We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clement V outstanding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel le Clement V

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel le Clement V to your Saves list
Hotel le Clement V
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 rue Jacques Manchotte, 24170 Belves, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Belves
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Clement V outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

My wife and I have used The Clement V on a number of occasions this year and have found it a perfect place to stay in the Dordogne. Geographically it is perfectly positioned to access all parts of the region. The hotel is well situated within Belves to access all facilities and absorb the atmosphere of this stunning medieval village. Within the hotel, for the guests comfort, there is a sensitive blend of an old restored building, antique furnishings and modern facilities which is both comforting and relaxing. Free wifi in the rooms was an added bonus for us. The views we had from the three different rooms ranged from delightful street views of the village to stunning views over a valley beyond the village's rooftops
This is a hotel run by its owners Muriel and Michel and their personal care and attention ensured that our stay was all that we wished it to be. The cleanliness of the hotel would rate as exceptional and the breakfast in a room overlooking a pleasant garden gives you no doubt that you are in the heart of the Dordogne.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    6
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
21
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We have spent a number of nights in this very comfortable boutique hotel, returning on two occasions, and found it to be a superb introduction to a holiday in the Dordogne. Belves is an excellent introduction to the region, well located to commence a visit, and nearby are outstanding local markets and restaurants. The hostess has always been extremely helpful and we can't fault the service and we continue to find the hotel an island of luxury, well worth the price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I spent a week at the Hotel le Clement V, and was so glad I spent the extra money to stay here. The room was simple, but tastefully decorated, and with a very comfortable bed. Also, the view of the countryside from my room was gorgeous (note each room is unique, not all have views, but others may have a terrace). The entire hotel and surrounding area were extremely quiet at night, so it's a great place to unwind and relax. The owner, Muriel, is very kind and hospitable. She personally served breakfast and chatted with me and other guests each morning. She gave wonderful recommendations of what towns to visit, where to eat, and even recommended a great shop with jewelry made by a local designer (in nearby Dommes). I hope to go back to Clement V on a future trip through the Dordogne.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

I spent two nights recently during a trip to the south of France in Belves. I selected the Hotel Clement V and was very pleased with my stay! The room was beautifully decorated, with a nice terrace, and the hostess, Muriel was very nice. Muriel took the time to explain to my friend and I restaurants to go to, sites to visit, and brocantes to visit while in town.

Well worth the money!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

This hotel is way too expensive for what you get. My family and I have stayed in hotels all over France and all over the world and this has to be the worst value for money we have experienced. Also, check their Ts and Cs - they are very onerous and they will take your money if you book and have to cancel, even if you give them 2 weeks' notice to cancel 1 night. They will still charge you. DO NOT BOOK THIS HOTEL.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

We stayed in Belves as a base for exploring that area of Dodogne. Parking in the main square is a bit tricky so it's a lot easier to park in the main car park near the look out point and then a short walk to the hotel (well sign posted). It is a small quaint town, full of character and when we were there middle of August there were lots of festivals on which were really lovely. Also it would be a good idea to call ahead to arrange a time when you are coming, as this is a family run hotel and someone might not be at reception at all times.
We had the Le Boudoir which was even better than in the photos on their website. I also saw the blue room which wasn't as big as the le boudior but did seem to have a wonderful view over the countryside. The room we had was fitted out to the highest order, with a very much welcomed air conditioning and separate toilet room and a wonderful bath. There was lot of fluffy towels and lovely toilletries. The bed was very comfortable and we had a great night sleep for each of the 3 nights we stayed there. The room was cleaned every day and towels replaced which was fantastic.
Breakfast is a continental type (bread, jam, coffee/tea and pureed fruit tubs). There is also a cafe a few doors down (opposite the pub) which had great coffee for £1.50 and pastries etc. There is also a bakery next door which has really nice pastries and bread, and a small supermarket across the lane for drinks and a greengrocer as well for fruit.
This is a very authentic French town and the hotel itself is of the highest quality.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West,England
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

Only stayed one nuit, but the room was tres comfortable, and the lady was friendly. 180 euros aint cheap, but couldnt find any fault. Dined at the hotel belvedier, which was absolutement superb. . . excellent value @ 22 euros each, best meal we have ever had en france.

Room Tip: eat at the hotel belvedier
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel le Clement V? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Clement V

Address: 15 rue Jacques Manchotte, 24170 Belves, France
Location: France > Aquitaine > Dordogne > Belves
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Belves
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel le Clement V 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Belvès, medieval city, one of the « Plus Beaux Villages de France », this former grocery shop has been transformed into a charming hotel. Michel and Muriel Fischer’s goal was to give the whole a “home sweethome” intimate atmosphere. Nothing was left to chance between the personalized welcome, the daily exchanges with the couple about tips and sites to discover, the harmony of the antique furniture (family owned and/or gathered) combined with the quality of the materials and fabrics. The bedrooms are spacious (26m² the smallest to 60m² the largest), individual controlled air-conditioning and/or heating, WC are separate from the bathroom. Beauty and calm in the heart of all major sites, castles and bastides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel le Clement V reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel le Clement V, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.