We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class Villa in Serene Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa La Massa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Villa La Massa to your Saves list
Villa La Massa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via della Massa 24, 50012 Candeli, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Candeli
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“First Class Villa in Serene Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Not often can you say you got a bargain in a 5 star establishment, but this time i will be saying it.
We stayed in the Junior Suite, 2 full bathrooms, lounge room, walk in robe, and a huge bedroom.
Do yourself a favour and stay in suite 21. Value for money at around 360.00 euro per night including breakfast.(pay in advance rate). Stunning grounds, spacious al fresco areas, full Arno River frontage, medium sized pool, gymnasium and beauty parlour.
The service was faultless, Silvio and Carmine did their utmost to ensure i was happy and well looked after, and i thank them for making my stay very special.
The food was fresh , delicious, and well presented in modest size servings. Meals starting at around 25 euro, wine starting at the same price.
Around 15 minutes drive from Florence Centre, the Villa provided a luxurious mini-bus service to and from Florence every hour until 7pm at night.
A welcome change in pace from the busy but fabulous Florence, Villa La Massa is the place you want to stay and dream of the days that have been and the days yet to come.

Room Tip: Suite 21, is a corner suite, it does look over the car park into the grounds but has a window to vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    19
    6
    5
    2
See reviews for
43
83
2
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Corpus Christi, Texas
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Splurge and stay. There are hotels around the world that are worth the splurge. This is one of them. Everything was perfect. The staff, the room, the hotel, and scenery.
Ate in the restaraunt for breakfast and I was spoiled rotten by Manuela.
Also dined for dinner. Don't be in a rush. If its warm dine on the patio. They had just finished a remodel and the views of the river were wonderfull. The food was excellant but not typical Italian. Very tuscan. My wife and I also attended a cooking school in town and know good food. This was very good.
I look forward to returning when I need a new pair of shoes from my favorite store in Florenza!

Room Tip: First choice is a room that overlooks the river. It is like a painting that comes to life.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We just returned from a 4 day stay at this well run hotel near Florence. Words do not adquately describe the sense you get when you stay at this hotel. The hotel is surrounded by trees and the Arno river on one side. There is ample parking which is a luxury if you intend to rent a car. It is close to the chianti region and within an easy drive to Sienna and other cities located in the chianti region.

We had a room with a view of the Duomo with a walk in closet. The room was clean, the bed comfortable with a well appointed bathroom. The room lacks the type of air conditioning that Americans are used to having but it was adequate. (It was very hot during out stay). I was shocked to see a critical review of the food served by the hotel. In my opinion the food was well prepared and well presented. The wait staff was excellend and attentive. The views from the hotel restuarant spectacular. What more could you ask for? I will say that my wife and I enjoyed dining al fresco at the bar two nights. The tables were located on a patio just above the Arno. On two very balmy nights we elected to eat there and were treated to excellent dishes to include home made pasta with fresh porcini sauce( it was porcini season) and or fresh pasta with tomato and basil sauce. Each was superb. Angelo, Sylvano, Maria and Carmine each in turn treated us like royalty when we dined at the bar or had after dinner drinks at the bar. The breakfasts which were included in the price of the room were also very good.

My wife and I will plan on staying at this hotel any time we travel to Florence. This is the first review I have written on line about any hotel or restaurant. This is a winner!! Treat yourself one time in your life by staying at this hotel. You will not be disappinted.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

First of all let me say that this is probably one of the most stunningly beautiful hotels in the world. The main building was a Medici country villa and it is one of the most perfect Renaissance buildings in all of Italy. As others here say, it is “second to none” (as long as you can afford it).

At the same time I must say that the food in the restaurant is about as bad as is possible to find in Italy. And this is especially surprising given that this is a 5 star property. Restaurant professionals in Florence we spoke to confirm that this is a well-known fact about the place. First of all the bread was stale. Then the amuse-bouche was smoked salmon that tasted like it was straight from the supermarket. A porcini and sausage pasta (in mushroom season!) had almost no taste. And the pasta was overcooked. And then a dish billed as guinea fowl with black truffles came out as overcooked mystery meat covered in a mystery black sauce without any hint of truffles. A cheese plate tasted like it came from the same supermarket as the smoked salmon. We did not want to subject ourselves to dessert.

My impression is that the restaurant caters to wealthy Americans who apparently do not know much about good Italian food. Stay away.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giancarlo R, Manager at Villa La Massa, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for your generous comment regarding our Villa that
you describe so positively as one of the very best hotel worldwide.

We do very much appreciate it particularly because your judgment is based on a brief afternoon visit of the property.

Concerning your negative experience at our restaurant we do acknowledge your strong criticism.

However let's also say that, as a companion of a free of charge journalist, you have choosen a curious way to inform us of your dissatisfaction.

In spite of all this we are looking forward to welcome you back in the future in order to gain your full support.
In this case please be so kind to contact me directy at giancarlo.rizzi@villalamassa.it

Sincerely yours,

Giancarlo Rizzi
Hotel Manager
Villa La Massa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We just returned from an outstanding weekend in Candeli at Villa La Massa an exquisite city retreat in a stunning mansion surrounded by a lavish garden with lemon and olive trees.

From our arrival to departure, it was a truly Tuscan dream!

We were staying in room 25 (junior suite) in the main building overlooking the pool and the Arno River, a lovely decorated room with a nice sunny bathroom. The linen sheets are really something so soothing, and cozy.

We had dinner the first night at the Verrocchio restaurant together with a wine tasting. We enjoyed this relaxing dinner while listening to the restful sounds of a harp.

It was my friend's birthday and they greeted us with a special cake.

The serenity of the place makes you feel so much like you are in heaven, that you do not want to leave Villa La Massa.

Tamara Trambusti is the soul of the hotel and nothing was too much trouble for her.

Our last night, we found as usual the weather forecast with a special farewell note and a gift. We really appreciated this attention.

We felt so relaxed that on our last day instead of going back to Florence we enjoyed staying and relaxing in the garden listening to the soft jazz music.

Villa La Massa, a perfect gateway. We cannot to return!

Room Tip: Room with a view on the Arno river, though all rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We loved this hotel!! I kept telling my husband that it felt like I was living in a fairytale while we were staying there. The property and gardens are beautiful with spectacular views of the river. Our room was very large with a huge walk-in closet and an enormous bathroom. Everything in the hotel was decorated beautifully; they did a very nice job of modernizing a 15th century villa, while still maintaining the charm of what you would expect of such a place. I can't say enough about the hotel staff. They were amazing! They helped us with everything from confirming our tours to letting us know what shuttle times would best suit our needs on the day we went into Florence. They even gave us a wake up call about 15 minutes after we set our alarms to make sure we were up so we did not miss our tours. There was such attention to detail in everything they did. The restaurant at the hotel was superb. The food was delicious and the service was very attentive. Even the bar area was lovely, I ordered a bellini and the bartender put fresh peaches in a blender to use in the drink. The staff really does a wonderful job of making you feel like the Villa is your home, and I really did not want to leave. It is the perfect place to stay in Florence!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee Ridge, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Villa La Massa is the best hotel I have ever stayed in. Great location with fantastic grounds for relaxing after a day of touring Florence or the surrounding Tuscany region, especially for children with the playground.
The dining is second to none, especially breakfast. The staff went so far as to prepare a snack and drink bag for our 23 month old granddaughter to have for a day of sightseeing.
This hotel deserves an eight or nine star rating.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa La Massa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa La Massa

Address: Via della Massa 24, 50012 Candeli, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Candeli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Candeli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa La Massa 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owned by Villa d'Este Hotels ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, T4B, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, Booking.com, Splendia, Hotel.de, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Villa La Massa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa La Massa Owned By Villa d`Este Hotel Candeli
Hotel La Massa
La Massa Hotel
Villa La Massa Province Of Florence, Tuscany, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa La Massa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.