We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loving Florence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Il Colle

Save Saved
You added Villa Il Colle to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Il Colle
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Via Montisoni, 43-45 | Antella, 50011 Bagno a Ripoli, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 18 Bagno a Ripoli B&B and Inns
Brookfield, Illinois
1 review
“Loving Florence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We spent several days at this B&B, and had the best time! My husband and I stay at B&Bs frequently and found this to be o e of the BEST. Our host, Aziellio was so gracious and accommodating. The rooms are just beautiful, spacious and very clean. Prices were very reasonable. Breakfast was most excellent! Aziellio always got us to the neighboring town on our own schedule. Taking the buses was never a problem and a great way to really experience the area. Very quiet and peaceful get away.

Room Tip: All the rooms were lovely, our adult daughters had the three person room and my husband and I shared...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    16
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
14
21
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Lovely family run B&B. All looked after us very well including dropping & picking us up from Antella. On the 1st day, the bus driver asked us to get off 4-5 stops earlier & take a coach ride which was incorrect. The owner, Arcelio, kindly came to pick us up all the way from there. We stayed in the junior suite which has beautiful views of Florence & the surrounding area. Breakfast is made up of homemade delights and is served inside or in the garden. Florence is around 30-40 mins bus ride from Antella on the no. 32 bus upto San Marco then change buses for a further 4 stops to reach downtown. Incidentally, Antella is the last bus stop on the no. 32 from San Marco. If you like to be away from the city hustle & bustle, this is a perfect country retreat.

Simone, Arcelio's son, is an excellent DJ & music producer. Worth listening to some of his sounds.

All in all, we had great stay here.

Room Tip: I'd book the Junior Suite if you are able to. It's beautiful & the view is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London - England
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Villa Il Colle
Excellent value B&B in an old house about a mile from Antella and well located for both Florence and Chiantishire. Our first time In Tuscany and being base here meant we could look at town and country. You can park in Florence, our hosts gave us a map that helped greately, its an easy drive to Piazza Cesare Beccaria underground car park and its about a mile walk through a veg market to the Duomo, there is a bus system in town as well, if you can master it.
You have access to a small courtyard garden where you can relax and have breakfast as well if its warm enough, otherwise its inside.
We had the huge junior suite that had distant views into Florence and the Duomo, about 5 miles direct, I would recommend it if available.
If you dont eat in town there is a small and very 'local' restaurant in Antella, the Osteria Staccia Buratta, another mile will take you to Grassina where there are several, the Osteria Rosso and the cheap and cheerful Pizzaria Jimmy, more family oriented. We enjoyed all of them.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We are father and daughter and stayed for three nights in this B&B. It was very quiet, calm and peacefull, located at the top of a hill (small road to get there though) but beautiful view. The owners were really nice, very good breakfast, large and luxurious rooms with large bathroom. Everything was perfect. 30min driving with the bus to go to Florence, and with car 15 min, perfect. A perfect B&B to escape from busy Florence.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Garden
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Can't recommend this B&B highly enough. Sparkling clean, lovely room with modern ensuite bathroom, lovely location, Arcelio, the owner is BEYOND helpful...too kind! Wonderful complete and squisite breakfast. Owners will do anything to ensure your comfort.

This was a great place to stay. The whole facility was beautifully designed, decorated and well maintained and the proprietor could not have been more friendly or accommodating. The view from our room over the surrounding countryside was gorgeous seeinf Florence from the top and the proximity to Florence is an easy and close drive. The variety of offerings at breakfast was just short of overwhelming including juice of blood oranges. Finally, the price of our stay was really affordable. We plan to stay there again and to recommend it to all of our friends.

Oh, I almost forgot. Ask Arcelio's wife to take you to her boutique. She has a wonderful taste with all she offers there. She has items you will not find in Florence and excellent prices.
This was the best place of our 2 week vacation.

Room Tip: All the suites are fine but ask for the suite Il Colle. It is the best suite with the best view. You...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

excellent experience, the owners are very nice and friendly, we stayed in the suite and could enjoy the gorgeous view of the city and its dome. Very good value for money and unique location. Just 15 minutes from city centre by car.

Room Tip: if you want a unique experience, go for the suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We are a family of three, eager to have a "tuscanian" experience. Well, Villa Il Colle was the best choice. Just 15 minutos from Florence, set in a hill with a breathtaking view of the historical city, in the midst of an oasis of tranquility and yet close to the Chianti Strada and the highway. The property is beautiful, with a "cortile" in which the most delicious breakfast is served every morning. We took the "suite Il Colle" and were delighted with our choice. The whole B&B is tastefully decorated, every detail taken care of. The room was spotlessly clean, huge, with a comfortable sofa bed for our 12 years old daughter and a king size four posted bed, satellite LD TV, free wi fi, lots of space for luggage and almost everything and a lovely bath with yet another view of Firenze, AC for the warm summer nights ... heaven on earth. Luisa, Azelio and their son Simone proved to be great hosts, giving advice on anything you might need to know. Luisa also owns a small boutique nearby with gorgeos and affordable clothes. Have I mentioned the yummy breakfasts? Home made pastries, delicious juice, real coffee, an ample selection of teas, prosciutto, cheese, home made marmalades, an incredible honey and brusquettas to die for. "Il Colle" is great for those willing to visit nearby places, such as Lucca, Pisa, San Giminiano, the beautiful "Chianti Strada" with all its vineyards ... I just hope to be able to go back soon!!!

Room Tip: Ask for Suite Il Colle. I'm sure the rest of the rooms are nice but this is just perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Il Colle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Il Colle

Address: Via Montisoni, 43-45 | Antella, 50011 Bagno a Ripoli, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Bagno a Ripoli
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Bagno a Ripoli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Il Colle 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Venere, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Villa Il Colle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Il Colle Province Of Florence/Bagno a Ripoli, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Il Colle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.