We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will return in a heartbeat!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Sestini

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bagno a Ripoli
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Sestini
Save
You added Villa Sestini to your Saves list
Via Vernalese, 21a, 50012 Bagno a Ripoli, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 20 Bagno a Ripoli B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Will return in a heartbeat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed there for a 6 days in September, a couple with 2 toddlers 3 and 5 year old.

The pictures on the website doesn't do justice to how beautiful this villa and apartment is. The winding and narrow road leading up to the villa was adventure itself, trying to maneuver our car in those narrow lanes. However, the view when you get up to Villa Sestini was rather spectacular. The location in the Tuscan hills, but yet just a 10 mins drive into Florence central was perfect for us as we were looking for space for our active toddlers.

The hostess Giovanna is amazing, warm, conscientious and responsive. When we arrived and found the beddings for the kids were not very suitable, Giovanna and her son acted on it immediately and setting up new beds and scurrying around to get us settled quickly. That was much appreciated.

The apartment Il Rosso was perfect for our family. The master bedroom is divided by a door, providing privacy when the kids are sleeping in the room while hubby and I chat in the living / dining area. The kitchenette was great but perhaps could be better equipped - a grater, ladle, chopping board were not part of the inventory. We didn't mind as we only cooked 2 meals there so didn't bother to ask Giovanna for those items either.

Otherwise, the apartment provided all the comforts of modern apartment, beautifully restored in centuries old building. The kids was happy with cable TV and was glued to the cartoon channels, we were soon led to believe perhaps they do understand Italian afterall!

Hubby and the girls got to use the pool once, when we thought the weather was warmer but we have forgotten how cold the pool water could be. It was a refreshing dip for them nevertheless!

Most of all we enjoyed the casualness of the hostess. We were not ushered for details and payment when we arrive. In fact I had to hunt her down to pay! Instead we were rewarded with a family home and great hospitality. We would return in a heartbeat and would recommend this apartment to anyone visiting Florence.

Room Tip: Il Rosso was a corner apartment - provided privacy and extra light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    22
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
45
75
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Veszprém, Veszprem, Hungary
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We spent 8 nights in Villa Sestini apartement, and enjoyed all the moment of it! The surrounding is amazing, the apartment beautiful, comfortable, and very very quiet! :-)
No noise, nobody disturbed us, but we could join internet via Wifi if we wanted to...
The pool is cleaned every morning, and no chemicals used for the cleaning!!!
No airconditioning, but the thick walls kept the rooms nice cool! Giovanna - the house LADY - made also breakfast for us, homemade jam, excellent cake, fantastic coffee, ham, cheese, butter, juice, ... fruits from her trees...it was fantastic. She helped us with parking advises, bus tickets, tips where to go, which road should be used... everything.
The view is exactly as it is in her photoes, no trick in it, it is just wonderful.
We already offered some friends, and we definitely wish to go back! And dont forget to taste her olive oil! :-))

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandaluyong, Philippines
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

The best thing about this place is the host, Giovanna, who not only handles most of your accommodation, but also serves good homemade breakfast and is willing to drive you to and from Villa Sestini to either the nearest bus stop / taxi stand or the Coop supermarket. She can handle most of your requests and tries to be helpful in every way she can.

The next best thing about this place is the location itself. From there, you can relax at Villa Sestini's garden while watching a view of Florence at any time, whether at sunrise, sunset or evening. There is almost absolute peace and quiet, which is perfect for those who want to get away from all the noise and just want to experience the isolation from the rest of the world. You can explore the surrounding areas which are full of typical Italian countryside This is also great for those who want to reflect on certain things about their life as there are minimal distractions here besides the existence of a wifi, which most of us need in some cases of emergency. Despite being technically at the countryside, it is still very close to central Florence so you would need less time to travel here than most countryside accommodations in Italy.

You can even see a few wild animals here such as squirrels if you're lucky. There are some olive trees, apricot trees and cypress trees which you can always see from here. Giovanna already prepared some of her apricots in our room which we could sample.

The location itself is far from modern facilities most of us are used to such as supermarkets, convenience stores, malls, etc. You would have to prepare your basic necessities such as food, drinks and toiletries before you try to get to this place. You may find little to do in this place besides walking around and exploring the surrounding areas.

Also, the nearest bus stop is a couple of miles away from this place so it would be very inconvenient for those planning to commute here. Unless you have GPS, you may also have trouble driving to this place. Taxis, with most drivers never getting this far, may have difficulty finding the place, but thankfully, taxis in Italy use modern GPS devices nowadays that direct them to the exact place if you give them the specific address. Also, Giovanna is very willing to pick up and drop off from the nearest bus station / landmark, which should mostly negate any problem of finding Villa Sestini.

One may also find the lack of any TVs, and the very old locks may take some time to get used to. Bathrooms separate from bedrooms may be inconvenient to some people.

Despite all these, if Villa Sestini were to have none of these, it would take away the very purpose of the place, which is to provide peace and relaxation away from the world. Part of the charm of this accommodation is to be away from it all and to give yourself full days of rest with almost nothing else to worry about. This is where you fully recharge after a long tour or a busy schedule with minimal distractions so that you can proceed to do anything else after with full strength and energy to continue on.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

If you are looking for a place simply excellent to contemplate, get real rest and a time to communicate, Villa Sestini is the best place to be. No distractions and great out doors for walks with olive trees and pine trees abound. Great 14th or 15th century painting/s and frescos on the roadside and a small chapel nearby. A place to invigorate not just the body but also the soul without being totally out of touch with the modern world- has wifi and cellphone signals are great!

Great for families, Couples (either for honey moon or a simple getaway) or tired executives who just want to experience Italian country side living.

Great host who makes her very own apricot jam, picked right out of the trees in front of the house and a great baker too!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Very modern accommodation in a very old house, 70 cm outer walls, 1m thick inner walls! Super friendly hosts and a great viwe over the city. The pool is a treat. Very quiet at night and lovely day/night temperatures in June. Wifi works well and they even supply you with the bus ticket for the first day. Park and ride works well into town. Well woth the 30 min into town to stay so,peacefully and enjoy the quiet and sunsets.

Room Tip: Il Rosso has a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancaster, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Our family stayed at this beautiful B&B for two nights in May. It is a tranquil 700 year old home in the middle of olive orchards and a beautifully maintained garden. Giovanna the owner was the most gracious and helpful of hosts, and her breakfasts were fabulous with homemade cake! We have three children ages 10, 12, and 14 years and they had so much fun exploring and playing in the garden after touring Florence all day. My husband and I loved sitting outside under the grape vine lattice overlooking the sunset on Florence...with a glass of wine of course! The rooms were impeccably clean and very spacious with age-old character and charm. We were sad to leave, and will definitely visit Sestini again and for a longer stay! If you are looking for a peaceful refuge after touring Florence all day you have found the perfect place.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are beautiful and spacious and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bamberg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

We were met at the Villa with a smile and warm welcome by Giovanna and felt as if we were staying at a friends house. She was extremely helpful and supplied maps, directions and advise on how to best travel into the city, park etc. The location on a hillside surrounded by olive groves was fantastic. The beds were comfortable and the surrounding countryside quiet. Within a five minute drive there is a convienient park and ride that would have been impossible to find without Giovanna's directions. This allowed us to park all day and all three of us to ride the bus both ways for 2 1/2 euro. We would definately stay there again and in fact are much more likely to visit Florence again because of this great base of operations. The narrow road is part of the charm. Our GPS did not list it but it is not hard to find, just keep going up the hill till you find the address. We did not have a chance to explore the area on foot but Giovanna supplied us with a topographic map that showed hiking trails all throughout the immediate area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Sestini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Sestini

Address: Via Vernalese, 21a, 50012 Bagno a Ripoli, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Bagno a Ripoli
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Bagno a Ripoli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Sestini B&B is located on the beautiful hills overlooking Florence, 15 minutes by car from the city center.The villa, from the 15th century, offers an enchanting stay to guests who want to enjoy a holiday dedicated to: arts, excursions, nature and sports. Very close there are: a riding-school, a golf club, tennis courts and a wood for open air walks.On request the breakfast is served in the Italian-style garden. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Sestini Province Of Florence/Bagno a Ripoli, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Sestini, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.