We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfort and great golf” 4 of 5 stars
Review of UNA Poggio Dei Medici

Save Saved
You added UNA Poggio Dei Medici to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
UNA Poggio Dei Medici
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via San Gavino, 27, 50038 Scarperia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Scarperia
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“comfort and great golf”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We stayed one week with unlimited golf and a package deal that included also 2 dinners.
Accomodations were excellent: huge room and bathroom, nice amenities, good housekeeping and environmentaly respectful, bed very comfortable. Breackfast was good and cappucinos galore if asked for (or expresso at no extra charge!). It is also served much later than announced.)
The personnel were were very good although a simple questions about railroad times gave a flase answer. Better to look that up yourselves. The golf was excellent but if you don't play, no reason to stay there as it is a few klms from Scarperia, 30 klms from Florence but in the middle of beautiful Tuscany but nowhere. You have to have a car!!!
Negative aspects included long to come hot water in sinks, wifi use has to be paid for, bar drinks expensive (better to eat out; you'll find restaurants close to drive to and much better and cheaper).
The TV was old style and small and was out of context with the deluxe accomodations.
The spa was not in working condition when we were there and although I asked for some kind of compensation (the golf and spa were the 2 main things we came for), I never heard from the manager although I was told I would! But the week was very enjoyable and worth it.

Room Tip: go for the rooms with view of golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    66
    16
    6
    0
See reviews for
16
51
Solo
0
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011 via mobile

Fantastic rooms,great view and beautiful golfcourse,but don't order a drink or a meal,it's one of the worst hotels i've ever stayed at.
You can't buy a decent glass of wine,you have to buy the bottle. The kitchen is bad. The restaurant staff sucks,not friendly.
For a good meal go to Villa Le Maschere,it's the best,very friendly staff and you can buy a decent glass of wine,whitout buying a bottle.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dadada1, Direttore at UNA Poggio Dei Medici, responded to this review, June 9, 2011
Dear Sir,
thank you very much for the time that you have spent to write your comment that helps us to improve our service in order to meet our guests' expectations.
UNA Hotels invests in employee training and your comment helps us to understand in which directions we need to go.
We are very happy to read that you have appreciated the room and golf course and I do apologize for an isolated bad moment that you lived in our restaurant.
I'd rather to inform you that we have opened the restaurant on the swimming pool during the week end where we serve a fantastic Tuscany grilled meat. I have the pleasure to invite you to test our new proposal.
Thank you once again for your time and for the comment on the restaurant of Villa Le Maschere that is proud member of UNA Hotels & Resort.
Do not hesitate to contact me for your next stay at UNA Poggio dei Medici.
Best Regards

Danilo D’Angelo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2010

Wonderful location. Spacious room (we were upgraded to an executive room on arrival) Luxurious bathroom. Housekeeping was spotless. Staff were pleasant and attentive. Caddy master very helpful. Only used the steam room once but spa area is pleasant.. The pool was closed as out of season. Buffet breakfast was comprehensive, with a choice of hot and cold dishes. Also delicious pastries. The golf course was stunning. Definitely hope to return.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

Suprised by the excellent service provided at the restaurant, reception and golf.
The food quality at the restaurant is really good (especially the Fiorentina) and they may prepare dishes on your request.

The only little nuisance where the mosquitos, quite agressive. Make sure you bring some repellent.

Excellent site for golfers as the it is located on a wonderful golf course (not the easiest one...). Already thinking of going back next year.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2007

The views were lovely over the golf course. The golf was spoilt sometimes by the watering and general up keep of the course which started at around 3pm. The pool area was good. The hotel food was not wonderful, the menu did not change and the breakfasts were pretty mundane. We don't want typically 'english breakfast' but the hot plate broke on the first day and was not fixed until the last day!! There was either too many waiters/waitresses or non at all, there was no happy medium - we have been to other parts of Italy and this was the least friendly .

  • Liked — The bathroom
  • Disliked — we asked for a balcony and were given ground floor
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Engalnd
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2006

This place was really excellent, we had our honeymoon here in 2004 and we are planning another visit for our anniversary.
The room we had was huge. i think it was the honeymoon suite, the bed was massive and the bathroom very nice, the aircon came on as you walked in the door and placed your key in the wall. Continental breakfast was brought up to our room every morning at 8am which was a choice of pastries and cakes with fresh coffee and tea. The resort itself was very quite which suited us there were a few other couples there but no childeren..
We had a fantastic time and relaxed for a week doing nothing. Perfect place to rest, have a massage and eat good italian food.

  • Liked — Nice and peaceful
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — eat in the local town called san piero
  • Stayed August 2004, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2004

We stayed for a few nights last summer and had a memorable time. The room was spacious and pretty, with an excellent bathroom. We loved the patio outside our room, where we could sit by a small table and have a drink. The golf course seems excellent. Unfortunately there was no pool, but they are constructing one (will the expansion change the atmosphere???). The food is exceptional and the breakfast buffet was something to look forward to each morning. For tourists, the location is superb. Within 35 minutes you can be in Florence. An hour away are Siena and Pisa. The views are magnificent and the small town of Scarperia is inviting. The Mugello region is beautiful and quite rural.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to UNA Poggio Dei Medici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about UNA Poggio Dei Medici

Address: Via San Gavino, 27, 50038 Scarperia, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Scarperia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Scarperia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — UNA Poggio Dei Medici 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort and golf club in the green Mugello valley, near the medieval village of Scarperia and all the best known towns in Tuscany like Siena, San Gimignano, Volterra and Lucca. 70 spacious elegant rooms, in restored old farmhouses, a prestigious 18-hole golf course, restaurant for 170 guests, 6 meeting rooms, fitness and wellness center, Turkish bath, outdoor swimming pool and Jacuzzi. Magnificent villa dating back to XVII century with spacious garden suitable for banquets and ceremonies up to 100 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Venere, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your UNA Poggio Dei Medici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
UNA Poggio Dei Medici Scarperia, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage UNA Poggio Dei Medici, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.