We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Building, lovely staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Casagrande

Best prices from these 9 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Villa Casagrande to your Saves list
Villa Casagrande
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via G.B. del Puglia, 61 | Figline Valdarno, 50063 Figline Valdarno, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Beautiful Building, lovely staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I often use this hotel as a base for shopping at the nearby outlets. Its mid way between Incisa and Montevarchi in a lovely little town. The town itself has an excellent range of shops and restaurants.

On Tuesday the town square was converted into a massive open air market selling everything you can imagine.

The hotel is beautifully appointed, the WIFI works and the staff couldn't be more helpful. Except for the lady who runs the breakfast - miserable old cow! I thought that the breakfast was the only disappointing thing about my stay. I'd get the no breakfast option in future and head to one of the many fantastic coffee shops nearby.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    150
    50
    13
    8
See reviews for
34
185
8
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
iklin
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We were three couples from Malta visiting Tuscany earlier this month and opted by chance for Villa Casagrande. We hit gold! This is a really cosy well run hotel in the heart of the Tuscan Chianti region. The staff were immensely helpful, from the receptionists to the chirpy lady serving breakfast, the restaurant is top class and the bedrooms are very welcoming. Moreover, the location is ideal as a base for exploring the beautiful Chianti Region in Tuscany. I would recommend this hotel anytime.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

A quaint old farmhouse remodeled into a 4* hotel...rustic charm, lots of exposed brick and wood. Nice and convenient location right off the A1, but cannot be compared to some of the gems you can find around the area. Still, for a business trip it's perfect. And a decent restaurant...but there's much better food elsewhere in valdarno...da giusti's for example.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Stayed at the Villa for a 5 night stay, loved the hotel, loved the food. The town was a lot of fun, as they were having their Harvest Festival, so we got to experience "small town Italy" and its wonderful people at its best. The local food, wine and "new" olive oil was worth the trip alone.

The hotel was very clean, all rooms are different, some are bigger than others (I was traveling with a group, so I got to see a lot different rooms), so you can't compare rooms. That is one of the things that makes this Villa so nice and different. My room was large, clean, and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was large and very clean also. We ate at the restaraunt at the Villa serveral times, it was fabulous, they had gluten free options, and were very aware of gluten and remembered each time I came in that I needed gluten free options (very cool). At breakfast each morning, the gal working breakfast heated up a gluten free roll for me and brought it to my table everyday (so nice!!). Would highly recommend the restaraunt at the Villa, the food was amazing! So was the wait staff!

Plan on returning next year, loved it that much!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnwood, Washington
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

I enjoyed a 2 night stay at this hotel over a holiday weekend. The hotel is nice and has a great history but over this particular holiday weekend, the town is very boring. The hotel does offer a few items for entertainment:

Spa and wellness center. Here you can enjoy time in the relaxation room while waiting for a massage or you can go in the steam room and the jacuzzi. Heck, you can do everything if you want but after September the indoor and outdoor pool is closed so swimming is out. The spa opens a little late for my taste but, at the very least you can fill your evening from 5pm to 9pm with spa time.

What about the day time? Well, on any other weekend I imagine you can book a wine tasting and a cooking class but that wasn't an option for this weekend. Because of this, the stay was very boring. Thank goodness I had a ton of work to do.

Now keep in mind that I am traveling solo for business and just happen to have a couple days of downtime between Florence and Rome.

I imagine if the price is right, a family could stay in 1 of the nice apartments here (I saw a few and they look nice) and either drive or train to a neighboring city like Florence or any of the other wonderful cities in Tuscany.

For English speaking people, the hotel staff is very professional and will understand any questions you may have. The restaurant, although good, does not offer a lot of service for English speakers. I got by just fine with my terrible Italian but if you are visiting and don't know the language at all, just be ready to order and don't ask any questions.

Overall the stay was nice but I was definitely ready to head to Rome the night before my departure.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnwood, Washington
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

I enjoyed a 2 night stay at this hotel over a holiday weekend. The hotel is nice and has a great history but the stay and city are somewhat boring. There are apartments here so I can see where this would be a nice stay for a family that wants to experience Tuscany by train or car and then return to a nice quiet place but if you are just here between major city stays you may find yourself with nothing to do.

Since there is a spa, I imagine someone could spend their evenings in the spa to pass the time but you still have a whole day to fill. Better book a cooking class or something.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Villa Casagrande in Figline Valdarno from 25-Sept through 28-Sept of this year. This is a very nice place in a beautiful location close to the Chianti Region. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful to us in planning our daily excursions in and around the region as they gladly printed maps that we used to plan our daily travels.

The grounds are beautiful and the hotel is just minutes from the local shopping and dining in Figline though the food in the hotel restaurant is excellent.

As this was my first trip to Italy, it was the perfect place for me to stay after a somewhat difficult stay in Florence the night before. Our room looked north toward the town and our room was quiet, clean and welcoming after a day of local travel. Well, it was quiet until the church bells started ringing in the morning, but for us this just added to the charm of the place.

I would definately stay here again given the opportunity.

Room Tip: Rooms are quiet and roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Casagrande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Casagrande

Address: Via G.B. del Puglia, 61 | Figline Valdarno, 50063 Figline Valdarno, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Figline Valdarno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Figline Valdarno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Casagrande 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, Escapio, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villa Casagrande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Casagrande Hotel Figline Valdarno
Casagrande Hotel Figline Valdarno
Villa Casagrande Italy/Tuscany - Figline Valdarno

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Casagrande, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.