We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice slopes and loudy after-ski” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hemsedal Ski Centre

Hemsedal Ski Centre
Skiheisvegen 1, Hemsedal 3560, Norway
815 56 300/320 55 300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 12 things to do in Hemsedal
Attraction details
Gothenburg, Sweden
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice slopes and loudy after-ski”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Even in the middle of December there were quite a few slopes open, but not so many that you would be greatly amused by the variety for three days. Anyway, very acceptable considering the time of the year. The slopes were quite easy and very wide. I was surprised by the lack of safety nets besides the slopes. We got to witness one run-away ski rocketing down the hill which could have been stopped by a safety net, this time luckily there was a fast guy who stopped the ski from plunging down the edge to next slope and continuing down the hill. Poor girl who had to stumble down such a long way to get her another ski!

There are mainly chair lifts up the hill so you get to rest your legs nicely. There are a couple of cafés and restaurants around the hill and the first after-ski (Skistua) is almost at the bottom of the hill. Very loud music and lots of people! If you go to the second after-ski (Stavkroa), be prepared to get your clothes wet from beer, people seem to be having fun pouring beer bottles or jugs on other people. :P

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    19
    1
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic resort suitable for all ages”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We've visited Hemsedal many times, starting when our kids were small, right through to this year when all of them are adults and teens. In fact two of our kids learned to ski here, my husband learned to snowboard and I went from being a nervous beginner to tackling the occasional black run (on a good day, when I've feeling brave). Hemsedal has runs to suit all levels - right from a fabulous green run which is 11 kilometres long, to very demanding off piste. There's a lovely children's area, right next to the main complex which contains the ski hire outlet, shop, restaurant and ski pass sales. That makes it so easy for parents to deal with all the complicated business of getting everyone into their gear and organised. There are lots of different lessons available, including private sessions which are brilliant if there's something specific you want to tackle. The teachers are enthusiastic and encouraging.

The accommodation here is lovely and varied, from hotels to individual cabins - we've tried them all. The scenery is beautiful and there's snow from mid November until the end of April, although if you want the best conditions, January and February are the times to visit.

The only drawback is the travelling time from Oslo - around 3 hours driving from Gardermoen, but the roads are good and there's very little traffic. You can take the train to Gol and a bus from there to Hemsedal, but with small kids that might be a struggle.

Overall, Hemsedal is one of my favourite places to visit. We'll keep going back, no doubt about that.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great Ski resort, fun for the whole family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Skied here twice both times in February. Fantastic snow coverage, great weather and guaranteed snow.
Good range of runs, great atmosphere and very family/child friendly.
Great ski school, good range of lessons but could do with having longer lessons.
Off to Trysil next year.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemsedal, Buskerud, Norway
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent ski resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Nice demanding and easy slopes surrounded by spectacular nature. What more would you need to satisfy all your ski dreams.
Nice atmosphere in cosy Hemsedal.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC Metro
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great mountain with something for everyone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Spent a weekend in mid April at Hemsedal and was treated to the best riding of my life. Woke up to a foot of fresh powder one morning and a beautful day with no clouds and perfect temps the next day.

Loved the variety of terrain and the incredible amount of freedom you have to go where you want.
The t bar and disc pulls are something I have never used in the US, but after a few tries I was comfortable using them,

We rented a slope side cabin and paid a lot less for lift tix and lodging than we would have at any place in the states. It is a bit difficult to get to, but if you are in Norway it's a great place to ski/ride. The after ski was also a major highlight....nothing like dancing on tables after a long day on the slopes.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hemsedal Ski Centre also viewed

Hemsedal, Hemsedal Municipality
 
Hemsedal, Hemsedal Municipality
Hemsedal, Hemsedal Municipality
 

Been to Hemsedal Ski Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hemsedal Ski Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.