We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Many excellent features but some cautions advisable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Li Zuti Country Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Li Zuti Country Resort to your Saves list
Li Zuti Country Resort
4.0 of 5 Villa   |   di Montisoni 54/56 | San Donato in Collina, 50012 Bagno a Ripoli, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Many excellent features but some cautions advisable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

We selected Li Zuti, based on TA reviews, after being unable to make up our minds about a place to stay in Florence itself for our three nights in the area. Li Zuti has many things in its favor - spectacular hillside location, isolation and tranquility, a beautiful building and grounds, large rooms, great value for the money, and truly wonderful people. Matilde, the manager, and Alessandro, one of the co-owners, went far above and beyond the norm in their efforts to help us have a good stay, being very generous with their time and resources. Nevertheless, we expect that Li Zuti is not the best choice for everyone, and in various ways is definitely a work in progress.

Li Zuti is isolated and tranquil because it really is out in the country, about a 30-minute drive from one of Florence's large parking garages. For a kilometer or more near the approach to the resort one drives up a narrow, twisty, gravel road - you wouldn't be sorry to have four-wheel drive, especially if it had been raining. Additionally, and this is certainly not the fault of the resort, you absolutely must not rely on Google Maps to get you there - we were directed up the wrong side of the mountain and got lost in the middle of nowhere. But, as an example of how nice the people are, we called the resort for help and Alessandro came and met us in town to guide us up the hill the right way. (Be totally certain that your route takes you through San Donato in Collina, or else call the resort for instructions that you follow completely). No staff is on the grounds after about 7 pm, although Alessandro promised to be close by and always available by phone for any problems.

The building is quite old but has been extensively renovated recently, so things are very fresh and clean. However, there are various goofy features, some of which will be correctable over time. For example, our suite's front door, which was almost entirely clear glass with an awkward curtain arrangement, looked directly into the bathroom - a different door or a different curtain will help. The shower is lovely but drained poorly, creating a dangerous slipperiness on the tile. When we pointed this out, we learned that the floor of the shower had been installed without adequate slope and would have to be replaced. We suggested that there should at least be rubber mats in the shower, and the resort sent someone out to buy them for us first thing the next morning. Breakfast consists of a very ample supply of cold items delivered to your room at whatever time you wish, but was the same each morning - we would have preferred some variety. Our room had its own coffee maker, which proved to work erratically, but Alessandro immediately replaced it with another.

We'll give Li Zuti four stars, with a yellow caution indicator.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lizuti, Responsabile reception at Li Zuti Country Resort, responded to this review, April 6, 2012
Dear Guests,

We would really like to thank you for your review. We take your suggestions and comments to heart: they are extremely important to improve our service.

Thank you also for your nice comments about our staff, we always try to do our best to satisfy the expectations and needs of our clients.
With reference to the road, Li Zuti is located in the country side and only the last km is a little bit narrow but it is difficult to meet other cars. The road has been almost entirely paved and only 300mt are still unpaved.

Thank you for mentioning the Google Map’s wrong driving directions: we know about the problem so we always send an e-mail with detailed driving directions before clients’arrival.


Regarding the curtain of the suite’s front door thank you for your suggestion.
The suite you booked Fileto has two entering private doors and both can be locked. The first is located on the ground floor and it is separated from the other through a private stair. Thanks to the glass door guests may enjoy the wonderful view over the park and the swimming pool. This door is equipped with two curtains and looks directly to the living room and the door’s bathroom.

We really hope to welcome you again.

Thank you,

Alessandro e Matilde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
35
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

we stayed at Li Zuti for 4 nights in september 2011,we enjoyed our stay in this beautifull place,the suite was perfect for a family of 4,it was well equipped,clean and the service was just fantastic.
I wish to congratulate and thank the management and service personnel for such a well run place,
Thank you
Philip

Room Tip: we stayed in the ambrosia room unit and it was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

We stayed at Li Zuti for a week in August 2011 and had an amazing vacation. The suite was brand new, had a sophisticated decor, amazing views from every room, fully stocked kitchen, gas grill, satellite tv, wireless internet, beautiful bedding, fancy bathroom, etc. However, the best aspect is the resort itself, its private gardens, the spectacular pool/jacuzzi, the wonderful lounge... and the location, convenient to town. Thank you to our hosts, who were welcoming and friendly, and have a great attention to details. We will definitely want to return!

Isabelle & Jocelyn, Montreal, Canada

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

Service: excellent, Rooms: comfortable, clean, Food: really 'toszkán' style, Place: unique atmosphere, Matilde Flussi (sales manager): 'angel'

Zoltán from Hungary

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lizuti, Responsabile reception at Li Zuti Country Resort, responded to this review, September 17, 2011
Caro Zoltan,
a big thank you for your kind words and for the time that you and your friends spent in our Resort!
We really hope to welcome you guys very soon.
Cari saluti,
Matilde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

The Resort is in an excellent location and we were able to drive into the centre of Florence easily. The apartment was beautiful and just what we were looking for. The garden and swimming pool were also great and immaculate. The staff were very friendly, especially Matilde the Manager. The breakfast was generous and Matilde recommended some good restaurants less than 10 minutes drive away for the evening. We had a fabulous stay and would definitely like to return.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lizuti, Responsabile reception at Li Zuti Country Resort, responded to this review, September 2, 2011
Dear Guests,
Thank you for taking time to write this wonderful review and for the nice comment you posted!
I am so happy to know that we were all able to help you and make you feel welcome and comfortable during your stay: take care of our guests is our main goal.
We looking forward to welcome you again in a near future!

Warmest regards,
Matilde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

It's just as the pictures show it, only recently opened and completely renovated. The grounds and pool are amazing, the pride of ownership shows in the maintenance. The rooms are very clean and spacious, all very modern with no expense spared, and the in room kitchen has everything you need. Breakfast was delivered each morning upon request and offers a wide range of options.

The only drawback is the location if you plan on doing day trips to all of the small towns in Tuscany - Li Zuti is about a 15 minute drive off the main roads, but with all the amenities of such a great place you don't really want to leave the resort anyhow. Definitely suited for couples and respectful children.

Room Tip: all rooms are well appointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lizuti, Responsabile reception at Li Zuti Country Resort, responded to this review, August 10, 2011
Dear Guests,
we are so delighted to know that your stay at our Resort matched your expectation. “It's just as the pictures show it” is exactly our main purpose!
The resort is located on the Florentine hills about 15km from Florence city center and about 40 minutes’ drive from Chianti Region: as you so kindly noticed, the privacy and the atmosphere you may enjoy at Li Zuti, worth this small distance from the main roads.
Thank you so much for taking time to write this nice review.
Warmest regards,
Matilde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

If you are vacationing in Firenze or anywhere remotely close to Firenze, you should stay at the Li Zuti Country Resort. It's beautiful, peaceful, relaxing, and away from the busy Firenze. The time and energy the owners have put into the grounds, pool area and apartments can't be beat. This resort is perfect for couples and families. The owners and staff are friendly and their service is unsurpassed. But don't take our word for it ~ just book your next reservation here and see for yourself. Enjoy!! Lisa & Alf ~

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lizuti, Responsabile reception at Li Zuti Country Resort, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
Dear Lisa and Alf,
How are you both? It was really a pleasure to have guests like you and we really hope you have the chance to visit us back. Thank you for your wonderful review about our resort and the staff and for suggesting Li Zuti to other travellers.
A big “thank you” from all of us!
Cari saluti
Matilde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Li Zuti Country Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Li Zuti Country Resort

Address: di Montisoni 54/56 | San Donato in Collina, 50012 Bagno a Ripoli, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Bagno a Ripoli
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Bagno a Ripoli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Li Zuti Country Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Li Zuti Country Resort - Beautiful property comprising 6 units situated in quiet and panoramic location on the hills surrounding Florence. This property dating back to the 13th century, has been completely restored preserving its original architectural features and turned into welcoming accommodations providing all comforts and nice interiors furnished with pieces of modern design. Outside, guests can enjoy use of large areas with lawn, solarium terrace and a beautiful pool with water-falls and Jacuzzi area. This property is approx. 12 km away from Florence and is in easy access to the major destinations in Tuscany as well as to the Chianti region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Splendia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Li Zuti Country Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Li Zuti Country Resort Province Of Florence/Bagno a Ripoli, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Li Zuti Country Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.