We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't you just hate it when there's nothing to complain about?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Satis Cafe

Satis Cafe
Evergreen Garden Centre | London Road, Beccles NR34 8TT, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 41 Restaurants in Beccles
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
london
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Don't you just hate it when there's nothing to complain about?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Bistro evening at The Satis cafe. EVERYTHING was just wonderful. The quality of the perfectly cooked food was exceptional, the price was unbelievable and the level of service was beyond reproach. This is a much needed cure for the dreadful food served up else where, you really get what you pay for and in this case you get much much more!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    13
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dereham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Delicious food, pleasant ambiance...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I met a friend here having read the reviews and we were not disappointed. The menu was fine with an interesting and diverse specials menu board. We chose the salmon (it had a pesto crust but was cooked for me without; thank you), green veg and new pots and my friend had the home made burger served with skinny fries and a pot of home made coleslaw. They were both delicious and beautifully presented. The staff serving were efficient, friendly and well informed. We then went for a wander round the garden centre and came back for a pot of tea and then settled the bill. Although we didn't partake (for calorie reasons....) the selection of cakes was quite frankly awesome and the sponges were the deepest and most delicious looking home made cakes I have seen in some time. I would definitely eat here again whether I wished to look for plants of not! Well done and thank you for a very pleasant lunch. If I wanted to make one tiny criticism the ladies loo could do with an upgrade... clean but very dated.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

We went for lunch here purely on reviews on trip advisor. We were not dissapointed. Ok, its not the cheapest nor the most expensive. Superbly attentive staff , excellent food, low wait times. Dont waste your money at the crazily overpriced twyfords in beccles, come here for some real value.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eye, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
249 reviews 249 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Inevitable cost”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We returned after a few months gap to find that further improvements had been made with outdoor seating and a bar. Summer evening meals are promised. Great choices of light bites (which didn't look that light!) and full meals.
My wife had a new spaghetti dish with anchovy, tuna, capers and olives. I was allowed a miniscule taste and it was outstanding. My barbecued ribs were great - you cannot go wrong with pork in Suffolk. I thought I would have a cake instead of a dessert and chose the smallest, a date slice. I like bakers' date slices; this was from a different world - rich and smooth. Also, I was assured that it was totally calorie-free!
Service was friendly and the food came quickly. As Satis House Hotel, there is nothing to fault.
And the inevitable cost? After lunch we walked around the garden centre that sells many specialised plants - we found that we could squeeze a gingko tree into the car to take home. I'm developing a shade area in the garden and had to have it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford Essex
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“SATISfaction indeed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

We recently moved to Beccles from Essex and discovered this gem when seeking to stock up the garden from the equally good Evergreens Garden Centre where it's located. After several visits for coffee/pastries etc we went there with my daughter a couple of weeks ago for Sunday lunch. At £10 You can get cheaper roasts but not of this quality. And the summer pudding for dessert was DIVINE!! And they now have a licence! I think the fact that today (Tuesday) they are already fully booked for the coming Sunday speaks for itself. And the great staff have the balance between good service and over attentiveness absolutely right. Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Satis Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Satis Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Satis Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.