We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best on the Broads” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Betsie Jane River Tours

Betsie Jane River Tours
Staithe Road | Burgh St Peter, Beccles, England
07789401742
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 16 Attractions in Beccles
Type: Boat Tours, Sightseeing Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Betsie Jane is an award winning restoration of a classic gentleman's launch. She is registered with the National Maritime Museum as a historic ship. Specifically designed for entertaining she offers comfortable cruising for unto twelve guests. There are toilet and galley facilities onboard.Betsie Jane River Tours offer a unique way to explore the beautiful southern Broads. From our base at the Waveney River Centre we offer full and half day tours for up to 12 passengers. Tea and homemade cake are included in the tour. We can provide hot or cold lunches onboard or you are welcome to bring your own food and drink.During the summer months we run a friday evening 'Curry Run' to Oulton Broad. See 'What's on' page on our website.A warm welcome awaits.Heidi and Paul
Beccles
1 review
“The best on the Broads”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We have been on Betsie Jane with the skipper Paul and his wonderful cabin hand Heidi a number of times. It's quite simply the best way to see the Broads with a 360 degree view and with the highest level of comfort. Paul provides the most relaxed experience with his natural love of the environment. The beauty of Betsie Jane is a true break from the norm of a corporate booking and gives a real personal touch. Well done Paul and Heidi.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Essex, UK
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Simply fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We were lucky enough to have a trip on the beautifully restored Betsie Jane last summer. The hosts Paul and Heidi were amazing. Paul's knowledge of the area is endless and very interesting, and his years of experience on the stunning Norfolk Broads resulted in the the best photo opportunities as well as the best places to see otters, kingfishers and and whole myriad of wildlife. His passion for his beautifully restored boat with its rich, historic past is tangible and infectious and rightly so.

The trip was enhanced by Paul's gorgeous wife, Heidi who kept us supplied with a choice of teas and coffee's and her now famous, delicious home made Victoria sponge - perfect! A truly amazing way to spend a day/afternoon. We can not wait to do it again!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“An award winning vintage Broadland cruising experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We had a balmy summer's evening cruise with some friends, down a meandering Suffolk river on-board Betsie Jane a beautifully restored gentleman's wooden cruiser. Our destination was curry night at the Geldeston Locks, an off the beaten track, Broadland inn . The food, washed down with some fine local ale was excellent. A memorable end to the evening was the moonlit return journey in the company of owls, bats and tranquility. Thanks to skipper Paul and his lovely wife Heidi for a wonderful evening.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beccles, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Went on one of the trips with my family a few months back and can honestly say one of the most fascinating experiences. Paul and Heidi made the trip all the more better with there interesting stories about the surrounding area. For me the best way to experience the broads. The family has booked another trip to go back in the summer as there are plenty more roots to take. I would recommend to anybody.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great day of photography on the Betsie Jane”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I had a great day in the Spring of 2012 on the Betsie Jane.
There was plenty of photo opportunities with lots of wildlife to be seen on the river. Some beautiful landscape to be photographed also.
The food was excellent, served on board with coffee and Heidi's home baked cake too!
Paul and Heidi are really nice people who make sure their guests have a great time.
A beautiful boat and a thoroughly good day out!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Betsie Jane River Tours also viewed

 

Been to Betsie Jane River Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Betsie Jane River Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.