We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even more beautiful than the photos!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Relais Villa Il Sasso Historical Place

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Relais Villa Il Sasso Historical Place to your Saves list
Relais Villa Il Sasso Historical Place
Via Di Belmonte 27, 50012 Bagno a Ripoli, Italy   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bagno a Ripoli
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Even more beautiful than the photos!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We absolutely LOVED our stay at Villa ill Sasso! The owners are very nice and more than willing to help you with anything you may need from booking tickets for sights in Florence, to amazing restaurants in the area that are loved by locals.
A car is a must as this Villa is located on the outskirts of Florence, which for us was perfect as we got to enjoy the best of both worlds and have fun while trying to navigate our way around the streets of Florence.
We stayed in the Ciampolini suite for 4 nights, trust me, it is even more beautiful then the photos! The overall villa is small, but so warm and lovely with great breakfasts, beautiful antiques, relaxing pool and gardens.

This Villa is a real gem, why stay in Florence when you can wake up in the beautiful Tuscan countryside?!? I am already dreaming of the next time we can come and stay here. Thank you for the beautiful memories Villa il Sasso!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    13
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
53
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 5 nights and had a wonderful time. As many mention this is a small hotel with only 7 suites, but they are of a very high standard, good space and comfortable. The private grounds are maintained to a very high standard and are kept very clean at all times.

The thing that makes this place "special" is the incredibly good service provided by Emiliano and his wonderful wife with so many ideas on where, when and how to get the best experience from your visit.

This is a great location for Florence (take the bus!!), Sienna, Chianti etc with most of the usual Tuscan must sees being easy to reach, and you can access good quality restaurants fairly locally (but all by car). My only negative about the place would be the noise, which I wasnt expecting and hadnt seen mentioned in other reviews. I was expecting a charming hotel set in the quiet hills of Tuscany - I got the charming hotel but their is a noticeable hum from the autostrada at the bottom of the hill, and their is a nearby hospital where you get the usual road and air ambulance noise. This was a bot of a shock at first and it made me think about moving on, but the service and quality of the hotel makes up for it and I am very glad we stayed on.

Room Tip: The hotel doesnt do dinners, but with a little notice can provide lunch - be prepared to travel out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My wife and I had a great time, while staying at Villa Sasso. We were treated to a beautifully well appointed suite. The grounds were immaculate and the family owners treated us with open hospitality. I would certainly recommend Villa Sasso to friends travelling to Florence.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

we stayed for 2 nights, in Ciampolini suite -very special room! it was on the ground floor, with a separate exit to the pool, with a kettle to make tea and coffee for a change! not all hotels have it in the rooms in Italy for some reason.. beautiful decoration and furniture... But- you can hear the people walking on the top floor so if you are a light sleeper better reserve a room on the top floor... and its quit tricky to get there even by GPS but we managed... the staff was very nice, overall a very nice experience!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I am in Florence for business, and just stayed here for the weekend. It is an old villa that was renovated but the young couple. The service is friendly and professional. The villa is in a small hill, they a a nice pool with great views.

Emiliano and his wife have always good tips for restaurants and tours. The rooms are amazing, each one different and with the old charm. The rooms are big, have a lot of character and very clean. The hotel is small 5 or 7 rooms. Everything is beautiful do not miss it.

Room Tip: All rooms are great. The ones on the first floor have an excelent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, UK
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We had the perfect 5 day stay at Villa il Sasso. As all the previous reviewers mention this is a very special place, made even more special by the owners.

My husband booked this as a birthday treat and it was fantastic choice. This is a small hotel with just 5 rooms and lots and lots of character. The place is immaculate and furnished to a very high standard. It has a lovey pool and lots of outside space to sit and relax.

The hotel is located on a small hill about 10 mins drive from the center of Florence. it is at the start of the Chianti highway so plenty of beautiful old villages and vineyards to visit.

The owners are extremely welcoming and really made our stay. They gave lots of recommendations of places to visit and also places to park in Florence, driving in Florence can be traumatic!!! They also recommended some absolutely fantastic places to eat in the evenings, and made all the necessary bookings. We would never have found the places they mentioned on our own. The hotel itself doesn't serve dinner, which we were a little concerned about when we first booked but going out and trying the restaurants they recommended actually became the highlight of the trip.

We had a lovely stay and have already recommended this place to friends and family.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
estonia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

The Villa is nice and comfortable. Very relaxing, small and quiet. Great view from the poolside garden. Spotless and the best feature are the people working there. Very friendly, helpful and professional.
Everything was beautiful. We spent the beginning of our honeymoon there and it was great. It is perfect if you want to visit Firenze and Chianti both. It is situated @Bagno a Ripoli - so it is between Firenze city and Chianti. The rooms are different and very nice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Relais Villa Il Sasso Historical Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Villa Il Sasso Historical Place

Address: Via Di Belmonte 27, 50012 Bagno a Ripoli, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Bagno a Ripoli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bagno a Ripoli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few minutes from the historical center of Florence, nestled in the quiet green Tuscan hills, adjacent to the famous Chianti area, rises on the top of a rock (hence the original name of the Villa) Relais Villa il Sasso.A historical residence, that dates back to the 1300’s, as recounted by historical evidence where known Florentine families and friars lived for part of their lives leaving traces of their presence and recognition inside.Villa Il Sasso, now owned by the Concilio Family, has been transformed from a family home into a luxurious residence for Leisure and relax stays as well as business travel or small business meetings. The structure has maintained, deliberately, the intimacy of a home with 'careful and meticulous research in the details, which allows the customer to savor the past and be assisted with care and discretion throughout the whole stay living the comfort of your own home. Specifically, Relais Villa Il Sasso offers bright spacious rooms Elegance and Deluxe, each room is decorated differently with the typical characteristics of the land of Tuscany, from the original brick used in the area, breathtaking view of the country, frescoes, fireplaces and antiques that warm and complete the atmosphere, never forgetting all the comforts that modern life requires as well as intimate and pleasant common spaces such as the HALL and the BREAKFAST room where every morning a buffet is served. Our clients may request the use of a small kitchen, or that lunch and drinks be served at the pool at sunset to be completely pampered with background music. Villa il Sasso has a wonderful winter garden, where you can relax reading a book, watch TV as well as a terrace that overlooks the hills where you can enjoy a good glass of Chianti, even by candlelight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Escapio, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, HostelWorld and Tingo so you can book your Relais Villa Il Sasso Historical Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Villa Il Sasso Historical Place Province Of Florence/Bagno a Ripoli, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Relais Villa Il Sasso Historical Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.