We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bed and Breakfast La Limonaia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Bed and Breakfast La Limonaia to your Saves list
Bed and Breakfast La Limonaia
Via di Terzano 34, 50012 Bagno a Ripoli, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 21 Bagno a Ripoli B&B and Inns
New York, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

Our stay at La Limonaia with Giulio and Christina was a highlight of our honeymoon. First, as soon as I sent an email inquiring about a stay, Giulio called me and helped me plan out our entire Italian honeymoon, which was much much appreciated. Giulio and Christina were extremely warm, and wonderful cooks and tour guides! We felt like we got an insider's view of the beautiful area. Giulio personally took me to the pharmacy and helped me out when I got sick, and we had a great time with him on his tour of a winery and goat farm. The room and property are beautiful and peaceful, and it was a relatively easy and quick busride into Florence. Our stay was unique and wonderful and we hope to cross paths with this wonderful couple again! It feels like they are old friends.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    6
    0
    3
    1
See reviews for
10
45
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

We stayed two nights with Guilio and Christina based on the recommendation of some friends. They were very friendly and hospitable. The view from their garden of the olive tree fields and the entire city and surrounding hills of Florence are incredible. We stayed in much pricier hotels in the cities during our trip and this quiet, authentic B&B was just what we needed. Guilio took us on a wine tour which we strongly recommend as well.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2010

My wife and I chose the honeymoon package at La Limonaia after reading all of the wonderful reviews on TripAdvisor. We were not disappointed! Our stay at La Limonaia was exactly how we pictured our Tuscan honeymoon. We wanted to experience the rolling hills and smaller towns of Tuscany but still have access to all of the history and culture of Florence and the honeymoon package was the perfect compromise. The castle wine tasting tour and the truffle hunting tour were both between 45 minutes to an hour drive from La Limonaia and provided absolutely beautiful views along the way. The tours were outstanding and we had a ton of fun. If you are at all interested in truffle hunting (we had no idea what it was but all it took was smelling a jar of truffles to convince us we were going) make sure to give this tour a try. We went walking through the country side with two specially trained dogs that were able to sniff out truffles ranging in size from a tiny pebble to the size of a tennis ball. Then we went back to the truffle factory and had an excellent meal that was prepared with the truffles we had just found. It was very cool and an experience we will always remember.

As great as those tours were, the highlight of our stay was the candlelight dinner in a vineyard owned by good friends of Giulio and Christina's. Let me just say this: If you ever stay at La Limonaia do not skip this dinner. It was unbelievable and easily the most memorable part of our honeymoon. The food was outstanding, the wine was outstanding and the view and company could not have been any better. Giulio and Christina and their friend and vineyard owner Christian were fantastic. We had a great time talking and drinking wine as Christian was preparing the huge meal and Christina took tons of pictures which she later made into a slide show and emailed to us. Once the food was ready they made sure we had everything we needed and then walked up the path and gave us some time alone. It was hard to believe we were in such a beautiful place having such an amazing meal. It truly made an already great honeymoon perfect.

We could not have picked a better place to stay in Tuscany for our honeymoon. I had never been to Italy before so I was a little unsure if we would know enough about our destination to truly get the most out of it. Staying at La Limonaia was like having a friend who knows all of the ins and outs of Florence and Tuscany there to answer all of your questions. Every morning at our huge and delicious breakfasts Giulio and Christina would help make sure we had all of the information we needed. From suggesting which sites to hit in Florence to helping with restaurant recommendations to even giving us maps and making sure we knew which bus to take at a certain time of day. They could not have been any nicer or more helpful. Also, they are fantastic cooks! Thank you so much Giulio and Christina for helping to make our honeymoon absolutely perfect!

Peter and Amy

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

It is exactly two years since my 19 year old son and 12 year old daughter and I stayed at the exquisitely beautiful La Limonaia. We have been reminiscing and looking at photos - Giulio and Cristina were not only the perfect hosts - they were our friends, lively conversationalists and accommodated every need to ensure we all had a good time. The postcard pretty views over Firenze from La Limonaia are better than anything a travel agent could imagine. Huge, elegant and clean rooms, fresh air and unique hospitality - all a stones throw from the hub of Firenze. We loved your sense of humour Giulio and without a doubt, it was the best place we stayed while we were in Italy. We wish we were there again and apologies for taking so long to write a well deserved review.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2009

My wife and some other family members recently spent 5 nights at La Limonaia. Our hosts Christina and Guilio couldn't have been more gracious. Our rooms were very clean and comfortable. The views overlooking Florence are beautiful and there is an amazing quiet. There is a a church bell that rings every half hour that i though would bother us. After a few hours I don't know what happens to your senses but you can no longer hear it even though its right there.

This is not a full service hotel with room service and those conveniences but a wonderful way to experience Florence and Tuscany in a more quite and calm manner.

No TV was good for me. Unreliable WIFI signal could have been better.

The tours that Guilio arranged and conducted were the best part of the trip. They were small and very unique. My favorite was Truffle hunting but he can arrange many others depending on your interests.

I enjoy phiotography and Guilio gave me plenty of beautiful opportunities to take some great photos.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrselett
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2009

What makes this B&B special are the owners and their kindness, conversation and willingness to go above and beyond for their quests. We took the bus to the B&B. Guilio, the owner, picked us up from the bus stop after we called from a pay phone. He also took us to and from the bus stop the following day and to the bus stop again the day we left. We did not have a rental car, but there is parking on site if you choose to do so.

We had great conversations and were treated to a complimentary bottle of wine since we were celebrating our anniversary. We did the candlelight dinner in the vineyard, which I must say was one of the most memorable parts of our entire trip to Italy. This excursion is organized by La Limonaia. Absolutely breathtaking!

The view is gorgeous from the garden…you can see Florence in all of its glory. The room was the largest we stayed in during our entire time in Italy. The bed was very comfortable. We got a little warm during our summer stay and were quickly provided a fan.

This is a place to get away from it all and turn on the romance. No tv, no phone, just wine, views and each other.

There are friendly cats that hang around the property. I’m actually allergic, but didn’t have any problems.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
likehow22
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2009

My cousin, brother and I recently traveled to Tuscany for vacation from New York. During our trip we booked a day with Giulio which included a wine and cheese tour. The day was perfect! Every detail was planned for us and we worried about nothing. Giulio was very knowledgeable and kind. He took into account not only our budget, but our limited knowledge regarding both areas. The individuals he paired us up with were also very kind and ready and willing to answer all of our many questions as well as provide us with the most high quality service and products that they had available. Although we did not have the chance to stay at his B&B, I'm sure that Giulio presents the same careful care and service. I will most definitely be booking a day with Giulio again on my next trip to Tuscany!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bagno a Ripoli
3.0 mi away
Relais Villa Il Sasso Historical Place
2.4 mi away
Together Florence Inn
Together Florence Inn
#2 of 5 in Bagno a Ripoli
4.0 of 5 stars 423 reviews
12.1 mi away
Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Casignano B&B
Casignano B&B
#2 of 21 in Bagno a Ripoli
5.0 of 5 stars 77 reviews
1.0 mi away
Villa Nobili B&B
Villa Nobili B&B
#4 of 21 in Bagno a Ripoli
5.0 of 5 stars 37 reviews
2.5 mi away
Casale Fontibucci
Casale Fontibucci
#1 of 21 in Bagno a Ripoli
5.0 of 5 stars 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed and Breakfast La Limonaia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and Breakfast La Limonaia

Address: Via di Terzano 34, 50012 Bagno a Ripoli, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Bagno a Ripoli
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Bagno a Ripoli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Limonaia is a family bed and breakfast specialised in wine and food experience. It gives you the oppoertunity to enter in our older toscany traditions in the respect of what our family teach us. Came, smell, taste, eat and drink the party is started! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Bed and Breakfast La Limonaia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed And Breakfast La Limonaia Province Of Florence/Bagno a Ripoli, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bed and Breakfast La Limonaia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.