We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great week” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo Diffuso - Locanda Senio

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Palazzuolo Sul Senio
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Albergo Diffuso - Locanda Senio
Save
You added Albergo Diffuso - Locanda Senio to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Borgo dell'Ore 1 | Palazuolo sul Senio, 50035 Palazzuolo Sul Senio, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
liverpool
1 review
“A great week”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

The food, service and walking on this holiday were all superb! ercole is a lovely man who is always working for the good of his customers. and his wife roberta made some of the best food we have ever tasted. also ercoles cooking classes featured pasta dishes and a pork one. the walks were scenic and you always could come back to a cold drink by the lovely pool. our rooms were lovely and they all had a great veiw from the shuttered windows. it is in the heart of the beautiful village. we had to have a early start on the last day (5:30 am!) but ercole was happy enough to give us cake and coffee before leaving. a overall excellent stay!

Room Tip: any of the 7 small rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    27
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
15
99
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We spent a week here on a walking holiday. The hotel is in the heart of the village and close to all amenities including an excellent gelateria. The village is very friendly and, considering its size, surprisingly vibrant. Ercole is a very genial host and makes you feel really welcome, his wife Roberta, cooks the most amazing food and there is plenty of it! Roberta uses a lot of fruit and veg from their own garden which Ercole tends with infinite care. Each course was carefully explained and Ercole was very adept at choosing an appropriate wine to accompany it. We ate breakfast and the evening meal on the lovely terrace surrounded by Ercole's well tended borders and climbing plants. We had an apartment style room which was fab, very traditional, very clean and well equipped with espresso machine and fridge. The area is wonderful for walking, very scenic and the hotel pool was a welcome treat on return from the walks. We also took the train to Florence one day, which was cheap and efficient. It all made for a very memorable and magical holiday.

Room Tip: We paid extra for an apartment room - well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We were based here during a weeklong walking holiday. The walking was terrific, but it was the accommodations that made the trip magical. Our room was lovely, well-appointed, and (thanks to thick stone walls and careful shutter management) cool in spite of the fairly intense July heat during our stay. The staff were unfailingly helpful and kind. Among the efforts that helped us to more fully appreciate the amazing place we were in were Ercole's wine and olive oil tastings, his pasta-making demonstration (we got to eat the upshot!), and the hotel mini-bus, which on three occasions drove us off to some remote spot connected to the Locanda by a beautiful walk along ridges and past ruined Medici forts. Roberta remains a theoretical entity, but the cooking attributed to her was delicious, remarkable both in its variety and its quantity, and rich in terroir. Finally, the cani of the Locanda were enchantingly hospitable, and made it clear the morning we left that they were sad to see us go.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a fantastic weekend at Locanda Senio. The place had been recommended to me by a friend and I can not say enough good things about it. When we arrivedon saturday afternoon we were given a very warm welcome by the staff and taken to our room, which I must say was beautiful, very, very clean and charming, with everything you would need. We relaxed in their lovely pool area, and experienced the cooking demonstration and wine tasting which was lovely, Erecole (who runs the show and is front of house) taught us how to make a lovely pasta dish (from scratch) with local ingredients accompined by some lovely local, wine and oil, he was very charming, great fun and made us feel so welcome. Later we had the nicest dinner I have had in a long time, a personalised menu, amazing food, lovely atmosphere and service, Roberta (Erecoles wife and the chef) devised a really unique and tasty menu that was made of local produce the herbs even grown on site. I would reccomend this place to anyone wanting to feel relaxed, comfortable and spoilt, the town is beautiful and you must visit!! Thank you for making us so welcome we will return soon.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Mills, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Beautiful place, great food, great hiking in the area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banja Luka, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Contrary to most of the reviews, I did not enjoy stay at Locanda Senio. The main reason for it was the rooms, which I completely disliked. First, it was December, and we had gas (?!) heating in the room that was shut down automatically around 22h or 23h. Secondly, the floors are from stone, and not a single carpet (as I came in already ill, this fact caused me to strengthen all negative affects of cold) is present. The room was really small, barely giving enough space to walk around bed, and TV did not work either. Thirdly, the bathroom was something I could not expect in Europe: you have to enter the shower in order to reach the toilet. Yes, shower does not have a cabin, and is basically market by curtains while you stand on the floor for the shower. After you shower, there is no way to enter toilet without getting your feet wet - unless you enjoy wearing shoes in bathroom. And water-closet does not have lid - seems to be some kind of antique structure.
The whole situation was saved by extreme friendliness and hospitality of hosts, who tried to provide personalized and highest quality service ever. And the food is truly amazing there - don't eat there if you are on diet...

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

A charming hotel in a lovely location. Greeted by name! Lovely room with antique furniture. Would we like use of the sauna and jacuzzi after our walks? asked Emanuel on reception (we were on a walking holiday with Headwater Holidays), yes please! We really enjoyed the Italian food cooking demonstration, wine and olive oil tasting and pasta making by Ercole. He really is a fantastic host, warm, friendly and always with a smile on his face. Roberta's food was absolutely divine, creative, home cooked and using local ingredients; it was a good job only the cases were weighed on the way home...We cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palazzuolo Sul Senio
15.2 mi away
Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort
0.9 mi away
Residence Antico Borgo I Cancelli
Residence Antico Borgo I Cancell...
#4 of 4 in Palazzuolo Sul Senio
3.5 of 5 stars 21 reviews
13.2 mi away
Vecchio Convento
Vecchio Convento
#1 of 1 in Portico di Romagna
4.5 of 5 stars 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Relais Varnello
Relais Varnello
#1 of 3 in Brisighella
5.0 of 5 stars 24 reviews
2.3 mi away
B&B Ca Scheta
B&B Ca Scheta
#1 of 2 in Palazzuolo Sul Senio
5.0 of 5 stars 86 reviews
2.3 mi away
B&B Ca Maranghi
B&B Ca Maranghi
#1 of 5 in Palazzuolo Sul Senio
5.0 of 5 stars 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Diffuso - Locanda Senio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Diffuso - Locanda Senio

Address: Via Borgo dell'Ore 1 | Palazuolo sul Senio, 50035 Palazzuolo Sul Senio, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Palazzuolo Sul Senio
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Palazzuolo Sul Senio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo Diffuso - Locanda Senio 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Locanda Senio: where stay is fine In this medieval town, Ercole and Roberta created a jewel of Tuscany hospitality: Locanda Senio. An hotel of a refined and searched style, itimate with perfume of peace, mirth and carefree in each season: in front of a lighted fireplace, toastig chestnuts and sip a good red wine, oder at the edges of the swimming pool with hot water immerse in the garden with rare herbs. The bedrooms 6 peaceful and beautiful rooms and 2 suites, these with fireplace, are all furnished with some local antiquarian pieces and each corner passes on owners’ care and attention. Family furnish and old mobiles repropose guests all the memory and the sentiments of the old time without forgetting modern conforts. All the rooms has a indipendent bathroom , lot of fresh and good air. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Locanda Senio Palazzuolo Sul
Albergo Diffuso - Locanda Senio Palazzuolo Sul Senio, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergo Diffuso - Locanda Senio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.