We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mallard” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wheatacre Hall Barns

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beccles
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wheatacre Hall Barns
Save
You added Wheatacre Hall Barns to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Ranch   |   Station Road | Wheatacre, Beccles NR34 0AS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
GreenLeadersGold level
Dartford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Mallard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

My family and I stayed in the Mallard Barn at Wheatacre Hall. The Mallard was first class, clean, modern and well looked after. The whole family had a great time and would recomend it to anyone. The Owner/Manager Joe, was great and could not do enough. It was a fantastic week. I give it 5 stars.

Room Tip: All of them
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haverhill, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

I have visited Wheatacre Hall Barns many times now about 18 visits, we have always found everything to be spotless. Beautiful bed linen always smells so fresh. Excellent for Christmas with lots of family and friends. All decorated with Xmas tree. Nicely done, not over done so you can add your own touch if you like. Joanna and David are always so friendly, they take the time to chat to you and to get to know you. If you need anything they are always willing to help where they can. I have had many different types of trip here. Trips with the girls from work, my daughters teenage school friends 6 of them and two adults. Family trips, trips with my dog, its for everyone this holiday. I have travelled to many a country abroad stayed in many hotels etc, and nothing compares to Wheatacre, its wonderful for chilling out, exciting holidays etc, etc, Im going back in september and December which are already booked. Its also great with the Hot tub, Games room swimming pool etc the list is endless.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

We stayed at the Wheatacre hall barns in March 2012 for a short break and thoroughly enjoyed it. The barn we stayed in was The Partridge for 2 people, it was so charming and everything you could possible want was there, even a tv at the end of the whirlpool bath so that you don't miss the soaps when your getting ready to go out lol! The area around the farm is so relaxing. The owners have thought of everything for families aswell with all the facilities they provide, and what a treat it was to go and watch the cows being milked and seeing the new calves. There is lots to do in the area and you can even swim for free.
Joanna is very welcoming. We will definately visit again.

Jo & Pete Madeley Derby

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

I work overseas and visit the UK to visit family often, renting accommodation for the weeks at home. Since I found Wheatacre Barns I stay no were else. I researched holiday rentals in the area and have found no better accommodation, trust me, I am in the hotel business. This would be the equivalent to Leading Hotels or Small Luxury Hotels of the World. I was tired of renting accom and be disappointed.This is quality, very very clean, pet friendly, great amenities, a fantastic games room, jacuzzi, even shop with your basic farm fresh items, eggs, diary etc from the owners own herd. Joanna is there to take care of your every need. They even have a fantastic meal service were you can order in freshly prepared meals. Call ahead before you arrive and it's there. It really is excellent food! we had double baked smoked salmon souffles & fresh fish pie! amazing! I've stayed in Mallard, great with friends/family, Woodcock and recently Partridge and looking to return in the summer & winter. Relaxing, peaceful, regenerating. Wheatacre has got it right and they deserve success. It's location is excellent, on the Norfolk/Suffolk border, in the country yet between the bustling city of Norwich, Norfolk Broads & Gt Yarmouth and the market town of Beccles. Forget the rest, this is the best!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012 via mobile

I spent the recent half term break in one of the 6 person barns and we had a fantastic time. The barns have been converted to an immaculate standard and although the shower heads could do with a descaling, it was a perfect location.

We arrived late one evening to find essentials like milk and tea already supplied as well as a nice selection of locally made biscuits - yum!

Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and they even encouraged you to get involved with farm life like seeing new calves bein born or milking at the diary!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

We hired Teal Barn for 3 nights inbetween Xmas and New Year and weren't disappointed. We were greeted warmly by Joanna the owner who is always in her office on site. The barn itself is well equipped warm and comfortable. There were 3 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms so perfect for 3 couples to share. We enjoyed the hot tub at the end of the day and the games room is a great facility for all to share. You can buy diary essentials from the office shop which is really handy. You do need a car as the local pub is a decent walk away and on a dark night wouldn't be very appealing but Beccles, Lowestoft and Southwold all close by with lovely villages inbetween. Don't miss out - book now!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

We stayed in Partridge barn which is for 2 people , the accomodation is outstanding with everything you could need and more, radio and ipod in lounge and bedroom which can be turned on in either room or both , tv in the bathroom, cows and pheasant 10 yards from your back door. The location is excellent for short trips to little villages and a short drive from Great Yarmouth.There are plenty of good pubs for meals or just enjoying a beer in front of roaring log fires, an excellent location supported by superb accomodation, great for couples and families alike

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wheatacre Hall Barns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheatacre Hall Barns

Address: Station Road | Wheatacre, Beccles NR34 0AS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Beccles
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Beccles
Hotel Class:4 star — Wheatacre Hall Barns 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury 5 star self- catering converted barns on a working dairy and arable farm. Located in South Norfolk in the Waveney Valley close the the North Suffolk boarder surrounded by the Southern Norfolk Broads. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wheatacre Hall Barns Hotel Beccles
Wheatacre Hall Barns Beccles, Suffolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wheatacre Hall Barns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.