We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Night Out With Friends” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Swan Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Swan Motel to your Saves list
The Swan Motel
Loddon Road, Gillingham, Beccles NR34 OLD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 12 Beccles B&B and Inns
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Night Out With Friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

I booked a meal for myself and 9 friends as we wanted to sample the delights of the South African Menu.All the staff were very friendly and couldnt do enough for us. We all enjoyed our meal and would definitely recommend the food as it was delicious.
i think the new owners are doing a first class job of bringing the Swan back to where it was in the old days.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    10
    3
    4
    5
See reviews for
8
16
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011 via mobile

Stayed here in June the new owners are lovely people and have done a excelent job. In doing the motel
up. Food was great we had the southafrican menu as we love south african food it was excellant. Rooms were clean with tv and tea and coffee. Lovely clean crisp White sheets. And fluffly towels lovely friendly family atmesphere we will be busting again thank you russ and Sharon . From the bloweys

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

We booked a night away for our anniversary and found ourselves at the Swan. It has recently changed hands and the new management are working their way through refurbishing the place. Our room was freshly painted, clean and tidy. On our arrival, we were shown to our room by a friendly member of staff, who throughout our stay, was chatty and took an interest in our visit. Our evening was spent in the bar with friends and upon their departure, we chatted to the Manager, who was equally as friendly and interesting to talk to. He was telling us his plans for the Swan and it will be interesting to return in a few months time to see how work has progressed.
We felt truly welcomed throughout our stay and would certainly return again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

This is a motel, which means every room has its own front door. Each room has an en-suite. All are good sized rooms. Clean and warm. The new owners are friendly and clearly care. The rooms are all done up this year.

Food is good and the service excellent.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

My partner and I stayed to help celebrate a friends wedding. After reading a previous review I was hesitate, to say the least. However I couldn't have been more surprised. The room was spotless, and people were so friendly, putting us both @ ease. If ever we need to stay in Norfolk - Beccles we will go back... Providing Sharon and Russ are still there.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2010

On arrival was very dissapointed.The pictures on website make it look a very pleasant place, but it is very shabby. The original room we were allocated had mould on the bathroom ceiling and the bathroom door was split it smelt damp and was very grimy.. The second room was better but cold, we were given an additional heater, We ate in the restaurant which was fine the staff very helpful and pleasant and the breakfast was good On arriving back after Midnight there was no lighting and our additional heater had been turned off, so room was cold again. It was very overpriced at £75 a night , The owners son did buy us a drink for our inconvenience Its a shame with a lick of paint and some TLC it has potential as ideally located. Extremely dissapointed

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham Abbey Essex
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2010

We arrived on 5th march 2010 for a family wedding held nearby, on arrival (pre-booked Nov 09) we found that apart from the bed had been made and very old worn out towels and tea/coffee facilities were present, that is as far as the good view goes, Carpets were stained and dirty and not even vaccuumed, mould around bathroom windows and extremely cold and damp, there was no heating , we also then began to complain as to the standard of welcome and was told that they had problems with airlocks in the heating system and would try to unblock it , but they had not I repeat NOT done any of this prior to our arrival and whilst we stood in cold rooms they attempted with no skill to improve the problem, then we were offered Oil filled electric rads which although worked initially, began to blow the power fused on the main board so uprated fuses were fitted which concerned us as to the quality of the wiring, after some hours the heating was spasmodically working to some degree, but the shower water was only tepid and basically this Hotel which was taken over approx 2 years ago is now a run down scruffy establishment run buy amatuers which although try it is far more than they can manage although the food was fine. Also closed on return from wedding at 12.30 with no outside lighting and we had to find our way in the dark to the room. Also I must add that you can hear every word of any conversation from the adjoining rooms and we were treated to a conversation from 3am to 7 am on the night in question. They try but are failures and should consider giving it up for another way to earn a living. Sorry but certainly not worth the charges that would get you a 4* accomadation and The Swan rightly has no grading apart from what should be triers but failures .

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Swan Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Motel

Address: Loddon Road, Gillingham, Beccles NR34 OLD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Beccles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Beccles
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swan has been totally refurbished through out, to a very high standard and is back in the management of Christine.Carvery's all day Sundays, pub food, home cooking and fabulous new bedrooms and bathrooms, good company, excellent staff, beer gardens and ample parking. PLEASE NOTE WE DO HAVE ROOMS AVAILABLE PLEASE IGNORE THE RESERVATION CALENDAR AND CALL US DIRECTLY . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your The Swan Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan Motel Beccles, Suffolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Swan Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.