specialties at the evening dinner (which we enjoyed on the outdoor patio). Manager Rossana spoke fluent English and was able to help us with any questions. I highly recommend this Locanda and region to visitors interested in escaping the flocks of tour buses and tourists more typical of more northerly towns in the Sienna valley.

Room Tip: The rooms with a terrace are a delight to catch the end of day (or sunrise if you are an early bird)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

We wanted to experience the Tuscan countryside for a week or so following a group tour to the more heavily traveled cities and towns. We contacted Marco Valtriani (http://www.birdinginitaly.com/) and asked him to arrange a tour for us that included some birding as well as sightseeing.

The accommodations highlight of the fantastic trip was our 3 nights Locanda Il Poderino .... What a charming country inn, with a great dining room (all home-made). The grounds are beautiful, with flowers, fruit, olives and herbs growing all around. Fresh figs right off the tree! A sunset from the patio off our room.

Our room was large, clean and comfortable. The bathroom was modern. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

The inn's operation has recently been taken over by the owner's daughter and family, who lived in the States for 20 years, so they speak English as well as Italian. This was also helpful arranging our stay there thanks to informational emails from Rosanna

Once can see the small town of Manciano from the grounds, but it is quiet and in a beautifully rural setting. This would be a great place for small groups or as well as couples or solo travelers who want to experience the real countryside of Italy.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manciano
3.4 mi away
Relais Villa Acquaviva
Relais Villa Acquaviva
#1 of 2 in Montemerano
4.5 of 5 stars 138 reviews
2.8 mi away
Quercia Rossa Farmhouse
Quercia Rossa Farmhouse
#4 of 16 in Manciano
4.5 of 5 stars 276 reviews
0.8 mi away
Il Borgonuovo
Il Borgonuovo
#10 of 16 in Manciano
4.5 of 5 stars 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Hotel Saturno Fonte Pura
2.8 mi away
Agriturismo Podere Santa Croce
10.8 mi away
Borgo Magliano Resort
Borgo Magliano Resort
#1 of 1 in Magliano in Toscana
4.0 of 5 stars 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda "Il Poderino"? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda "Il Poderino"

Address: SS 74 Maremmana, 58014 Manciano Manciano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Manciano
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Manciano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A place to relax and regenerate in the Tuscan Maremma ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Locanda "Il Poderino" reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda "Il Poderino" Italy/Tuscany - Manciano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Locanda "Il Poderino", register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.