We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sandie's view” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Norcenni Girasole Club

Save Saved
You added Norcenni Girasole Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Norcenni Girasole Club
4.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Via Norcenni, 7, 50063 Figline Valdarno, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“sandie's view”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

The campsite was very clean and the staff helpful but, there was nothing to do on site. We arrived on the 1st of April 2013 and almost everything was closed. Mini golf, tennis courts, horse ridding, there was meant to be 3 pools; 2 were closed and the other one that was open, was too small and the stone steps leading into the pool made it dangerous. There was no gym available. All of these things were promised in the promotional material. The excursions were very expensive, there was only one grocery shop and this was badly stocked. There was only one restaurant open, while the evening menu was good, the daytime menu was limited. All sandwiches came with ham and/or cheese. The other restaurants were closed.

This resort was in the hills and quite remote, which meant that unless you have a car, you are more or less stuck in the resort. As I said before the excursions were very expensive, excursions started at 21 euros and went up from there.

The resort was not easy to get to as there is not an airport in Tuscany. We took an air plane to the nearest air port which was Pisa we then had to take 2 trains and a cab to the resort as there was no shuttle available to us on the day of our arrival, but we did get a shuttle to Florence from the resort on the way home. This cost 7 euros, 50 per person. We had 2 adults plus 1 eleven year old and 1 seventeen year old.

We paid 5 euros for unlimited WiFi which we were unable to properly access from our accommodation as we were "too far away from the hub" we were not given a refund, the shop keeper only told us that there was nothing he could do. I didn't take many pictures but what I do have you are free to look at.

This is not the place to come to if you do not drive. This is not a cheep holiday, even though it is promoted as such, it is not good for children as there is not enough for them to do. The resort failed to deliver any entertainment that was promised in the promotional material, and over the Internet.

I am sure that when they finish the resort it will be good, but for now it is not, and I would not recommend this holiday resort to anyone.

Room Tip: Our mobile home was in a section that had other families and children but it was a good location hal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorcenniGirasoleClub, Direttore at Norcenni Girasole Club, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Sandie,
I am Paolo, the Director of Norcenni Girasole.
Many thanks for your review that is very helpful for us even if not positive.
I personally apologize for the problems you found in our campsite during your stay .
I must say that some informations you write , and for sure the informations you received when you booked your holiday, are not correct:
You came in a period ( 1st of April, we were just open) when some of our services and activities are still not available because of the very low season . Our upper Village with the water park you pictured, opens only at the end of April.
It is too cold here in april for the outdoor pools, and one was being repaired, but the indoor pool (that is not so small, is 25 meters by 13 ) was open and warm Also the Spa and Gym where open, and the minigolf and horse riding.as well . The animation room for children was available, but the animation program started only on April 27 as there where no school holidays in Europe and no children before this date.
Also the sport and music bar and the Disco where open .
The Grill Restaurant had the same nice menu for lunch and dinner . Now there are 4 restaurants open.
About the excursions : with our bus you can go to Florence (30 km away) for only 13.50 Euros per adult , children travel free . This is cheaper than the train.
You can visit Siena, 60 km away, for 27 Euros, children are free. These prices are very cheap for Tuscany.
Our resort, like all the campsites in Tuscany, offers different services and facilities in very low season, and I am really sorry you have not been able to receive the proper informatons before you came. I would like to welcome your family back in Norcenni between May and September, when you will be able to appreciate all our amenities.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    203
    150
    40
    15
    15
See reviews for
245
77
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We just came back having spent a week in this site in April. Although there was a lot of renovation work going on around the pools and it was difficult to get a true picture of the site I do think that it will be very nice in the summer. They will have to go at some pace to get it ready for then though!
The site was very clean and had quite a lot of amenities on it, however it is a huge site and I imagine it will get very busy and crowded in the height of summer. It is built on a steep hill so would not be suitable for those who are less than fit. There was one restuarant that was open, it was fine and ok value. We hired our caravan from the site and it was new and spotless. There are loads of brand new caravans that were still being installed. There are loads that do not have parking beside them though.
The location is good. It is about 30 minutes to Florence in a car and just over an hour to Pisa. It is bang in the middle of the Chianti vinyards so the wine tasting will be open in the summer. I wouldn't stay at this site without a car as it is quite a bit from the town where the train station is.
I would recommend it as long as you like crowds in the summer

Room Tip: Ask for a caravan in the middle of the site
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We booked this site using The Sun £9.50 holiday tokens. I am not a reader of The Sun but to book this site at those prices is amazing!
We stayed in a mobile home - large covered decking area, full size gas BBQ, spacious living areas - we were very impressed - by far the nicest campsite we've stayed on.
Swimming pools are excellent, especially the shallow ones for children. The campsite is just in such a beautiful setting.
There is a restaurant above the shallow pool that overlooks the whole site and Tuscany countryside - amazing!!
We hired a car as it is a bit remote although I believe there is a shuttle bus to the local train station, Figline Valdarno.
We like to travel around but if I were ever to visit Tuscany again I wouldn't hesitate to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

The photo's and online reviews of this site sound great, but my experience not so, although lovely and clean and I imagine when fully refurbished it will be good.

The pools were all closed and like a building site, the only pool open was a small indoor one which was also full of builders chopping up floors and disturbing guests.

Most site restaurants were closed and the supermarket was empty.

Maybe because its early season but recommend you enquire before you book.

Bedding linen was poor

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed here September 12 with friends and fiubd the site of an excellent standard very clean,friendly staff plenty of trips available from the site ,a bus that goes into Florence for the day and returns in the evening .
The view from the resteraunt area is outstanding ,the only downside is it is very steep ,apart from that a fabulous site .
we stayed with Keycamp and the reps were very good however the standard of the mobile homes ,were shabby and the on top of each other not giving very much privacy .parking was poor.I would definatly return here but may use a different holiday provider
overall excellent site

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stayed here in early June 2011 loved it so much we are going back again this year.

We flew into Pisa which is served by the budget airlines and about 1.5 hour drive. Florence airport is closer but flights are more expensive.

Booked a mobile home direct with the campsite which, after a few hiccups at check in (they did not have our booking) was adequate, and on par with what you typically expect.

The weather was fantastic with just a couple of showers about midday on occassional days.

The campsite is very clean and well looked after and if you were thinking of actually camping the communial toilets and showers are probably the best we have ever seen!

The two pool complexes, one at the bottom and the other at the top of the site are clean, and have slides for the children and were by no means busy in June. the walk between the two pools is invigorating due to a very steep hill but there is a 'train' which runs occassionally between the two but we never used it and managed even with a pram.

The on site restaurants are good though when were there the two low level ones opened on alternate nights ie not on the same night. There is also an on site Pizza take away bar.

The site is about two miles from the nearest supermarket and the town/village of Figline Valdarno though this is not the typical picturesque Italian town that you may expect to find in Tuscany but the supermarket is good.

the train station in Figline has parking and takes about 25 minutes to Florence which is a must to visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsburg, WV
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

I wish we had stayed here longer. We only stayed one night and because our stay was short it took a lot of time getting here and getting out to the next place because the club is a little off the main track if you do not have a car. All the restaurants were great, the pools were beautiful, and the rooms are basic. Bring your own towels and soap! Great resort with a European vacation atmosphere. In general everything was very reasonably priced too, which made it all that more enjoyable! The restaurant at the top of the club had an octopus soup that I am still thinking about! I would spend at least 4 nights here if I came again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Norcenni Girasole Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norcenni Girasole Club

Address: Via Norcenni, 7, 50063 Figline Valdarno, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Figline Valdarno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Specialty lodging in Figline Valdarno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Norcenni Girasole Club 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Agoda so you can book your Norcenni Girasole Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norcenni Girasole Club Hotel Figline Valdarno
Norcenni Girasole Club Italy/Tuscany - Figline Valdarno

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Norcenni Girasole Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.