We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“swan house b&b” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swan House Boutique Inn

Save Saved
You added Swan House Boutique Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Swan House Boutique Inn
By the Tower, Beccles NR34 9HE, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free dinner with Prosecco
Ranked #2 of 12 Beccles B&B and Inns
essex
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“swan house b&b”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

me partner and two boys stayed in the family room and what a room it was my boys loved it ,the room was amazing and so clean and best of all comfortable beds ,in the morning we had a beutiful breakfast ,the staff where so helpful and the food was amazing

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roland B, Owner at Swan House Boutique Inn, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thank you Rachel for such an enthusiastic response to staying with us at Swan House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    13
    6
    5
    0
See reviews for
10
60
Solo
0
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Arrived in Beccles in the late afternoon and just stumbled across the Swan.

Asked about accommodation and luckily they had one room available.

The Hotel is (my guess) 16th Century and the owner has redecorated the accommodation to a very high standard.

Everything was spotless. The bed: very comfortable. Quiet? Yes.....just perfect.

Breakfast (included) was a treat. A great chef.....and also very friendly staff.

A lovely place to eat AND sleep.

Room Tip: There are only a small number of rooms, so I am sure they would all be delightful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roland B, Owner at Swan House Boutique Inn, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
So pleased you stumbled on us and enjoyed your visit to Swan House. Thank you for the complements
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lowestoft
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I have recently experienced the pleasure of a guided tour from Roland, the owner of the Swan House to view his newly created rooms.
I was totally awed from touring each individual room,each one stunningly decorated from a different period, bespoke detailing to such a high standard.
Absolute detailing to every item strategicallyically placed to perfection,yet so homely.
The ambiance created in each room wanted me to stay in every room and so difficult to choose which one to choose first.Maybe the fireside one with a cozy glass of wine or cappicino? or maybe the unique mezamine floor with library ladder!
The Swan House is a wonderful asset to the town of Beccles and i would recommend the fine dining, eye-opening rooms, local changeable artwork and a fireside seat on cozy sofas by the bar with relaxing music and very friendly staff!

Karen Goffin

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roland B, Owner at Swan House Boutique Inn, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you for your thoughtful review Karen. It's lovely to know that the details and little touches we've put into Swan House, actually have a real effect
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed 2 nights for a friend's wedding in the area. The Swan house hotel was a real find. Goos sized, clean room with fantastic facilities. We stayed in Eln's room - beautifully decorated, great wet room, Smart TV and integrated entertainment and a separate dressing area. Breakfast was good and staff friendly at all times. The only down side is that there is no dedicated parking, but in all honesty it was easy to find a free space within 2 minutes walk and the staff directed me to it. Now we just need to find a reason to go back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roland B, Owner at Swan House Boutique Inn, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
So pleased you enjoyed your visit to Swan House and much appreciated the review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellingborough
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I have lunched and dined with guests at Swan House several times when passing through the area, over many years, and always been very happy. Swan House is a grand place to treat a client to a little fine dining without making it looking too extravagant yet still being assured that the right impression will be made.

My last visit required that I spent a couple of nights in Beccles so I booked a couple of the newly developed rooms the Swan House now offers for my customer and myself. I am usually very cautious of getting over-excited about hotel rooms in country houses, designer Inns and the like because too often I find, when it looks like it should be a nice historical building, the room one gets turns-out to be not actually in the old building at all and is generally lacking any real character.

This is not the case with Swan House and this fact is actually evident from the photos you can see of the rooms on offer. These photos are the actual rooms in which you stay - believe your eyes!

The rooms are stunning quality showcases of how well a guest-room can be specified and presented if the desire is there - like a guest-room in a millionaire's country pad. I think the difference is that this is not the result of some cunning interior designer trying to make the room look as if it is interesting - the room actually is genuine and interesting. Really good quality art, hand-made furnishings, bespoke materials used in every point, very nice detailing down to the smallest feature and all in a historical building and setting of merit. I was impressed.

My Japanese client enjoyed the visit greatly but has now grumbled about other hotels we have since visited on our travels: "not as nice hotel as Swan House Mr Curfuffle" he says pointedly.

Room Tip: I have ticked 'swimming pool' because the charming Beccles Lido (also reviewed in Trip Advis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Swan House Boutique Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan House Boutique Inn

Address: By the Tower, Beccles NR34 9HE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Beccles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Beccles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the bustling, traditional market town of Beccles, the Swan House offers beautiful and idiosyncratic bed and breakfast accommodation. Our distinctive rooms provide the perfect, cozy base from which to explore the Suffolk heritage coast, the Norfolk Broads and beyond. East Anglia at her most beautiful and varied is literally on the doorstep. After an intrepid day of exploring, come back to a delicious meal in our characterful restaurant, and a good night's sleep in a room designed to provide every comfort. Indulge in fully sprung mattresses, crisp white bedding, flat screen TV's, as well as delicious little treats and surprises. And all of this in a convivial setting, with open fires to warm you in the depths of winter, and al fresco dining throughout the warmer months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Swan House Boutique Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan House Boutique Inn Beccles, Suffolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swan House Boutique Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.