We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views of Florence from watchtower window” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casale Fontibucci

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Casale Fontibucci to your Saves list
Casale Fontibucci
via di Fontibucci, 5, 50012 Bagno a Ripoli, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
35% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 20 Bagno a Ripoli B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Beautiful views of Florence from watchtower window”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We were really lucky to have found Aurora's watchtower in Case di San Romolo. It's a great place to visit Florence from as it is quiet and secluded on a hill side overlooking the city. We could see an incredible view of Florence from our bedroom window which was stunning throughout the day.

There is a lovely pool to cool off in and Aurora made us a delicious varying breakfast each day. She went out of her way to help us get tickets for the Uffizi and had a lot of local knowledge about the area. I would really recommend staying at Casale Fontibucci.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auroretta, Proprietario at Casale Fontibucci, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Many thanks
You are very kind. I also remember you fondly.
Aurora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
57
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed 5 lovely days at Aurora's "Casale Fontibucci" in August on recommendation from our friends who stayed here in 2005.Best decision we have made. The accomodation and Aurora are 'out of the box' and exactly what you expect Italy/Tuscany to be.... all class. Its a little hard to find at first,but that adds to its charm. Thank you Aurora you deserve the best rating....10 out 10 from two grateful Australians.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auroretta, Proprietario at Casale Fontibucci, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thanks, I remember with great pleasure the days that you have spent @ Casale Fontibucci.Aurora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

We are a family with young children and had a marvelous time. The accommodations were fantastic and we had lots of room inside and out. Aurora was extremely accommodating and a wonderful cook and host. We also enjoyed the location, we made day trips to Florence, Sienna, Pisa, Bologna and Chianti and was right in the middle and only 15 minutes from Florence. We stayed for a week of our 3 week trip and it was our favorite place. Thank to Aurora for a wonderful time.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Proprietario at Casale Fontibucci, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Thanks, I too have wonderful memories of your stay Casale Fontibucci.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

Before going on an 18 day trans-Atlantic cruise, we decide to stay 6-7 days in Tuscany. Doing just a bit of research, we chose Casale Fontibucci in Bagno a Ripoli. We were pleasantly surprised on our arrival. The grounds were beautiful and Aurora, the owner, made us feel like we were awaited friends. She made herself very accessable, but allowed us the appropriate amount of privacy. The breakfasts were wonderful......especially the fig preserves, made by herself, from a large fig tree on the property.I must admit, we didn't know the roads up would be so narrow and high, but that became part of the everyday adventure! At the end of the day, we were glad to get back and culiminated the evening by going to the terrace, playing cards and enjoying the sunset over Florence with the two feline residents!!!! (cats sitting on the wall, overlooking Florence!) Aurora directed us to 222, where we could see local wineries, walled cities, the way to local banks, the co-op(!),directions to anywhere, a chestnut festival, and my favorite, a market, a few towns over, in Rosano, where we "built" our own antipasto, had a glass of wine, some bread...........heaven! It was unusually chilly for that time of year, but with extra blankets, wine and sunshine during the day, we did just fine! The history of the place itself is overwhelming and Aurora's friendship with an artist whose work I knew was the icing on the cake for me (I am an art lover)! We were able to take a little bit of Casale Fontibucci back with us.....2 jars of fig preserves that Aurora graciously gave us and we almost took back one of the cats! The day we were packing up to leave, my husband noticed 2 eyes staring out from the car, atop the luggage! The friendliest one of the 2 cats (she greeted us almost daily when we returned from our day), almost took the trip with us to Venice (where the ship was), but then had second thoughts and hopped out!!!! We would most assuredly recommend Casale Fontibucci for a wonderful Tuscany experience. We are only sad that by the time we started to know our way around, it was time to go!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oretta, Proprietario at Casale Fontibucci, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
thanks your for the kind appreciations regarding your stay @ Casale Fontibucci
Even for me it was a pleasure to share with you ,the fruits of the garden,the landscape the cats and the Tuscan Sun
Aurora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forfar, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

My husband and I travelled through Europe for nine fabulous weeks. Casale Fontibucci will stay in our minds as the best accommodation experience of that trip. What a truly magical place it was! This impressive and unique property is situated in a peaceful quiet area, away from the hustle and bustle of the busy city, but still within a short driving distance from the nearest town. Perched high up on a hill overlooking Florence, the view from our bedroom window was like a picture postcard. Our room was thoughtfully fitted out with everything one can wish for. It was like a 'home away from home'. Lots of space, everything clean and fresh with comfortable beds, generous seating area plus little personal touches including books, magazines and local travel information. Then the breakfasts: each morning our breakfast table was set out with the most delicious tempting foods. Fresh produce from around the area and every day a different home made treat by our gracious hostess Aurora. The garden and swimming pool were immaculate and it was a pleasure to just sit there and chill out from too much sight seeing. Before we left, Aurora kindly shared her secret recipe of Italian ragu with me and we parted knowing that one day we will return. We can highly recommend this wonderful B&B to everyone wanting to experience Tuscany in style.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oretta, Proprietario at Casale Fontibucci, responded to this review, November 23, 2011
Lot of thanks for the wonderful memories you have evoked.
Even for me it was a pleasure to share with you .... the Tuscan Sun.
Greetings from Casale Fontibucci
Aurora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worthing, west sussex
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed in one of Aurora's apartments for 4 nights in September. I agree with the other reviews that Aurora is the most wonderful hostess...she gave us privacy but was around when we needed her. It was my birthday during the trip and she left me a present and card on the last morning, with her delicious fig jam to take away. It is personal touches like these that make Casale Fontibucci somewhere I am sure we shall return to.

Also, the view is stunning...driving up towards to place for the first time I couldn't quite believe it! It would have been nice to have an outside area with a view from our apartment but we soon realised tha the kitchen catches the sunset in the evening and we could just sit with our glass of wine with the windows open and didn't miss it. The pool area we had virtually to ourselves. The gardens and surrounding areas were lush and well looked after.

We flew to Pisa and hired a car -I was suprised it only took about 1 hour 10 minutes to reach Fonbtibucci. We uploaded our own sat nav at home and would have been lost without it! Aurora is very helpful with directions and recommendations but we found it took the pressure off. In the evening if you want to go out for dinner you need to drive somewhere. Our favourite place was in Fiesole (took about 20-25 minutes), 'La Reggia'. It is up a pedestrian steep hill, behind the cathedral, with again beautiful views and food. However you have a big fridge in the apartment and a couple of days we just had lunch out and stayed in in the evening. It was so peaceful and we felt totally relaxed just doing nothing.

During the day we visited Greve in the Chianti region and of course, Florence. The park and ride is cheap and easy to get to. One thing...if you get bitten by mosquitos like I do take lots of repellant. This year was apparently particularly bad for them and I got fed on wherever we went in Tuscany!

So, if you want to stay in a real Italian home with wonderful hospitality, fantastic views, peace and quiet and a delicious breakfast this place is perfect.

Room Tip: There is no A/C which I worried about but we stayed in apartment Lilla during a hot September and fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oretta, Proprietario at Casale Fontibucci, responded to this review, September 24, 2011
Thanks for the kind appreciation about Casale Fontibucci. The advice for any future guest will be very usefull.I remember fondly the days spent together.
With love .Aurora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

After choosing this location based on Trip Advisor reviews , everything was better than expected.
We found an old "casale" restored with good taste, surrounded by a blossomed and scented Mediterranean garden , all this ensemble situated in a marvellous location with a fantastic view , what do you want more ?
And the owner, Signora Aurora ? I mean anyone with some money can buy an old property and refurbish it, but you need talent and professionalism to be a host as good as she is.
The only regret we have is that we were too eager to visit everything around and we didn't allow ourselves to chill out a whole day near the pool in that heavenly garden.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oretta, Owner at Casale Fontibucci, responded to this review, October 2, 2011
I wish to thank yuo for the generous appreciation expressed about your stay @ Casale Fontibucci.
I remember you with love and hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casale Fontibucci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casale Fontibucci

Address: via di Fontibucci, 5, 50012 Bagno a Ripoli, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Bagno a Ripoli
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Bagno a Ripoli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casale Fontibucci was originally built as a watchtower in the Middle Ages, after which it is traditionally believed to have been home to Michelangelo's stonecutters. At present it is used for residential purposes by the owner, who has appointed a part of it to a B&B and holiday home. Casale Fontibucci has been featured, with numerous illustrations and an extensive description, in the book "The 70's House" edited by Wiley and Sons. The book describes the most important houses of the 70s; "Casale Fontibucci ... was, by repute, originally the home of Michelangelo's stonemason. The site of the house lies on a hill commanding a view down the valley of the Arno to Florence in the distance past the picturesque array of hilltop palazzi and villas in between". Casale Fontibucci is set amidst the rolling hills of Chianti Colli Fiorentini, more specifically in the area of Bagno a Ripoli. Surrounded by verdant countryside rich in spontaneous vegetation and orchards planted out with vines and olives, the Casale Fontibucci bed and breakfast offers not only the unspoilt natural beauties and characteristic peace of the gentle Tuscan landscape, but also all possible comforts to make your stay tranquil and enjoyable. Florence, just 15 kilometres away, is within easy reach by both public and private transport. Casale Fontibucci is also strategically placed for reaching the Firenze Sud motorway exit in just 20 minutes. All the major Tuscan art cities - Pisa, Volterra, Lucca, Siena and San Gimignano – and the entire Chianti area are within a radius of about one hour's car journey. The B&B is in an ideal position for guests to discover the Tuscan traditions through food & wine tours or more traditional cultural excursions. An old Tuscan farmhouse, the building has been renovated in complete respect for the characteristic Tuscan style, featuring stone walls, open-beam ceilings and terracotta floors. The spacious grounds surrounding the B&B have a swimming-pool with the gentle contours of a small lake set amidst flowering shrubs, olives and cypress trees. Open from May to September, both the pool and the sun terrace, fully equipped with parasols and loungers, command breathtaking views over Florence. Beach towels are provided for guests' use. Aurora, the owner of Casale Fontibucci, has been personally managing the property since she retired in 2004. A lover and connoisseur of Florence and its culture, she can arrange for you tourist itineraries off the beaten track and manage your bookings for exhibitions and museumsThe Casale Fontibucci B&B is in an ideal position for guests to discover Tuscan traditions through the classic cultural excursions or food & wine tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Casale Fontibucci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casale Fontibucci Province Of Florence/Bagno a Ripoli, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casale Fontibucci, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.